RobbiesMom
Member Since 2010
HI all - seems I'm the every 3 month poster here - although I did post a long and detailed message about Robbie's vet visit in April and somehow it didn't post and I was too frustrated to try again - which is fine cause now things are somewhat different.
I'm hoping even though I am a lousy member of this forum and have not done "my part" in any way that I'll still get some input, insights and maybe support. Robbies bg numbers hAVE continued to improve to some extent but mostly what has happened in the past 3 months is his numbers have stayed the same on less and less insulin. We are now at .5 to maybe 1 and sometimes not twice a day since if he's on the low side I haven't given him his morning or night shot depending. I suppose I could risk it and shot .5 on a 234 but I'm not home much at all these days and neither is my husband and I just hate to risk it. His amps and pmps are almost never higher than 260. His mid cycle numbers are not that low - maybe 113 120ish - but this is on .5 most days and sometimes no shot the cycle before.
So while all this is happening something else is going on as well - he's eating a TREMENDOUS amount more food - like 6-7 cans (and more sometimes) in 18 hours up from 4-5 and he SCREAMS constantly when he's hungry. Loud HORRIBLE screams. So by the end of May this is pretty bad - and he's not looking right - I'd noticed he looked like he'd lost some weight - at the Vet visit in April we'd discussed some muscle mass loss - nothing too bad but Vet said to watch it. We also had him tested for Hyper Active Thyroid - numbers came back normal a tad high normal - both tests 2.6 for one and 29 for the other if that means anything to anyone. While our Vet still suspected he's "headed" towards hyper active Thyroid the blood tests did not show it was there yet. So after Memorial Day weekend our home visit vet who is now a good friend offered to come over and check him out as a favor - we've spent quite a bit on his vet care and meds as you can all imagine and finances are tight. I always swore I'd never put my pets care second to finances but if you just don't have the $$... our vet is good about letting us pay off but by May I was still paying off March bill - so I took her up on the free home check. It didn't end up happening for various schedule conflicts till the first week in June - she heard a galloping heart beat, was pretty sure she could feel his thyroid and asked me if his nails were thicker (I had just noticed that clipping them in anticipation of her visit). So she offered to do the blood tests - not charge us anything but the lab fees and we arranged for her to come back in a couple of days with her assistant. That ended up nothing happening again due to schedule issues - so this past Saturday I bit the bullet and took him into our regular vet (still haven't paid off March but oh, well) He's lost one pound since January which includes .5 since March, this on eating an insane amount of food (this weekend from Friday to Monday he went thru almost a FULL case of Fancy Feast- I know Roxie ate some of it cause he doesn't always clean the plate but still). He was so stressed out and panting during this visit that it was hard for our vet to tell what the heart beat was actually caused by but it did sound to him like it could be a galloping beat. They took the blood. Today we got the results - STILL NO CLEAR CASE OF HYPER ACTIVE THYROID the numbers are now 2.7 and 45 (up from the 2.6 and 29) the good news is his glucose was 271 and his fructosimine 470. This after a week where he probably got an average of one shot per day based on getting none on some days.
Tonight an hour after dinner he was 310 - 2 hours later he was 240. He was eating again so we shot .5 and I'll test him before we go to bed at +4 and see where we are. Of course it's hard to really figure it all out cause there is never a time when he's more than a couple of hours from having eaten - and I mean around the clock (not getting much uninterrupted sleep around here). Our vet would like to rule out anything else and suggests we bring in a stool sample to check for possible parasites (he licks the dog all over so who knows what he could have pickedup) and did comment that if he knew money wasn't an option would suggest an ultra sound of his abdomen - but instead thinks we should wait 3 weeks, monitor him and test again. He is however going to speak to the expert at the lab and get his opinion (endrocronologist?). spoke to our vet friend and she is convinced it's hyper thyroidism and is going to speak to an expert she is friends with in Manhattan and get his advice. I did ask our vet if there is any chance this could be ARCO and that brought him up short. He thought for a while and than said he's had 2 ACRO cats in his entire career - he doesn't see that with Robbie but he is going to give it some consideration, go over his notes and do some reading up as it's been YEARS since he has encountered a cat with this.
I guess that is more than enough - for any of you who have made it this far I'd love your thoughts. Thank you - for the record Robbie remains in pretty good spirits - he plays with the dog a lot, loves for me to hold him and walk around the house with him, plays with his cat nip toys and begs for bacon whenever it's cooked. Of course he also sleeps a lot. Thanks all.
I'm hoping even though I am a lousy member of this forum and have not done "my part" in any way that I'll still get some input, insights and maybe support. Robbies bg numbers hAVE continued to improve to some extent but mostly what has happened in the past 3 months is his numbers have stayed the same on less and less insulin. We are now at .5 to maybe 1 and sometimes not twice a day since if he's on the low side I haven't given him his morning or night shot depending. I suppose I could risk it and shot .5 on a 234 but I'm not home much at all these days and neither is my husband and I just hate to risk it. His amps and pmps are almost never higher than 260. His mid cycle numbers are not that low - maybe 113 120ish - but this is on .5 most days and sometimes no shot the cycle before.
So while all this is happening something else is going on as well - he's eating a TREMENDOUS amount more food - like 6-7 cans (and more sometimes) in 18 hours up from 4-5 and he SCREAMS constantly when he's hungry. Loud HORRIBLE screams. So by the end of May this is pretty bad - and he's not looking right - I'd noticed he looked like he'd lost some weight - at the Vet visit in April we'd discussed some muscle mass loss - nothing too bad but Vet said to watch it. We also had him tested for Hyper Active Thyroid - numbers came back normal a tad high normal - both tests 2.6 for one and 29 for the other if that means anything to anyone. While our Vet still suspected he's "headed" towards hyper active Thyroid the blood tests did not show it was there yet. So after Memorial Day weekend our home visit vet who is now a good friend offered to come over and check him out as a favor - we've spent quite a bit on his vet care and meds as you can all imagine and finances are tight. I always swore I'd never put my pets care second to finances but if you just don't have the $$... our vet is good about letting us pay off but by May I was still paying off March bill - so I took her up on the free home check. It didn't end up happening for various schedule conflicts till the first week in June - she heard a galloping heart beat, was pretty sure she could feel his thyroid and asked me if his nails were thicker (I had just noticed that clipping them in anticipation of her visit). So she offered to do the blood tests - not charge us anything but the lab fees and we arranged for her to come back in a couple of days with her assistant. That ended up nothing happening again due to schedule issues - so this past Saturday I bit the bullet and took him into our regular vet (still haven't paid off March but oh, well) He's lost one pound since January which includes .5 since March, this on eating an insane amount of food (this weekend from Friday to Monday he went thru almost a FULL case of Fancy Feast- I know Roxie ate some of it cause he doesn't always clean the plate but still). He was so stressed out and panting during this visit that it was hard for our vet to tell what the heart beat was actually caused by but it did sound to him like it could be a galloping beat. They took the blood. Today we got the results - STILL NO CLEAR CASE OF HYPER ACTIVE THYROID the numbers are now 2.7 and 45 (up from the 2.6 and 29) the good news is his glucose was 271 and his fructosimine 470. This after a week where he probably got an average of one shot per day based on getting none on some days.
Tonight an hour after dinner he was 310 - 2 hours later he was 240. He was eating again so we shot .5 and I'll test him before we go to bed at +4 and see where we are. Of course it's hard to really figure it all out cause there is never a time when he's more than a couple of hours from having eaten - and I mean around the clock (not getting much uninterrupted sleep around here). Our vet would like to rule out anything else and suggests we bring in a stool sample to check for possible parasites (he licks the dog all over so who knows what he could have pickedup) and did comment that if he knew money wasn't an option would suggest an ultra sound of his abdomen - but instead thinks we should wait 3 weeks, monitor him and test again. He is however going to speak to the expert at the lab and get his opinion (endrocronologist?). spoke to our vet friend and she is convinced it's hyper thyroidism and is going to speak to an expert she is friends with in Manhattan and get his advice. I did ask our vet if there is any chance this could be ARCO and that brought him up short. He thought for a while and than said he's had 2 ACRO cats in his entire career - he doesn't see that with Robbie but he is going to give it some consideration, go over his notes and do some reading up as it's been YEARS since he has encountered a cat with this.
I guess that is more than enough - for any of you who have made it this far I'd love your thoughts. Thank you - for the record Robbie remains in pretty good spirits - he plays with the dog a lot, loves for me to hold him and walk around the house with him, plays with his cat nip toys and begs for bacon whenever it's cooked. Of course he also sleeps a lot. Thanks all.