Update on Scratchie - BG 63

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

:-D First Blood tonight PMPS 63.

I did not give him a shot and I thank my lucky stars that he didn't go hypo on me! I have been slowly decreasing his insulin the last week watching how he reacted, and saw improvements. Even though he fought me so hard with the lancet pen, I finally decided to do it free hand. Boy do those ears bleed! And now that I have been successful once, I wonder what took so long!

He's sunning himself in front of the glass door. He's not acting lethargic, not twitching, no dizziness or disorientation. A little wobbly on his back legs but he has neuropathy and that seems to be getting better! I am going to keep giving him the Methyl-B12. Huge improvement in less than 30 days.

This test tonight was 12 hours after his shot this morning. This morning I gave him 3 units (he is on Lantus Gargline) I will monitor him (I work 10 hour days) in the morning and again tomorrow and see how we are doing but I'm very hopeful that things are turning around.

All of you have been so good to me with the advice, the private messages, the support. I've learned so much! I know we still have a ways to go, but I can't explain how happy I am and how relieved I am. Our vet seemed to be very happy as well. He said that as long as he stays below 200 no insulin. I seriously can't believe he hasn't gone hypo. Maybe this is the first day of being this low, I don't know, I'm baffled and grateful at the same time! Thanks to all of you getting me on the right course and doing the right things with his food!!

I'll keep you posted, and as always your advise and thoughts are welcome. I know I haven't posted as often as I should have, but I have been reading every minute that I get to see what's going on and how things are going with everyone. I'll touch down with everyone tomorrow.
 
Can't advise you on the insulin, but I am so glad you got the testing done. Just in time to catch a low number!

Congrats and welcome to the Vampire Club!
 
Yea!!!!!!!!!!! Way to go!!! Great news on the testing. I know it has been so, so hard for you. You have been in my thoughts and I am glad that you have gotten this first test under your belt!

IMPORTANT: I will ask the experts to speak to this, but basically it appears to my (untrained) eye that 3 units may be too high a dose for Scratchie now if his BG was at 63 for his preshot number (12 hours after giving the injection), and he might have indeed gone hypo during that cycle. You say that the doctor told you not to shoot if Scratchie is below 200 on his preshot and you didn't last night; BUT, let's say Scratchie is above 200 in the morning, are you still planning to shoot 3 units? I am thinking that might send him very low again. Experts... until Scratchie's mom can get consistent BG readings (this was her first and she has had a lot of challenges leading up to this one), would you advise her backing down on the amount of insulin given for now... and trying to get more readings. nailbite_smile

The important thing is to keep Scratchie safe, so a low dose might be better until you can get consistent pretest and mid cycle readings for Scratchie.

Experts.....please weigh in on this. What should Scratchie's mom be doing on dosage for the next couple of days?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top