Update

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

Guest
I started regular home testing yesterday and so far the GB swing is wild: 53 yesterday at 9:30-10 am, 287 pmps, and 319 amps this morning. I hope the Lantus gets here by tomorrow (when I check the mail) because, as I suspected the Vetsulin has destabilized. The biggest problem now is that Mugsy has decided I will stick him if he comes in and is afraid to come in to eat. :roll:
 
That does make it hard. Do you feed him several small meals a day? That way, he won't know which one is going to involve a stick and maybe he will relax a bit. (Or become completely paranoid..... :lol: )

So glad you are hometesting! Did you skip the shot last night? If so, that might explain the higher numbers or it could just be the vetsulin pooping out.

Now we get to nag about a spreadsheet to keep your bg numbers on (It's always something!) : http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=16 The Lantus Insulin Support group is very numbers driven and will want one to help you decide about dosage when you need it.
 
Why do you think those numbers are so wacky? They are pretty typical for an insulin like vetsulin...and 287/319 are virtually the same if you factor in the acceptable margin of error of +/- 20%. Yes, lantus should be better and you'll see smoother bgs

Jen
 
First of all - see my new post because I need advise.
Second - he eats all day (about 20 cans per week) sometimes a lot - sometime he picks at it but, I'll give him food from 7am until I go to bed around 10pm. I am trying to reassure him and remind him that it's better than going to the vet. I still need to improve my technique and he still needs to co-operate. His chart is posted (see below) and vet tests are indicated with *. I am gradually moving his shots to 8am/pm because it is too dark and too early for me to test at 7am. Right now, he thinks I'm the most dangerous person he knows what with sticking him in the scruff and pricking him in his feet. :twisted:
 
I will check your other post after this...but 20 cans a week for one cat isn't extreme at all if it is the small fancy feast size (3.5 oz or whatever)....

Jen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top