Update on Lil Dude

Status
Not open for further replies.

lildude

Member
Well, yesterday morning at 7:20am his BG was 92. I had given him just 1 unit the night before. I fed him his breakfast but didn't give him any insulin.

At 11:30am his reading was 375. I gave him his lunch & just 1 unit. His BG never went below 350 for the rest of the day (3:30pm, 375; 5:00pm, 359). His last reading was at 9:30pm & it was 352. He got that 1 unit & his night time feeding.

At 7:00am this morning his BG reading was 263. He had his breakfast & I gave him 2 units this time. At 12:30pm, it was 180. I gave him his lunch at that time as well. I will check it again in an hour or two.

I wasn't too happy about yesterday's readings, but today (aside from his morning reading), he seems to be doing OK with his 2 units this AM. Hopefully it will stay below the 200 mark.

I am going to try to fix/work on his SS today sometime, but I wanted to give you guys a heads up on how he's doing.

Thanks everyone~

Robin & Lil' Dude.
 
Robin,

Have you switched from Humulin to Lantus? If so, there is a very different approach for Lantus. It is most successful for cats with consistent dosing. They have a protocol that works really well: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

When you get your spreadsheet up to date, you could head over to the Lantus support group and get some dosing advice. The first thing they will ask is if you have read the stickies at the top of the page, so do that. Very good information on your new insulin!
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Robin,

Have you switched from Humulin to Lantus? If so, there is a very different approach for Lantus. It is most successful for cats with consistent dosing. They have a protocol that works really well: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

When you get your spreadsheet up to date, you could head over to the Lantus support group and get some dosing advice. The first thing they will ask is if you have read the stickies at the top of the page, so do that. Very good information on your new insulin!

He has been on Lantus for a few days now...and I believe I've said that several times. And yes, I've been reading the info provided but getting different advice from everyone, so it's a bit frustrating to say the least. He is doing better, so I am going to figure it out.
 
Hey Robin! I just wanted to stop in and say hello. I saw you on the Lantus board a couple of days ago but didn't want to jump in since there was a lot of activity.

Sue is right about Lantus. You really need consistent dosing for it to work. I know that you didn't want to shoot the 92 and I don't blame you. The next morning number of 375 was definitely a bounce from the greens the night before. You need to get on a dose and stay on it for 6 - 10 cycles and see what happens. A bounce can last for up to 72 hours, so the preshot numbers are really just a guide.

Good luck getting your ss up and running and I hope you try to stop back over on the Lantus board.
 
Short version of Lantus instructions:

Same dose, every 12 hours.

With what you just reported, 0.5 units at each dose might be your best starting place, as it has carryover through the next 12 hours and 1 unit seemed like too much.

Test urine for ketones, in addition to pre-shot blood glucose for next 3-5 days

Unless ketones are present, or extremely low blood glucose, stay consistent for 3-5 days.

After 3-5 days, do a curve.

Review with Lantus group.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top