Unsure what .25 unit lantus looks like on a u100 syringe-need help

Moocat

Member Since 2018
Hi,
My cat MOOMOO was recently diagnosed with diabetes. He was started on 1 unit of lantus 2x day. He had hypoglycemia, reduced to half unit for a week and began BG testing with alpha trak2 day 7 and nadir went to 44 on alpha trak 2 @+6 BG next day was PMPS 250. continued 1/2 unit on vet advice then BG @+4 =82@=4.5=69 @+6=68 @+7 =77 @+ 11.5 AMPS 98- skipped dose. PMPS 287 gave 1/2 unit no more testing that night- AMPS 247 no testing then PMPS 195 no shot given. I tried to eyeball .25 unit today and don't know if I did it properly but hopefully gave 1/4unit. AMPS =273 , +4 191. Does anyone have tips on where the plunger should be on a u100 with only 1 unit marks?
 
I find it hard to eyeball 0.25U even with half marks!
You can find a photo with other tips here
If at all possible, try and get some syringes with half unit marks.
 
Hey Moocat. And good catch on that 44. Here is what .25 unit looks like.

upload_2018-12-9_17-44-29.png


He is really responding nicely to insulin. When was he diagnosed? It will be hard to eyeball without the 1/2 unit markings. Are you in the States? If so, Walmart brand Relion syringes have the 1/2 unit markings. They are only about 13.88/ box of 100.
 
Hey Moocat. And good catch on that 44. Here is what .25 unit looks like.

View attachment 40915

He is really responding nicely to insulin. When was he diagnosed? It will be hard to eyeball without the 1/2 unit markings. Are you in the States? If so, Walmart brand Relion syringes have the 1/2 unit markings. They are only about 13.88/ box of 100.
.

THANK YOU! He was diagnosed on on Nov 13 and it has been a rocky road! The vet wanted to push him back up t 1 unit and this site helped me to understand things a little better and I refused to go up. I stayed at .5 units and started testing and now have to keep skipping a dose after one cycle. My vet could not understand why this was happening and I finally suggested .25 bid which she is good with. The only problem is how do you know you are giving the right dose?I just got the 1/2 mark syringes. and saw a post giving instructions to draw up .5 and to point the needle upward. twist the plunger and a drop will appear, flick it off and twist again for another drop and flick- that is .25. The .5 draw up will have a total of 4 drops. I tried it with water and it works!
 
Hey Moocat. And good catch on that 44. Here is what .25 unit looks like.

View attachment 40915

He is really responding nicely to insulin. When was he diagnosed? It will be hard to eyeball without the 1/2 unit markings. Are you in the States? If so, Walmart brand Relion syringes have the 1/2 unit markings. They are only about 13.88/ box of 100.
THANK YOU! He was diagnosed on on Nov 13 and it has been a rocky road! The vet wanted to push him back up t 1 unit and this site helped me to understand things a little better and I refused to go up. I stayed at .5 units and started testing and now have to keep skipping a dose after one cycle. My vet could not understand why this was happening and I finally suggested .25 bid which she is good with. The only problem is how do you know you are giving the right dose?I just got the 1/2 mark syringes. and saw a post giving instructions to draw up .5 and to point the needle upward. twist the plunger and a drop will appear, flick it off and twist again for another drop and flick- that is .25. The .5 draw up will have a total of 4 drops. I tried it with water and it works!
 
Back
Top