Update & Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

geekgirldany

Member Since 2013
Hello everyone. I haven't posted in a while but wanted to let you know how Catee is doing.

He has been eating young again zero card and cat chow indoor foor 2 0zs each. His BG are staying normal from 55 to 100. So I am so happy he is doing well and is in remission. No shots. So happy for him.

I do have a question for any that may be giving their cat Young Again to eat.
He has been on this food since June. The last two days his bowel movement has been loose. Really diarrhea as there is no form to the stool. It has happened twice early this morning and then this afternoon.
He seemed to have ate a little more young again than normal since last Friday... not a whole lot though. Today I decided to take it away but left the cat chow out. He did eat some of the cat chow but still had another episode.

Cat Chow Indoor also appears to have changed their formula. The food has a different color. He has never had any problems with diarrhea before so not sure what to do.

Can it just be the overeating of food? He is an indoor cat so I would not think it would be parasites.

Thank you for all the help over the past few months
Dany
 
geekgirldany said:
...Cat Chow Indoor also appears to have changed their formula. The food has a different color. He has never had any problems with diarrhea before so not sure what to do.
...

I vote for the food change being the cause of diarrhea.
 
Some cats are sensitive to the coloring in the food. I know my local cat shelter doesn't like the rainbow colored food, because the red and green seem to cause too many kitties to have diarrhea.

Good to hear that Catee is doing well, still off the juice. Way to go Catee!!!!!! :RAHCAT
 
Well not sure what to do. The Cat Chow Indoor... I noticed it on the last bag. He has probably been eating it for say two weeks.

Could it take that long to cause diarrhea?

How do you handle this when it is the food? Take both away for 24 hours? Then add another back?

I am proud of him with the diabetes :)

Just hate for this to come up on him. Wondering if he is a little nausea because after the last BM he went to his water and food but turned around. Would not eat or drink.
 
If it was the food change, I would have expected the diarrhea issue to show up before this. 2 weeks and he is just now getting the diarrhea? Probably not the food then.

Cats do get stomach upsets and bugs that cause diarrhea, just like people do. Remember, plain canned pumpkin, 1 tablespoon added to his wet food can help to firm up the stool. Although, it's harder to get the cat to eat the pumpkin mixed into the dry food. ohmygod_smile It's easier if the cat is eating at least some wet food. You could syringe feed him the pumpkin.

Turning away from the food and water could mean some digestive upset, pancreatitis, he was full or something else.

I am proud of him with the diabetes :)
You should be proud of him and yourself. You did a good job and were able to get Catee off the insulin quickly.
 
Thanks so much. I will watch him the next couple of days. If it does not go away I will take him to the Vet.

I just wondered if he overate the Young Again. I measure his food when I give it to him and when I switch it out. I did eat a little more than normal. I am crossing my fingers that is it.
 
You might try 1/4 of a Pepcid AC and see if that helps. It takes about 20-30 minutes to take effect.
 
Thanks for the suggestion. If I can get one down him I will. Hard cat to pill.

He is eating his Cat Chow Indoor and drinking water. Hasn't had another diarrhea/loose stool episode.

Got an email from the Pres of Young Again. I wrote an email asking about the food. He said that giving my cat high carb food with their low carb food would make him eat more. Plus if he eats alot at one sitting of Young Again instead of through out the day then that would cause the pudding like bowel movement.

Since the diabetes Catee has ate like this, sometimes he eats more cat chow than young again. He usually eats on Young Again in the morning and then Cat Chow at night when I get home from my business.

So maybe he just over ate on the Young Again causing him to have the loose stool.

He has been looking for his Young Again all day... but I want his intestines to calm down before he starts on it again.

How I wish he would take to canned food.
 
geekgirldany said:
Got an email from the Pres of Young Again. I wrote an email asking about the food. He said that giving my cat high carb food with their low carb food would make him eat more. Plus if he eats alot at one sitting of Young Again instead of through out the day then that would cause the pudding like bowel movement.

Is there a reason you're keeping the high carb Cat Chow around? Personally, if I were to feed dry, I would just get rid of the Cat Chow entirely and leave him on the YA.
 
Don't have to pill.
Get an oral syringe.
Pull the plunger out.
Drop in the 1/4 tablet of Pepcid AC
Put the plunger back in.
Draw in a bit of water.
Dissolve (shaking helps)
Optionally, add a bit of mushy, tasty food and shake well.
Give from syringe.
 
Hi everyone. Sorry I did not respond to posts. I've been down with a migraine for two days. Got pretty sick with it.

Well I should not keep the Cat Chow around anymore. The Young Again stinks really bad and I keep it in his room while I am gone in the morning. When I come back home I leave it in his room and bring the Cat Chow in the den along with his water. He eats on it.

When he was so sick he had stopped eating completely. He was going back and forth between Young Again and Cat chow. So I was basically just trying to get him to eat whatever he would. Since he numbers came down and he was doing well I just kept doing the 2 ozs of each. I suppose he ate to much of the Young Again and it caused the loose stool.

He hasn't had any Young Again since my post and his loose stool just stopped yesterday. I am starting him back on it today. He has missed it :) But I've been keeping track of his BG and this morning it is 158. So it is going back up on Cat Chow only which is no surprise. I just wanted to get his intestines settled.

Comes down to it I will have to try to take away the Cat Chow if I can stand the smell in the den.

Thank you BJM about using the syringe. Would there be any chance of aspiration doing it that way? I know when I tried to force feed him when he was sick several years ago I was really worried about that.
 
geekgirldany said:
He hasn't had any Young Again since my post and his loose stool just stopped yesterday. I am starting him back on it today. He has missed it :) But I've been keeping track of his BG and this morning it is 158. So it is going back up on Cat Chow only which is no surprise. I just wanted to get his intestines settled.

Yep, that's why I was asking about how easy it'd be to remove the Cat Chow entirely. ;-) What you could do is use the Young Again for grazing throughout the day while you're not there. When you're there, you could try supplementing with some low carb wet food that isn't as smelly (it might even get him to eat more of the wet).

geekgirldany said:
Would there be any chance of aspiration doing it that way? I know when I tried to force feed him when he was sick several years ago I was really worried about that.

You want to aim for the side of the mouth to prevent aspiration. I try squirting between his teeth and his "lips" instead of straight into his mouth. I'm sure there are easier ways of doing this that I haven't figured out yet, of course. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top