CheshireKitten
Member
Hey all,
Just wanted to follow up with my little buddy's story. I started at the Welcome page and made a post here.
He was diagnosed late Sept 2023 and started on ProZinc. We've met with a new vet that is more comfortable treating diabetes. She had some amazing advice and his levels speak for themselves.
We settled on 3 units of ProZinc as that was the amount we saw the best levels. Additionally, we finally made the hard switch to 100% wet food. We initially fed Fancy Feast Pate however some users pointed out that it may be high in phosphorous so he's on Weruva BFF.
Our vet recommended to feed only twice per day when we give him the shot; we were allowed to give snacks and settled on Vital Essential's freeze dried food since it appears to only have single ingredients. His levels slowly began to bounce before settling in the 'yellow' range. More recently, we began to see more and more blue and his pre-shot levels were looking great. Down significantly from the 500+ levels in the first month.
In the last two days we saw green (yay) however we've been very hesitant to give him the shot. This morning his AMPS was 89 and we decreased from 3u to 2u. I re-read the ProZinc info page on here and saw that >90 isn't recommended to shoot (I think). At +6 he was at 61 however my fiance was monitoring him all day and we have a hypo kit ready.
Now my dilemma, how do I navigate these levels? I want to see him stable, I'm not looking for immediate remission. The 3u was very helpful but it's perhaps too aggressive. I'm thinking keeping him at 2u and seeing how he does for the week. Likely will skip the shot if the PS is >90 going forward but I'm not sure.
I'm going to re-read the ProZinc help post but any suggestions are highly recommended. I also want to thank a lot of users here for being so welcoming and helpful. Shout out to Suzanne and Darcy as she was looking at the chart when I was away and asking for follow ups.
Go Mister Kittums, Go.
Just wanted to follow up with my little buddy's story. I started at the Welcome page and made a post here.
He was diagnosed late Sept 2023 and started on ProZinc. We've met with a new vet that is more comfortable treating diabetes. She had some amazing advice and his levels speak for themselves.
We settled on 3 units of ProZinc as that was the amount we saw the best levels. Additionally, we finally made the hard switch to 100% wet food. We initially fed Fancy Feast Pate however some users pointed out that it may be high in phosphorous so he's on Weruva BFF.
Our vet recommended to feed only twice per day when we give him the shot; we were allowed to give snacks and settled on Vital Essential's freeze dried food since it appears to only have single ingredients. His levels slowly began to bounce before settling in the 'yellow' range. More recently, we began to see more and more blue and his pre-shot levels were looking great. Down significantly from the 500+ levels in the first month.
In the last two days we saw green (yay) however we've been very hesitant to give him the shot. This morning his AMPS was 89 and we decreased from 3u to 2u. I re-read the ProZinc info page on here and saw that >90 isn't recommended to shoot (I think). At +6 he was at 61 however my fiance was monitoring him all day and we have a hypo kit ready.
Now my dilemma, how do I navigate these levels? I want to see him stable, I'm not looking for immediate remission. The 3u was very helpful but it's perhaps too aggressive. I'm thinking keeping him at 2u and seeing how he does for the week. Likely will skip the shot if the PS is >90 going forward but I'm not sure.
I'm going to re-read the ProZinc help post but any suggestions are highly recommended. I also want to thank a lot of users here for being so welcoming and helpful. Shout out to Suzanne and Darcy as she was looking at the chart when I was away and asking for follow ups.
Go Mister Kittums, Go.