Update Squirt

Status
Not open for further replies.

Oldcatlady

Member Since 2014
Squirt is doing so well, nearing maybe going off insulin. I am so thankful. Vet said I'm doing more than more than 90% of his other clients with diabetic cats. I've given him materials from this group and he's been reading and discussing with me. I've been happy to be able to show how it's been working with Squirt. One plus on her side, I don't think she's been diabetic very long, all to her advantage. We looked at her last blood panel, and in Nov. 2013 annual her BG was normal range, and the diabetes was confirmed in mid June. I know she was showing symptoms from about late April till then, but I had a renal failure old girl adding to the mix, so wasn't sure who it was until she passed June 1. After she wasn't here drinking from bowl and peeing in box, it was evident who the one was with issues. Only change is I started a very small amount of Miralax this morning as her poops are smaller/harder now that she doesn't have the fiber in her food like before when she was eating the wrong things. Here's her latest updated spreadsheet:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... _web#gid=0
 
Wow!!! You're not kidding! Look at all those greens and blues on .20
FANTASTIC!!!

You may be right that now that you have done all of the proper things (including educating your vet), we may be throwing an OTJ party soon!

You are a good mommabean!!!! Keep up the good work.
 
Yesterday, AMPS 99, 96 at +1, 86 at dinnertime. Couldn't get home for lunch to check. Very small amount of Lantus, I estimate .20 or less.
Today AMPS is 81. I think I will hold the shot this morning. It may be the beginning of the remission starting.....
 
Squirt got through day on 8/14 with no shot and was morning 81, +1 @ 91, Lunch @ 80, dinner @ 82.
Today 8/15: morning 92, dinner 87. No shot.
2 days no insulin!
 
12 more to go, then its official!

Maybe post the countdown in your subject?
 
Countdown Squirt!

Day 4 no insulin! AM was 100 left ear, so rechecked from right ear and it was 97 at 4 minutes later. Did not panic...at lunchtime, 78.
(Day 3 was: AM 93, lunch 83, dinner 75. Day 2: AM 92, PM 87. Day 1: AM 81, 91 at +1, 80 at lunch, 82 at dinner--go baby go!)
 
Day 13 is done! Update on progress!

Completed day 13. Tomorrow is the beginning of Day 14 with no insulin. Here is her Spreadsheet:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... sp=sharing
I ended up being gone for about 5 days and felt she was doing good enough to leave her home in husband's care. He didn't test her BG as he doesn't know how. However her numbers had been pretty consistent and I felt it was safer for her to be home in familiar surroundings than at the vet and stressed maybe making her BG go up. When I got home late Sunday night, tested her and she was good. Happy for her!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top