Up, down, numbers still around and around

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph

Member Since 2013
I am sheepishly back. I have been trying to follow the wonderful advice given here. One day I think, it's all good. Then I see a dangerously low number and a really high one the next day. Because this cat is not insured for diabetes, I am scared mindless of a $$$$$ episode due to my budget.

Mick HAS put on weight, and honestly I don't want him to get pudgy like two of my other cats. Yes, I am feeding him Friskies' Pate. Plus he has some Wysong Epigen, super-high protein dry, when there is no wet food in his dish and overnight--he sleeps most of the night. The three cats have run of the house and they sometimes get into each other's food at night--the other cats are on Evo Cat and Kitten high protein dry. Mick seems to be always hungry, although he's eating much less than when he arrived here starving. He likes to dabble in the EVO, but I KNOW he is not gorging on this. He starts scratching the floor at 5 a.m., looking for wet food.

I have not had bloods done on him yet at the vet, so maybe there is something else going on here? Having gotten Casey into remission here with your help, I just expected this would go the same.

Not.

My spreadsheet tells it all. I did drop his dose down, per recommendation here, from the 3IU he was getting upon arrival. But as you see, no normalcy here. I am starting to panic a bit. Those 40s numbers freak me out, and the high ones? I imagine the damage they are doing. Getting up in the middle of the night just isn't feasible right now due to other stresses.

???
 
Lets see whats going on here. What meter are you using?

These numbers arent bad! nothing higher than yellow. Nice healing greens and blues but nothing too low (under 50) for a few weeks. A few thoughts though...

1. The 2 units looks ok but you really need to get some mid night cycle tests - you'd be surprised how many cats drop even lower at night. If he does drop below 50 then you drop the dose by 0.25 units every time he does.

2. Read up about shooting low. Heres a primer. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147 I am thinking your current no shot number is 100 right?

3. If he is below 100
- I would stall and dont feed or shoot and wait 30 minutes to see if he is rising without the influence of food- then shoot the full dose. And get a test at +2 or +3. This is why you dont feed for 2 hours before the shot.
- Or get a +11 ( an hour before the shot) to see if he is rising, and if he is at pre shot - shoot the full dose.And get a +2 or +3

4. Lastly - what is the % calories from carbs as fed for the Wysong Epigen? I know the evo cat and kitten isnt bad.

Wendy
 
Hi Steph

Could you put your insulin brand in your signature? I had to look through several of your posts before I saw Lantus.

The important thing with Lantus is to keep the same dose for at least 3 days (5 for the first dose), so it can reach a steady level pattern, then evaluate the lowest test number around +5 to +7 hours after a shot.

After 3 days, if the nadir is below 50, he earns a 0.25 unit decrease.

On 9/21, he earned a decrease with the 48 mg/dL in the evening after 7 shots of 2.00 units.
That would make the dose to stabilize on 1.75 units

You dropped down to 1.5 units on the morning of the 28th, then went back up to 2.00 units. He is likely to go back down below 50 mg/dL if you stay there.

Please come down from the 2.00 units to 1.75. You'll have to eyeball it, as the syringes don't measure that precisely.
 
BJM: How do I add info to my signature?
W&T: I had a 48 and 54, averaged, two or three days ago. I am using ReliOn Prime. I had a Confirm. I had a couple of ridiculously, scary ##s with the Confirm, and I switched to Prime.

I have only done a no-shot ONCE. My no-shot number has been 70 or below but then I sweat.

BOTH OF YOU: I have not been figuring in the eating part of this. He is hungry most of the time, but not as much; wakes me up at 5 a.m. (No, I don't necessarily want to get up then.) I would have to pick up food for everyone at night, and I can, although I have to punish the other two. Picking up food at night means I won't ever be able to sleep in for a normal hour--don't mean to be selfish here, for I am not.

Wysong Epigen: Starch free, totally; No carb number, but crude protein is 60%. Also make a raw food diet, in a bag, but don't want to go there.

I am trying to digest the "shoot low" information, and it's late, and I'm tired (again). I need to do this fresh tomorrow. After the easy ride with Casey, will I be glued to multiple tests forever? I may take a job that will not allow me to be home for this. We'll cross that bridge...

THANK YOU!!!
 
In upper left of page is the User Control Panel; click on that.
Click on the tab at the top of the dialog which says "Profile".
Click on the left where it says "Edit Signature"
Type in whatever of the following you'd like to add:
your first name,
Your cat's name
Date of diagnosis (sometimes reductions depend on duration of diabetes)
Insulin used
Other brief notes such as other medical problems
 
Until he is better regulated, he will be hungry.

You may feed up to 50% more food than normal, preferably divided into 2 or 3 mini-meals per 12 hours, OR freeze part of the food and put out both fresh and frozen. The frozen may be nibbled as it thaws.

It can help to add up to a tablespoon of water to the food for volume.
 
You can only do the best you can with testing. For now lets do our best to get him regulated and possibly into remission. His numbers look good - i dont think its out of the question if you are strict on dosing etc.

Maybe you want to take a look at the lantus board.That board has lots of very experienced dosing members on it and is a great sense of community.Since you are now up to speed with testing etc I think they will really be able to advise you better on dosing etc. I post there myself every day or two to get their eyes on my cats.

There is no rush to post there. I like to suggest that people go over to their insulin specific support group and check it out. Read the Stickies at the top of the Topics section. Read a few condos posted by other members. Get a feel for how the forum works. See if you think it would be a good fit for you.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9



Wendy
 
Ok: Updated signature, but can't resize pic to appropriate KB. Will get that done.

Will go to Lantus board. Great a.m. numbers, bad ones at night. Maybe because of nibbling cats' dry food--still on the Wysong dry for him.

This is all so helpful. Must get into remission.

s.
 
Wysong dry food carb content: nearly 0

The Epigen 90 has incalculable carbs, says the company: almost "nil."
 
Are you able to feed all the cats the same low carb food? Even the non-diabetic cats can benefit from eating this way - ie. weight loss.

Here's what I do and this may help. I add anywhere from 1/2 - 1 can of water to each can of food. I also leave the canned food out overnight, so my cats can eat it when they want. I have grazers (it seems most cats that are raised on dry food are grazers) and so it's easy to just leave it out and available.

For cats that eat meals, I can understand the challenge that you put it out and it's gone immediately.

A trick many people use for this, is to take the canned food, add water and freeze it. You can use ice cube tray or even ziploc baggies to freeze in. You can put the frozen food out and it will take several hours to thaw and be fresh, ready for eating.

Some folks even get timed feeders and use the frozen method too. This helps for cats that eat meals and don't graze.

Just a couple ideas you may want to try and then you can remove the dry food completely and see if that helps everyone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top