Update on Ruby

Status
Not open for further replies.

lexiruby

Member Since 2010
Hi all!
I plan on updating my profile as soon as I figure out how.
background info on Ruby: 10 years old
12.5 lbs (5 months ago she was 16.5lbs)
currently eating Wellness Turkey and Chicken (just put her on canned food today)
on Lantus 2 units 2x's a day
Signs of diabetic neuropathy, never tested for ketones, and no other symptoms
started home testing yesterday (jan 9 2011) BG Sun AM 396, BG Sun PM 391, BG Mon AM 301,
I'm not sure if I am missing any more info. Please let me know if you need more information.
As you can see, I did test her again today and her BG was 301. Still very high. She ate, gave her the insulin and she is
currently sleeping on my leg :-D
I plan on watching her closely today, and testing again tonight. I am so happy that her BG did go down.
Jen
 
Morning guys!

I believe that amongst the stickies at the top of the board that there are instructions on how to set up your profile, and your ss. I am sure that others will be along soon to give you the direct links.

You're off to a great start! It is nice to see Ruby with a lower BG this morning. I am glad to read too that she is on canned food - Wellness is a good one. Good luck, and welcome aboard.
 
Welcome to this wonderful board, Jen. :)

Yes, others will be along to help you get your spreadsheet set up. Granted, the preshot (aka PS) #'s are extremely important, you'll want to get checks in between those cycles (a cycle being the time between the preshots, for instance... the area between AMPS and PMPS is a cycle, and the area between the PMPS and AMPS is another cycle). And, as another example, if you follow the protocol for increasing insulin, you'll want to increase it every 6 cycles (aka every 3 days), or however. I hope that you can understand that. :)

The spreadsheet helps those that are more experiecned than I determine how your cat is doing on the insulin, and they can help you with Ruby accordingly.

You've certainly come to the right place. :) I look forward to seeing your posts. :)
 
hi

thanks for providing that info!

I am linking your previous thread/condo, so that others can quickly peek back if needed, eventually, this is something you can do on your own, copy and pasting your previous thread/condo.
Previous condo for Ruby
Have a look at others here and you'll get an idea of how they post daily and adding their previous thread.


I'm going to link the spreadsheet link from the Tech forum How to create your own Spreadsheet & publish it in your signature visit the tech forum for further help if you need it.
Don't worry too much about Profile just yet, see if you can get a spreadsheet going first, as this will be easier to follow Ruby's numbers.

in the meantime, when you post updates, continue to do a recap with your day's numbers
AMPS +12
+1
+2
+3
etc...
PMPS +12
+1
+2
+3
etc...
 
Ruby tested at 351 tonight.
From what I am learning, I should give it one more day, then give her a little more insulin.
 
hi there again,
this chart may help you along with number collecting, remember, Lantus dosing is not typically based on preshot numbers, you'll want to collect some mid cycle numbers, especially around the nadir as noted in this chart....nadir is also not always in the middle of the cycle, as you collect information, you will see how each dose is working on Ruby and where his nadir is....

From the Lantus & Levemir Tight Regulation Protocol stickie
WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR...

Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.
It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.


Many Lantus and Levemir users in this forum have been successful following a somewhat modified version of this Tight Regulation Protocol for the last few years. These "general" guidelines are based on anecdotal evidence and personal experiences of laypersons frequenting the forum.

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.



From the New to the Group stickie:
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land. My cat was recently diagnosed and this site has been such a support to me. I don't know what I would have done without everyone's help. I am very technologically challenged and I couldn't figure out how to do the spreadsheet or my profile. If you post on the Tech Support, they can walk you through the whole process. They even attached Simon's picture on my profile since I never could figure out how to do it. Good luck with everything and know that there are lots of caring people here to help you through every step.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top