(Updated q) Post-emergency vet visit - see msg #20

Status
Not open for further replies.

thornmallow__

Member Since 2024
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-here-falafel-second-round-with-diabetes.287264/

(Cross posting from the Vetsulin section)

Falafel has been on 2 units of Vetsulin once a day, given at around 11:30am, since she was diagnosed on Thursday (2/29). Today her blood sugar went to 125 mg/dL at +6, and she exhibited some mild symptoms - less hungry, seemed a little shaky on her legs, and exhibited mild trembling (I would say she was a little shivery).

I tested 20 minutes later after giving NutriCal and syringe feeding a few mLs of food. She went up to 152. Another 20 minutes later, she ate a little bit on her own and her level was at 170.

Based on the limited data I have (only started monitoring yesterday), her nadir seems around +6. I am scared to give the same dose tomorrow, I want to reduce the dosage to 1 unit in the morning and then 1 at night after doing the test, feed, wait steps.

What do you all think my next steps should be? Is reducing the way to go?

Since she was recently diagnosed, I am trying to wait out this weekend with some stability. I am getting a second opinion from another vet on Monday so I can switch to a different form of insulin.

Edit: Want to add that since Monday of last week she has been eating exclusively Fancy Feast pate. The dosage of 2 units was prescribed by her vet - he is old school and doesn't believe in home testing, etc. so that is why I am seeking a second opinion on Monday.
 
Last edited:
While waiting can you fill out your signature
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help

Tap on the blue link ,do you see mine about Tyler at the end of my post in gray letters
@thornmallow__
 
It's fine if you feel the need to reduce the dose. An initial dose of 2.0u is higher than what we typically recommend, especially with Vestulin. As Diane suggested, it would be helpful to have more information in your signature.

I'd also like to suggest that you always get a pre-shot test. There is no information on Falafel's spreadsheet regarding her evening pre-shot test and no PM test data. It will be next to impossible for us to offer any assistance with dosing if half of your data is missing. You also won't know if it's safe to give insulin without the PMPS test. Likes, you won't know if your kitty's numbers drop into a range indicating that she needs a dose reduction.

We recommend getting a minimum of 4 tests per day. This includes the two pre-shot tests and at least one test during the AM and PM cycles. If no one has linked this information, this is our Beginner's Guide to Caninsulin/Vetsulin.
 
While waiting can you fill out your signature
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help

Tap on the blue link ,do you see mine about Tyler at the end of my post in gray letters
@thornmallow__
Yes thanks, just updated!
 
It's fine if you feel the need to reduce the dose. An initial dose of 2.0u is higher than what we typically recommend, especially with Vestulin. As Diane suggested, it would be helpful to have more information in your signature.

I'd also like to suggest that you always get a pre-shot test. There is no information on Falafel's spreadsheet regarding her evening pre-shot test and no PM test data. It will be next to impossible for us to offer any assistance with dosing if half of your data is missing. You also won't know if it's safe to give insulin without the PMPS test. Likes, you won't know if your kitty's numbers drop into a range indicating that she needs a dose reduction.

We recommend getting a minimum of 4 tests per day. This includes the two pre-shot tests and at least one test during the AM and PM cycles. If no one has linked this information, this is our Beginner's Guide to Caninsulin/Vetsulin.
Hi Sienne, Just updated my signature.

This is a long story but Falafel has been only getting one insulin shot a day so far, so that's why only the first half of each day is populated with testing data. I was unable to get Vetsulin from her vet after her diagnosis, he advised me to order off Chewy.com and I missed the delivery window for overnight shipping, so every day that clinic is open I've been taking her to get her one insulin shot directly from the vet. He is closed on Sundays.

I've tried calling multiple vet clinics, called 2 emergency hospitals, and have been unable to get a vial for this weekend (can provide more detail about what was said, but short answer is: no). As a last resort my vet finally let me have preloaded syringes of Vetsulin for today (Sunday). (He did not want to give me an Rx for any other type of insulin, and I had to fight for a supply for today.) Needless to say I will not be going back to this vet. I have an appointment booked at one of the other vet clinics (recommended by Falafel's rescue organization) for Monday and am just trying to get through this weekend so I can get updated, more detailed labs and tests done for Falafel and a better management regimen/different insulin. (I also just updated her SS with the lab results from what was done the day before her DX date.)

I did give Falafel a shot of 1 unit of Vetsulin this morning at 8:30am, and am testing her BG every 2 hours. Tonight at 8:30pm I will be able to complete the PM shot procedures for the first time.

Re: the beginner's guide, thanks! That's actually where I got the idea to reduce her dosage from. I didn't know I should be doing two pre-shot tests - I have been testing, feeding, waiting 30ish minutes, and then bringing her in for the vet's insulin shot (earlier this week) or shooting myself (today). When I do 2 pretest shots, what time periods should I test at?
 
Last edited:
I am appalled by your hopefully soon to be ex-vet. I would be sufficiently angry that I've be lodging a complaint with the State Veterinary Board. Most of the members here have gotten their Vetsulin from the vet at least until Chewy started selling prescription meds. And frankly, if the temperature is below freezing, I would not be happy about having medication like insulin mailed.

Given the circumstances, you're doing great!
 
Definitely never going to this vet again!! And thank you, I am trying to do my best for Falafel.

Another q - Falafel’s saliva smells like acetone where she has cleaned herself. The smell is less strong by her mouth but on the drying fur it’s quite strong. I think this smell is not new, it was present for a few days but I thought it might also be the smell of her wet food at the time.

I know this can be a sign of ketones. Her pee was tested at the vet yesterday and came back negative. I tested at home today and it was also negative. Could the smell be leftover from her DKA last Thursday?

I have called the emergency vet but they have a critical patient right now so will try again in an hour or so. I likely will end up taking her in because I’m paranoid, but would appreciate any insight/experiences others have had with this scenario.

Also I would say her behavior is pretty normal - she’s cleaning herself and is moving around the house (though right now she’s sleeping). Don’t notice any other symptoms except she definitely is still dehydrated.
 
Definitely never going to this vet again!! And thank you, I am trying to do my best for Falafel.

Another q - Falafel’s saliva smells like acetone where she has cleaned herself. The smell is less strong by her mouth but on the drying fur it’s quite strong. I think this smell is not new, it was present for a few days but I thought it might also be the smell of her wet food at the time.

I know this can be a sign of ketones. Her pee was tested at the vet yesterday and came back negative. I tested at home today and it was also negative. Could the smell be leftover from her DKA last Thursday?

I have called the emergency vet but they have a critical patient right now so will try again in an hour or so. I likely will end up taking her in because I’m paranoid, but would appreciate any insight/experiences others have had with this scenario.

Also I would say her behavior is pretty normal - she’s cleaning herself and is moving around the house (though right now she’s sleeping). Don’t notice any other symptoms except she definitely is still dehydrated.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Please keep. us posted. Some humans are very sensitive to smell. You may be noticing the smell but there's no way to know if it's ketones without testing and the tests are negative. I would make sure your ketone test strips are not expired and be sure you're following the directions exactly.
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

They are hospitalizing for 24-48 hrs. Not due to DKA (her ketones were v low, they said 0.8 I believe), but she is severely dehydrated and they think that is causing other issues (adrenal stress, anemia). Her BG is also high (416) so they will be administering insulin as well. Right now she is on IV fluids.

The vet said once the dehydration issue is treated they will know more about whether the other things (adrenal, anemia) were caused by the dehydration or coexist with the diabetes. They also mentioned they saw a mass near her pancreas in the X-rays, but they will redo those once she’s stable because it’s possible that is due to the angle of the shot.

Another update: she does have a UTI (could have been helped by the diabetes).
 
Last edited:
@thornmallow__
Thanks for the update, I hope the fluids will help and that the mass they saw was due to the angle of the shot. Whatever antibiotic they give her for the UTI hopefully will clear it up.
Keep us posted :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi everyone, just wanted to share some updates. Falafel is doing a lot better but the vets do have some concerns, they think it's possible she might have kidney problems and heart disease in conjunction with her diabetes. She also has gallstones. I think the pancreas and anemia issues were resolved, but I will check again with them in a few hours. I will know more once they do additional tests today and tomorrow. (Will update the labs section of her SS when I get all the details.)

On Wednesday they think she will be ready to discharge, and I am taking her to a much better vet that was recommended by her rescue organization. I will be getting her an echo among other things.

She looks so cute, and much better than yesterday!

https://ibb.co/2Fj5QNy
 
Last edited:
Hi again, Falafel is home!!

They rehydrated her and stabilized her BG enough to send her home with me. She is well hydrated after 2 days of continuous fluids. She received a half unit of Vetsulin at 8am today, and the vets chose to hold on giving her another dose at 8pm today because her PMPS BG was 206 I believe. (I don't have all the labs yet but hopefully will get them soon. They ran 2 day long BG curves on her.)

I did 2 more tests so far: 10:45pm - 261. 12:45am - 230. I am a little worried that numbers are trending down so planning to test again at 2am (don't know if I can stay awake until 3am). They also instructed me to do a similar protocol tomorrow morning before her appointment at the new primary vet - test, feed, wait, shoot (or don't shoot). I'm still using the Vetsulin for now because the emergency vets didn't stock any other kind, and also were focused on stabilizing her so didn't want to change too many things.

Couple qs:

1. The emergency vets were very against free feeding - they want me to get her on 2 scheduled feedings a day. The last time Falafel ate was ~3/4 a can of FF pate at 7:30pm. We came home and she is hungry :( I want to follow the vet instructions tonight (so next meal would be tomorrow morning) but in the future, is this best for her? Historically Falafel is a grazer and she does not overeat, but I understand insulin complicates things.

2. I'm looking into timed feeders as well (I saw Diane's post on another thread about the Cat Mate). I'm also trying to figure out what is an ideal food amount for her - her normal weight is 10 lbs so would she need 3 cans of FF pate a day? I read that diabetic cats do not utilize food well so should I be aiming to work her up to eating 3.5 cans?

3. I am very worried about her getting dehydrated again. Aside from the SubQ fluids (which I will ask about tomorrow), is there anything else I can keep up at home to make sure she is plumped up?

4. I am looking into the continuous Libre monitor. I had an idea - if I can get the monitor for her regularly, and get a spare phone to stay connected to the app at home while I am at work and then download that app on my regular phone that I carry with me, could I continually monitor her glucose that way while I'm out of the house? (Assuming a lot of things here but I hope you understand my plan.)
 
Thanks Diane. I edited the spreadsheet but tried to fit it to the situation... (let me know if there's a better way to do it than I did)

+14 - 261
+16 - 230
+18 - 227
+21 - 209

I just tested (+21) and would like to feed as she's super hungry. 209 seems too low to shoot, it's close to the 200 guideline in the Vetsulin sticky.

(The last time she ate was 7:30pm on 3/5.)

Edit: I made the choice to feed at 6am today (3/6).
 
Last edited:
Thanks Diane. I edited the spreadsheet but tried to fit it to the situation... (let me know if there's a better way to do it than I did)

+14 - 261
+16 - 230
+18 - 227
+21 - 209

I just tested (+21) and would like to feed as she's super hungry. 209 seems too low to shoot, it's close to the 200 guideline in the Vetsulin sticky.

(The last time she ate was 7:30pm on 3/5.)

Edit: I made the choice to feed at 6am today (3/6).


Hi first off we feed our kitty's more than just twice a day ,that's old school.
The only time you withhold food is 2 hours before testing first thing in the AM and PM you don't want her BG to be food influenced.
Be sure if you do give her insulin you wait 30 minutes after she's done eating then give it

Most of us will give 2 teaspoons of low carb wet @+2 ( 2 hours after giving the insulin ) always add some water to it, , you have the Fancy Feast Pates right?.
Then you can give her another 2 teaspoons @+4
Same goes for the PM Cycle

Can you fill in her PMPS test that was 206 ,that was last night correct?
Then in the U cell or square put NS for no shot

That 209 test you got was that this morning?
If it was you would put that in the AMPS cell for today 3-6 and put NS
Can I ask you your name? So your shooting times are 8 AM and 8 PM correct
Suzanne might be busy but I sent her a private message
@thornmallow__
 
Last edited:
let me know if there's a better way to do it than I did)

+14 - 261
+16 - 230
+18 - 227

I'm a little confused about this
Looks like you have them in the correct cell
The 261 BG is actually +3 not +14 so you have it in the correct cell
The 230 BG is actually +5 not +16 you have it in the correct cell
The 227 BG is actually +7 not +18 you have it in the correct cell

Poor kitty must be starving just eating twice a day
Just for the future if you ever do a test that's not exactly on the hour


Here's a example
Here's an example if you tested her at 3.30 and her BG was 220 you would enter it in the 3 cell on the spreadsheet like this
220 +3.5 and then color code it manually.
.25 is 15 minutes
.5 30 minutes
.75 45 minutes
 
Last edited:
Hi Diane I will edit that. More updates to come but quick note for now - new vet wants me to switch to a pet meter. We did two BG tests:

My meter: 202
Their pet meter: 346

I know this forum recommends human meters but this is quite a difference! I wouldn’t shoot at 202 but would shoot at 346 so unsure where to go from here.
 
If the vet is comfortable with the Freestyle Libre, it's a human glucometer. Since it sounds like you're leaning toward using this kind of monitor, personality I wouldn't consider changing to a pet meter. The reality is that vets used human monitors before the instrument makers started aggressively marketing pet specific monitors to vets. The pet monitors are fine except the difference in calibration between a pet monitor and an human monitor gets larger the higher the numbers. All of our dosing and testing information is based on human monitors. The other consideration is cost. Test strips for a pet monitor cost about $1.00 each. As a comparison, the strips for the Walmart Relion meter are about $0.17 each. If you are testing only 4 times a day, it would cost $28 per week with a pet meter versus under $5 per week with the Relion meter. When you think in terms of several months, the cost for a pet meter mounts up very quickly. My guess is that the vet has no idea what the difference in the cost of the strips is.

I would strongly encourage you to ask the vet for a prescription for either Lantus (glargine) or Prozinc. These are far better insulins for cats. Both are recommended for the treatment of feline diabetes by the American Association of Animal Hospitals. The AAHA stopped recommending Vetsulin in 2018.

There is no need to restrict your cat to 2 meals per day. You can spread out the food over the first few hours after a shot. Think about diabetic humans. We don't just eat when we get an insulin injection. It's the same principle.

The amount of food your cat needs depends on Falafel. Keep an eye on her weight. As long as she doesn't get too.....ummm....."fluffy," you're giving her the right amount of food. If she's losing weight, you need to feed her more. I would add water to your cat's food. That will help to keep her hydrated. If you don't have a water fountain, some cats will drink more readily from a fountain.

If the Libre app works on your phone, why wouldn't the data be directly loaded onto your phone regardless of where you are? There is a pet Libre group on Facebook (Freestyle Libre for Dogs and Cats -- or at least that's what I think it's called).
 
I agree with what everything Sienne said.
I would just tell the new vet you just can't afford the cost of the test strips for the Alpha Trak Pet Meter.
I see in your signature you are testing with the Freestyle Lite human meter
I see those test strips are way more expensive than the Relion Premier Classic human meter
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197

You can even order more test strips online when you need more or go into the store
 
Thanks everyone. I am very overwhelmed with each vet visit. I'm getting different info from each one. But I do like this vet upon first meeting, I suppose. Although I have to confess I'm feeling a bit sad and hopeless at how complicated her prognosis seems right now.

I will finally give you all some updates and present my next steps:

1. Vet said we will focus on diabetes and UTI for now. Once BG levels are stabilizing, we will look into Falafel's kidney function, heart function, and dental issues.
2. I got Lantus pens. Vet prescribed 0.5u as a starting point, and wants me to continue tracking using the human BG meter so I can view trends if not match her testing with the AlphaTrak meter until it arrives. (I have ordered this. I will use both meters so I can present the vet with data as well log in my SS.)
3. Vet confirmed I should be feeding more than 2x a day, she suggested 3x a day rather than free feeding as a starting point so I can understand Falafel's BG changes better. Have purchased the timed feeder so will start incorporating that once it arrives, but for now will let Falafel eat freely and take food away prior to testing for insulin shots.
4. I got SubQ fluids, though vet cautioned me against using them too often due to Falafel's heart murmur. She got more fluids today at the vet (I was shocked she was already getting dehydrated after being out of the ER for 12 hours and not having the IV fluids!!) so I will leave this and revisit next week. In the meantime I'm ordering bone broth to add to her food.
5. Follow up appointment Friday afternoon.
6. We will set up the Libre meter for when I go back to working in the office next week (3/18).

My plan for today:

1. Stop feeding Falafel at 6pm. Test at 8pm and give first Lantus shot if BG is above 200.
2. Test at 10pm. Put food out. Give Clavamox for UTI. (React accordingly if numbers are low.)
3. Test every 2 hours until we pass the nadir - very worried about hypo so I will stay up to do this.
4. Take away food bowl at 6am tomorrow. Repeat steps.

Thoughts?

Re: the ReliOn meter, I actually live in an area with NO WalMarts :P so I would like to stick with this kind for now, even if more expensive, because if I ever have an emergency I can get backup supplies from my local CVS. Maybe that will change once I'm less new at this.

Re: syringes - Diane, could you help me find different U100 syringes? My vet wants me to give a 0.5 dose to start but the box of syringes she gave me go up to 30 units (they are 3/10cc syringes). The 0.5 seems so tiny on these. Is there such a thing as a U100 syringe with 1 unit, so I can more clearly see when I hit 0.5?
 
My vet wants me to give a 0.5 dose to start but the box of syringes she gave me go up to 30 units (they are 3/10cc syringes). The 0.5 seems so tiny on these. Is there such a thing as a U100 syringe with 1 unit, so I can more clearly see when I hit 0.5?
No, the least capacity U100 syringe is 3/10cc. These are at least marked in 1 unit increments. You can also get them marked in ½ unit increments. You can't get any less increments
 
Re: syringes - Diane, could you help me find different U100 syringes? My vet wants me to give a 0.5 dose to start but the box of syringes she gave me go up to 30 units (they are 3/10cc syringes). The 0.5 seems so tiny on these. Is there such a thing as a U100 syringe with 1 unit, so I can more clearly see when I hit 0.5?
I know the lines are tiny but you will be able to do it, I had no problem
Did your vet give you the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings since we increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time? If not you can get them from Amazon without a vets script

49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg



https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-...inges/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
These are the ones I used when I had to give Tyler Lantus
71S-ZzvPzwL._AC_SY450_.jpg
 
Last edited:
I know the lines are tiny but you will be able to do it, I had no problem
Did your vet give you the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings since we increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time? If not you can get them from Amazon without a vets script

49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg



https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-...inges/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
These are the ones I used when I had to give Tyler Lantus
71S-ZzvPzwL._AC_SY450_.jpg
Thanks for this picture, I got the ones on the right. Sigh. Just ordered the Amazon ones, should be here for tomorrow. I will just use the whole marking one tonight.

What did you think about my testing procedure that I listed in my post? Does it make sense for Lantus?
 
The 261 you have put it like this on your SS 261 +3.75
The 230 put it this way 230 +5.75
The 227 put it this way 227 +7.75 then color code it again
Can you highlight the line on your SS where you put Switch To Lantus
And highlight where you have Vetsulin on your SS
@thornmallow__
By the way what's your name :cat:
 
Thanks for this picture, I got the ones on the right. Sigh. Just ordered the Amazon ones, should be here for tomorrow. I will just use the whole marking one tonight.

What did you think about my testing procedure that I listed in my post? Does it make sense for Lantus?
They look good, glad you ordered the ones with the half unit markings :cat:
One more thing lol On your signature where you changed it to Lantus can you put the date , then previously Vetsulin
Sorry to be such a stickler
Be sure to keep the insulin in the fridge middle shelf
How many pens did you get and what did you pay, I'm curious
@thornmallow__
 
Last edited:
Okay awesome!! I will prepare for the 8pm shot then. I feel so relieved phew. The Lantus stickies are a lot more involved than the Vetsulin one so I was struggling.

You can call me Z :) I will add it to my signature!
 
Okay awesome!! I will prepare for the 8pm shot then. I feel so relieved phew. The Lantus stickies are a lot more involved than the Vetsulin one so I was struggling.

You can call me Z :) I will add it to my signature!
Hi Z did you happen to read the 2 dosing methods for Lantus yet?
One more thing lol On your signature where you changed it to Lantus can you put the date , then/ previously Vetsulin
There are so many other members that can help you if you ever need help that are using Lantus or have used Lantus
@thornmallow__
 
Last edited:
Hi Z did you happen to read the 2 dosing methods for Lantus yet?
Yes I did, I'm starting with SLGS because it seems less intimidating than TR for now. I'm still a bit confused about a good feeding schedule (I am usually gone during the day so would need to use the automated feeder).
 
We will set up the Libre meter for when I go back to working in the office next week (3/18).
Did you know that the Freestyle Libre is considered a human meter?
While you are at work you can buy an auto feeder and set it for certain times to open so she can have her low carb snacks .
Do you want me to suggest one , they have ones for wet food.
What is the name of the low carb food are you feeding her?
@thornmallow__
 
Yes I did, I'm starting with SLGS because it seems less intimidating than TR for now. I'm still a bit confused about a good feeding schedule (I am usually gone during the day so would need to use the automated feeder).
Starting with SLGS is fine ,you need to add that to your SS and your signature so members won't have to keep asking you
@thornmallow__
Believe me if it wasn't for me taking the advice from the experienced members here ( the moderators ) Tyler would not be in remission for 3 years already, ( knick on wood )He is now food controlled .
Everything will be OK :cat:

Be sure to keep the insulin in the fridge middle shelf
How many pens did you get and what did you pay, I'm curious
@thornmallow__

On 3-5 did you get a BG test for the AM cycle ? There is nothing filled in
By the way Falafel is such a cutie pie
 
Last edited:
You can always inform the vet that you can't afford the strips for an AlphaTrak because of all the money you've spent so far. Strips are a dollar a piece in the US and two dollars a piece in Canada. Ouch.
 
You can always inform the vet that you can't afford the strips for an AlphaTrak because of all the money you've spent so far. Strips are a dollar a piece in the US and two dollars a piece in Canada. Ouch.
Hi Red ,what's strange Z that's her name said in her post above
We will set up the Libre meter for when I go back to working in the office next week (3/18). In her post #31
So why would the vet want her to buy the Alpha Trak which Z already ordered
@Red & Rover (GA)
Z already has a human meter now that she's using
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom

- I got the Cat Mate 3 based on one of your recs on a different post. I'm feeding Falafel Fancy Feast classics pate.
- I paid $105 (US) for 5 Lantus pens.
- On 3/5 Falafel was in the ER so I didn't get any readings but I do have the records from the emergency vets now. Just have to take some time to input the figures (I'm pretty sure it's in there, but she was hospitalized for 2 days so the records are long).

@Red & Rover (GA) @Diane Tyler's Mom

I did know the Libre was a human meter, I actually had one for a bit when my doctors were testing my glucose! That did give me pause as to why the vet was open to using the Libre (and even brought it up before I mentioned it) but wanted me to get the AlphaTrak instead of sticking with the FreeStyle Lite. She didn't even sell it to me directly so it's not like she's getting commission. On Friday when I go in for a follow up (she wanted to see us before the weekend) I will bring this up - it will be a different vet at the same practice since this one doesn't work Fridays. Honestly I was a little upset because she kept saying how "complicated" Falafel's case was. Maybe I'm sensitive but I don't care if it's complicated, I'm going to figure it out!! This happened at the ER too. Certain vets (they changed shifts every 12hrs) were telling me how complicated and hard this would be. Not to say that it won't be - but it felt like they wanted me to give up on Falafel and I will not do that unless she gives me a sign that she's done fighting.
 
I paid $105 (US) for 5 Lantus pens.
OK that's good :cat:
They should at least last you a year
You can use each pen until the last drop
That's what is confusing if the vet is going to put on a Freestyle Libre which is considered a human meter then why would they want you to use the Aloha Trak ,doesn't make sense
@thornmallow__

Some people keep the AT for curve days to show the vet, but use the regular human meters for day to day testing.
Personally I wouldn't waste my money on it

I did a search on our site and found this posted by one of our experienced members about meters
There isn't a way to translate human to pet meter readings. The AT reads higher at the high end and the two types of meters get much closer as they get to the low end, which is the important numbers.

Can you add SLGS to your spreadsheet also up top instead on N/A
On your signature where you have Lantus can you put the date , then previously Vetsulin please
@thornmallow__
 
Last edited:
Some people keep the AT for curve days to show the vet, but use the regular human meters for day to day testing.
Personally I wouldn't waste my money on it

I did a search on our site and found this posted by one of our experienced members about meters
There isn't a way to translate human to pet meter readings. The AT reads higher at the high end and the two types of meters get much closer as they get to the low end, which is the important numbers.
@thornmallow__

Oh this is a good idea. I think I will do this just for the beginning of our journey since the vet insisted.

When Tyler was first diagnosed, did you struggle with dehydration? I am very worried about Falafel, even though she got fluids today at the vet I feel like she's already got that dried out look around her eyes again. I also read that hydration helps with insulin absorption...
 
Oh this is a good idea. I think I will do this just for the beginning of our journey since the vet insisted.

When Tyler was first diagnosed, did you struggle with dehydration? I am very worried about Falafel, even though she got fluids today at the vet I feel like she's already got that dried out look around her eyes again. I also read that hydration helps with insulin absorption...
Z Tyler he never struggled with dehydration

Do you know how to turgor test for dehydration? Pull up on the scruff and let go and it should snap right back down....if it slowly goes back down, that's a sign of dehydration.

You can also feel their gums. They should feel wet and slick, not tacky or sticky.
@thornmallow__
 
@thornmallow__
Z I would start a new post tomorrow
In your title I want you to do it like this
The Date, Falafel AMPS # ( if its under 200 and you don't shoot just put NS after the AMPS #.

For the future, when you get a low preshot, you have the option to stall without feeding and check in 30 minutes to see if the bg is rising on its own without food.
So you would put the BG in your title and put need help Stalling

Do you know how to add additional tests to your title
You can also continue with her PMPS BG in the title and additional tests
@thornmallow__
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top