Update on Achilles

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eva and Achilles

Active Member
I apologize in advance for the ensuing long and rambling post. Mr. Achilles saw the new vet last night and was such a trooper. He had to tolerate a long and bumpy car ride into Manhattan. The new vet started him on Lantus and said that we can switch him to Lantus that very evening -- which we did. Vet wants him on 2 units b.i.d. I thought that was a bit high, and I wanted to start him on 1 unit b.i.d. but my husband wants to stick to the vet's instructions. So for the next few days it will be 2 units b.i.d. and DH will be leaving work and going home regularly during the day to check on Achilles and test him. We will be reporting the numbers to the vet.

Unfortunately, the vet prescribed us a 10ml bottle of Lantus which cost a whopping $110. There is no way we can use all of it before we need to throw it away. Such a waste...

This morning at +10.5 his BG level was all over the map. We tested him three times and got a different number each time ranging from 53 to 137 to 143. I posted another inquiry on the main health board about the reliability of the Relion meter which we are using. Like I said there, I am willing to spend the extra $$ to get a meter and strips that are more reliable.

I addition to doing a curve this weekend I anticipate that we will be back to the vet in 2 to 3 weeks to run more bloods to check his liver enzymes which were borderline high last week.
 
Hi Eva,
So glad, Achilles was a trooper. Lantus is great, but I'm a little concerned about the 2u, especially when his bg is in low hundreds at +10.5. Hope some experienced members will shed some light on that. Good to see you more relaxed and hopeful Eva!
Sending you plenty of healing vibes and best wishes to you guys.
Taline
 
Others have said there is a 20% variance with any meter - so your readings can be within 20% of each other. The two readings in the 100s are certainly close enough. I don't know about the 50. Sometimes, in the beginning, the blood sample isn't quite right or it gets on the strip a little too late. I did not use the ReliOn but certainly everyone here likes it.

I am concerned about your numbers though. That is a very good reaction to insulin. Please post your amps number on the Lantus support group site if it is in the 100s (actually anything lower than 200) viewforum.php?f=9 Starting at 2 units may be too much for Achilles. Be sure you are getting some numbers as the day goes on.
 
My cat started out on 2 units exactly one week ago, and his numbers have warranted a move to 1.5 for the past 3 cycles. So far so good. I am having meter problems also - In fact, I can test the same drop of blood with two different strips and get numbers 30% apart. Then I torture myself with testing a drop of blood on the ipet meter followed by the relion and I'll get a 20-30% difference between the two meters. You are definitely not alone in your frustration. Overall though, if you are anything like me, you'll be freaked out beyond belief today; a week from now you'll be much more calm and comfy.

Eva and Achilles said:
I apologize in advance for the ensuing long and rambling post. Mr. Achilles saw the new vet last night and was such a trooper. He had to tolerate a long and bumpy car ride into Manhattan. The new vet started him on Lantus and said that we can switch him to Lantus that very evening -- which we did. Vet wants him on 2 units b.i.d. I thought that was a bit high, and I wanted to start him on 1 unit b.i.d. but my husband wants to stick to the vet's instructions. So for the next few days it will be 2 units b.i.d. and DH will be leaving work and going home regularly during the day to check on Achilles and test him. We will be reporting the numbers to the vet.

Unfortunately, the vet prescribed us a 10ml bottle of Lantus which cost a whopping $110. There is no way we can use all of it before we need to throw it away. Such a waste...

This morning at +10.5 his BG level was all over the map. We tested him three times and got a different number each time ranging from 53 to 137 to 143. I posted another inquiry on the main health board about the reliability of the Relion meter which we are using. Like I said there, I am willing to spend the extra $$ to get a meter and strips that are more reliable.

I addition to doing a curve this weekend I anticipate that we will be back to the vet in 2 to 3 weeks to run more bloods to check his liver enzymes which were borderline high last week.
 
Hi SaraJaye,

It looks like our cats were diagnosed at about the same time. It's comforting to read that you started Stinky at 2 units of lantus and that he is inching down. For me, it's nice to see those numbers go down a bit after seeing him consistently over 400 ever morning and evening. Did you take him down to 1.5 on your own based on your BG readings or are you working with a vet?

We are monitoring Achilles as best we can, but it's so hard to do so when we both work long hours. I'm going to use the weekend to create a curve.

I hope Stinky keeps responding well and that we will soon have regulated cats!
 
Hi Eva,

And this morning, Stinky's down to 1 unit - he was testing sub-200 up until +14, and I had to go out, so I guessed that I should lower the dose - I've learned lots, and have been in constant consultation with Dr. Lisa Pierson who is mentioned a lot here. She's been a great teacher. I've been able to take some time off to do these curves every day so I am fortunate in being able to try to determine what's going on with his peaks and curves. The last few cycles have been flat blues, and we're only on day 7. I hope you have similar success with Achilles.

Eva and Achilles said:
Hi SaraJaye,

It looks like our cats were diagnosed at about the same time. It's comforting to read that you started Stinky at 2 units of lantus and that he is inching down. For me, it's nice to see those numbers go down a bit after seeing him consistently over 400 ever morning and evening. Did you take him down to 1.5 on your own based on your BG readings or are you working with a vet?

We are monitoring Achilles as best we can, but it's so hard to do so when we both work long hours. I'm going to use the weekend to create a curve.

I hope Stinky keeps responding well and that we will soon have regulated cats!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top