Update on Frank

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina and Boozle

Member Since 2013
So... we finished the week out as planned and took him in for his two week check-up. He is in great shape, compared to two weeks ago. There is no arguing that, so the first doc obviously worked some magic with him. To put it in perspective, he was in such bad shape, physically, that he said that treating him was not recommended. We are all in a state of wow over his condition this week. He had so many other problems outside of diabetes. Poor kitty has like... three teeth, which all need to be removed because they are infected and in horrible shape. He's scary looking, but wow, he is such a sweet cat, and well behaved too.
That being said, the same doc two says his sugar is obviously not regulated. I am sure the first doc would have come to the same conclusion, but he wasn't in. We've taken him off of the 10u of Novolin. We were going to do the 5u twice a day of Novolin, and I requested the Lantus. Doc said that was fine, that was what he preferred anyway. It was nice to have him on the same page and it not be a struggle. My god, that stuff is outrageously expensive, though. $200 compared to $25. We are still in sticker shock. I am reading that it can last up to six months in the fridge though, and we are starting off at 1u. So maybe this will last us quite a while. This would be good because there is no way we could afford this every 28 days. They need to start selling smaller bottles. :lol:
It was not suggested that we change his food until we get further into the new insulin treatment. He is already off the A/D and is eating two cans of Friskies in the morning and 1/8 cup of dry, high protein Whiskas. I already quit giving him dry in the afternoons. He was picking around it, anyway. We are getting there!
So, to sum up the change, we are doing 1u of Lantus, twice a day, to start. He just got his first dose so, we will see how it works out.
 
A vial of Lantus will usually stay effective for about 3-4 months. The 28 days is for human use only. One suggestion is to have the vet prescribe Lantus pens instead of a vial. You receive 5 pens and because you are able to use almost every drop before they become ineffective, you could have enough insulin with one package to last almost a year. There is also a discount card on the Lantus website that many users have successfully used. That will bring the cost down to $25 a pen.
 
First check 376. Not perfect, but it is the lowest in this time slot yet, on 1u. I'm hearing it takes a week to really see where you are going with this insulin, so I am not celebrating yet. Between the significantly lower insulin dose and a decent drop in bg, I am, however, hopeful.

I've seen the discount offered on the site, I suppose I should apply for it and see where that goes. $25 a pen sounds good to me. $125 a year is much nicer than $50 a month.

On an entirely different note, while I am committed, I can't help but to feel exhausted by this process. I am not sure how you guys that have done this for upteen years have managed. I guess I am about to find out. :lol:
 
Hurrah! I am so glad you were to get Frank on a good insulin, Tina. Hope it is smooth sailing from now on. And don't get too discouraged with early numbers. Lantus is a depot insulin so some cats don't see a big change for several days.
 
Morning extra sweet Frank and TinaMamaBean!

You gave me a silly grin when you asked how we've done this for upteen years...KT is now over 2 years diabetic but it's now just another routine. It becomes easy enough that we adopted a second diabetic kitty in May of this year. They know when it's shot time - if I'm late, they come get me and take me to their shot spot. They hear their meter case zippers and come for testing too. You'll develop a routine, it WILL get much easier very soon!!! GOOD JOB SO FAR!!!! The sugar dance isn't hard, it's just different.

BIG HUGS!!
 
Such great news Tina! If you haven't already you should join the Lantus board. Tons of experience and eyes over there who can guide you on the specifics of Lantus. I would recommend the Lantus Tight Regulation Board, (there are two there but this one is the busiest). Please stay in touch and keep asking questions. I am soooo happy Frank found you :-D :-D
 
Squeaky, I sure hope we can get to that point. The commitment itself isn't as exhausting as the worry. I worry about his ears getting sore from too much sticking. I worry about hurting him by accidentally sticking in the muscle. Then there is the nasty antibiotics that he has to take twice a day, the long car rides to the vet, messing with him when he pees to get the ketone reading, watching him act like he is starving all day between meals. I am used to my cats just laying around and getting fat without a care in the world.

Sue, the numbers are actually inspiring. He has been +2 376, +4 274, +6 300 +8 323, today. Are they ideal? I'm not thinking so, but it is too early to have a definitive opinion. It is only 1u and so far the numbers are steady. I am hoping this is an indication that we can look forward to some predictability.

Kim, Thank you and I will make sure to check that out!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top