I'm new to this discussion. Here's a handout I made up for new people a while ago. Read it through and ask any/all questions you have:
It would help us if you set up your signature (light grey text under a post). Here's how:
You've already done this.
- click on your name in the upper right corner of this page
- click on "signature" in the men that drops down
- type the following in the box that opens: kitty's name/age/date of diabetes diagnosis/insulin you're using /glucose meter you're using/what he eats/any other meds or health issues he has.
Another thing that will help us help you now that you've started BG testing at home is to set up a spreadsheet like the one we use here. We can all see it and look at it before offering advice:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/ This is essential for us to see if we're going to offer good advice.
...............................................................................................................................................................................................
Here's the basic testing routine we recommend:
This is the basis of everything we do here.
- test every day AM and PM before feeding and injecting (no food at least 2 hours before) to see if the planned dose is safe
- test at least once near mid cycle or at bedtime daily to see how low the BG goes
- do extra tests on days off to fill in the response picture
- if indicated by consistently high numbers on your spreadsheet, increase the dose by no more than 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally go right past a good dose
- post here for advice whenever you're confused or unsure of what to do.
This is useful:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/
................................................................................................................................................................................................
Here's an explanation of what we call "bouncing". It explains why a kitty's BG can go from low to sky high:
- BG goes low OR lower than usual OR drops too quickly.
- Kitty's body panics and thinks there's danger (OMG! My BG is too low!).
- Complex physiologic processes take glycogen stored in the liver (I think of it as "bounce fuel"), convert it to glucose and dump it into the bloodstream to counteract the perceived dangerously low BG.
- These processes go into overdrive in kitties who are bounce prone and keep the BG propped up varying lengths of time (AKA bouncing).
- Bounce prone kitty repeats this until his body learns that healthy low numbers are safe. Some kitties are slow learners.
- Too high a dose of insulin can keep them bouncing over and over until the " bounce fuel" runs out and they crash - ie., have a hypo episode. That's why we worry so much about kitties that have had too high a starting dose prescribed by the vet and the owner isn't home testing.
................................................................................................................................................................................................
Here are some tips on how to do urine ketone testing (VERY important if BG is high and kitty isn't eating well!):
- put the end of the test strip right in his urine stream as he's peeing
- slip a shallow, long handled spoon under his backside to catch a little pee - you don't need much
- put a double layer of plastic wrap over his favourite part of the litter box and poke some depressions in it too catch pee.
Most test strips have to be dipped and allowed to develop for 15 seconds before viewing the colour change in very good light.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________
You've been thrown in the deep end of managing feline diabetes and it's very stressful. We've all been there. Here are some more questions and comments:
- how was the 2 unit dose arrived at? Is it based on your kitty's weight? One blood glucose test at the clinic? The usual (safe) starting dose is 1 unit but don't change anything until you set up a spread sheet and begin gathering data from home testing (ESSENTIAL!)
- the testing routine described above will give you a good idea of how he'e responding to the Humulin
- Humulin can act quickly and drop the BG fairly low so a more cautious approach is needed
- it's best to wait at least 20-30 minutes after a meal before giving Humulin so there's food on board to cushion its impact
- your goal for the mid cycle low BG is in the range of 90 - 110 because of the more aggressive action Humulin can have
- if the W/D food is dry it's likely very high in carbs so you should consider a switch to a low carb canned food. This will definitely help with weight loss and BG control. Very careful monitoring of BG by home testing is essential during the switch because the new diet can have a big impact on BG.
Keep asking questions here. Post often. Unfortunately there's no escaping learning to test BG at home to keep your kitty safe - especially if you can't easily get to a vet if needed.