Updated night 2 question4 dosing in thread. Still confused. 89 at am, 64 4 hrs later. Skipped dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris S

Member Since 2020
What in the world is going on.....

12 hours from the 1u shot and she was 89. Skipped dose and monitored and didn’t feed what would have been an early breakfast. She has access to dry food but didn’t have any.

1 hr later no change
Now 4 hrs later (and actual breakfast time) and she’s a 64.

Obvs I am skipping dose at moment but.... I’m totally confused.

Harley was running 3u/2x day and unregulated.
In April I didn’t really write in the chart but have the notes and her numbers mirror pretty much what has been the case since feb. 200s/300s and a few mid 100s. Then the other day mid cycle we dropped low-34! She ate some high carb food and numbers increased. we skipped that evening dose since it wasn’t high enough to shoot.
Next day her numbers were high again (I am presuming from having no shot). Took what seemed like the day to get back to some normal numbers. When we did shoot that day, we were using a smaller dose since she had that huge dip the day before.
Day after-we gave token dose (1u) and have had a bit of that since. (None, one, etc).

she has appetite, is bright etc.

I have noticed she threw up once or twice but she otherwise eats and keeps it down.

She’s not excessively thirsty etc. and is acting normal.

Doesn’t appear to have ketones from two tests but I keep trying to check just in case.

She had pancreatitis 10 years ago and it nearly took her. She didn’t get diagnosed for diabetes till this Jan.

so... I keep testing. But I’m confused.

what in the world is causing these normal numbers with recent drastic reduced insulin? (Since her numbers warranted adjustments since they were repeatedly low).

I worry I’m missing something.
 
She didn’t eat much today so now I’m of course in mental overdrive. Had some juices from her food but not much eating of food. She “licked” her food an hour ago and her numbers are 51. Shes bright, came to me and was purring etc.

Can a cat have a hypo issue without having a shot (shot is now more than 17 hours ago and it was only 1 unit).

I’m monitoring her -she’s In our large bathroom w food, water, a nice kitty bed, mostly empty litter box for another ketone check but the lack of food interest this am (versus all the days till this am) has my spidey senses up.

are we supposed to be worried when good numbers come in lol? I know dka can still happen even w low numbers -even if rare. So I’m just watching like a hawk....

I gave her some proplan chicken and pasta I had on hand -to see if she would eat it. She is. So many she just wasn’t feeling the three other foods I offered. Ugh cats giving my mind a run today...0
 
Last edited:
Hmmm... 17hrs is a long time, but lantus could still be working off the depot. We don't normally worry about "low" numbers without outside insulin (cats can run low on their own and it's perfectly fine as long as you don't add something to push them down farther than their bodies can react to). In this case, though, with the depot, I'd definitely keep monitoring, and keep offering her tempting foods. She may just be less hungry when down in the greens, but she does need to eat!
 
OK now at 930-still no shot now 24 hours.
She ate at 6 but not a full usual meal (def close though; not sure if I’m just over analyzing everything).
930: 143 no shot. she is eating a few greenies dry snack (5 pieces).

Do I still wait? No shot at all? .5 unit.? I’m totally confused lol. She’s def rising slowly but not to 150+ yet where maybe I’d give a .5....

Wait and see how we are in am in 8-12 hours from now? Just seems like we will get to the am and need a dose. Don’t want to shoot if something else is going on...

I checked ketones but it was In the midst of a little litter (had put like a little dusting in there (like a sprinkle) and she threw it on the pee area but I was able to get a reading and it’s def negative).
 
Im glad you checked for ketones. That is important when you are skipping doses of insulin and there has been a couple of vomits.
She could have dropped lower before that 34 during any of the cycles as you were not testing and had no way of knowing. I am glad you are also getting some pm cycle tests in as cats often drop lower at night.
It looks like she is needing more insulin. Maybe try 0.5 units and see how you go.
 
Alll rightey....

Didn’t shoot last night. Got a clean catch ketone test and another negative thankfully

amps was over 300 but w no insulin for 36 hours I expected it to go up. So we shot 1u. She ate a little breakfast. Then came around a few hours later much hungrier so I gave some ff purely chicken. an hour later she was 102 (just past the +6). Basically the 1u dropped her well thru the day but at 9+ (dinner time) she was 79....

I’ll check tonight for pmps. If she’s still having this low issue, I was thinking I would go .5 instead of 1 if she is under 190 but over 120 (which I expect ...). Or do I wait and try .5 in am to better monitor how it impacts her ? (I know better to be high than low). I don’t want to keep skipping doses or keep moving doses around, but 1u has had a lot of changes for her In last 3 days whereas she was a 3u-steady high readings-for quite a bit.
 
Usually, we do try to keep doses consistent, and move in 0.25U increments. On the Lantus boards, we use two different Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR). Under the first one, SLGS, and number under 90 triggers a 0.25U decrease, which would make her new dose 0.75U.

That said, let's see what she's doing at PMPS! She may not be high enough to shoot, and we may want to reconsider the options for tomorrow.
 
I agree with Nan on the dose.
Harleys SS says SLGS so with the lower green numbers under 90 the last couple of days you have earned a reduction in dose down to 0.75 units
If you are having to skip a dose because the Preshot is too low several times, it is better to reduce the dose so you can give the insulin twice a day anyway.
 
Last edited:
I just don’t want to see her in am w a big number if we can help it.... I know lantus and any insulin really needs consistency for actually having a dose -and one that doesn’t keep changing.

I honestly have been taken aback as I wasn’t expecting this change since she has been high for a while.
 
I should note that I can monitor her for a few hours tonight but that +6 would be 330 am w an alarm ;) (which I did the other night ... and I can do again...).
 
Hmmm.... If you feel comfortable shooting the 0.75, you can do that, or else how about the 0.5? I think she's on the way up now, making it easier to shoot. Hopefully I'm right and you'll get some confirmation in a couple hours so you can get some sleep!
 
I’m thinking .5 just because she has been so drastic w recent dips out of nowhere. If she’s regular for am, I could watch for that .75 and see how the day goes (and check in for evening if she’s still having this rollercoaster -for me anyways-w numbers)

.5 gives me ability to hopefully stress less lol . This fur baby has thrown me for a loop this last few days
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top