Laura and Harley (GA)
Member Since 2011
Yes, you read that subject line right and no, I haven't adopted another cat. Last night Bagheera joined my crew as a DCIN foster as his Mom is experiencing some family issues right now that make caring for Bagheera very difficult. Giving him up was a very hard thing to do as they have been together for the last 10 years and are closely bonded. We hope that once the family situations resolve themselves, that he will be able to go home again.
In the mean time, he's with me enjoying the spare bedroom and his very own Yeooowwww Nanner. Here's what I know so far: He's a 12 year old, neutered male, front paw declawed, all black medium sized boy about 10 pounds. He's not overweight, in fact he's just about the right weight. He has no other known health conditions except for the diabetes. His dental history is unknown. He is scratching and pawing his ears a lot and his mom says he has a history of gunky ears. She wondered if it could be a food allergy and said she'd been feeding a lot of fish because it's low carb. So I've switched him to Fancy Feast Turkey and Giblets which is also low carb. but has no fish just to see if perhaps the absence of fish helps with the itching. I'll also check for fleas this morning just in case. Crossing paws it's just the food! He's got a great appetite and LOVES water, not just to drink but to play in. His mom has even given him a bath in the past. He's not met my cats but has seen/smelled 2 of them under teh door and was very growly and hissy so he's not a pushover.
Bagheera was originally diagnosed FD in 2009 and treated for a year on ProZinc with no hometesting. Then due to financial constraints, he was off insulin for about a year being only fed a low-carb. diet. In January, his Mom contacted DCIN and they get her set up with Lantus and also pointed her towards Diabetic Cat Help where she has been receiving dosing advice in the Hodgekins Tight Regulation Protocol using Lantus. I took all his numbers from DCH and put them in a spreadsheet so we color-blind peeps could see them better. ;-)
Bagheera's Spreadsheet
Last night, I switched Bagheera to Levemir. His PMPS was 122 so I only shot 0.5u (note, I would not have shot had I not had the DCH data to show that he'd received higher doses on a similar pre-shot and was OK.) This morning at +10, he was 75. I had to feed 1/2 can FF as he was very upset with the BG testing and started pulling tufts of fur out of his shoulder. This is a very stressful situation for him. Since I'm home from work this week, I'll test again at AMPS. [ETA: 179 at AMPS and that includes a bit of food spike. Shot 0.5u and fed rest of can FF.]
Harley continues OK at 1u and Hadley has been pretty much high greens on 0.5u. My going out of town and having the sitter skip doses did stall his dose reduction trend but on the bright side - at least hes at a dose I can easily measure now! :lol:
Would appreciate anyone's thoughts on dosing and also ideas for calming very-stressed out kitties. I do have a Feliway Plug in going to help.
In the mean time, he's with me enjoying the spare bedroom and his very own Yeooowwww Nanner. Here's what I know so far: He's a 12 year old, neutered male, front paw declawed, all black medium sized boy about 10 pounds. He's not overweight, in fact he's just about the right weight. He has no other known health conditions except for the diabetes. His dental history is unknown. He is scratching and pawing his ears a lot and his mom says he has a history of gunky ears. She wondered if it could be a food allergy and said she'd been feeding a lot of fish because it's low carb. So I've switched him to Fancy Feast Turkey and Giblets which is also low carb. but has no fish just to see if perhaps the absence of fish helps with the itching. I'll also check for fleas this morning just in case. Crossing paws it's just the food! He's got a great appetite and LOVES water, not just to drink but to play in. His mom has even given him a bath in the past. He's not met my cats but has seen/smelled 2 of them under teh door and was very growly and hissy so he's not a pushover.
Bagheera was originally diagnosed FD in 2009 and treated for a year on ProZinc with no hometesting. Then due to financial constraints, he was off insulin for about a year being only fed a low-carb. diet. In January, his Mom contacted DCIN and they get her set up with Lantus and also pointed her towards Diabetic Cat Help where she has been receiving dosing advice in the Hodgekins Tight Regulation Protocol using Lantus. I took all his numbers from DCH and put them in a spreadsheet so we color-blind peeps could see them better. ;-)
Bagheera's Spreadsheet
Last night, I switched Bagheera to Levemir. His PMPS was 122 so I only shot 0.5u (note, I would not have shot had I not had the DCH data to show that he'd received higher doses on a similar pre-shot and was OK.) This morning at +10, he was 75. I had to feed 1/2 can FF as he was very upset with the BG testing and started pulling tufts of fur out of his shoulder. This is a very stressful situation for him. Since I'm home from work this week, I'll test again at AMPS. [ETA: 179 at AMPS and that includes a bit of food spike. Shot 0.5u and fed rest of can FF.]
Harley continues OK at 1u and Hadley has been pretty much high greens on 0.5u. My going out of town and having the sitter skip doses did stall his dose reduction trend but on the bright side - at least hes at a dose I can easily measure now! :lol:
Would appreciate anyone's thoughts on dosing and also ideas for calming very-stressed out kitties. I do have a Feliway Plug in going to help.