Ungreat night for Comet, does plan for the morning/day make sense?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenny and Comet (GA)

Member Since 2020
Here is the last post we had.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...m-shot-after-day-with-extended-low-bg.245479/

Comet had a bad night. There was something about how he looked late in the evening that made me want to keep an eye on him, so I stayed up later than usual. He ended up throwing up twice (notes in remarks on spreadsheet) and the curve on his chart was very jagged -- quick spikes and drops. I stayed up most of the night with him. This morning he refused the cerenia repeatedly. He has had some water and used the litterbox. His AMPS was 160. He ate a little but not enough for me to feel comfortable shooting a reduced dose. He has since eaten a little more but not close to what he usually does. The vets don't get into the clinic for a few more hours.

I feel like my best choice among not great options is to keep up with the water and food as he wants it (just walked over for a few bites as I typed this) and keep working on the cerenia. Hopefully get him feeling good enough during the day and eating better that shooting will be possible tonight. And talking with his regular vet once she gets in. She would say it is important to get him to eat little bits regularly if I can because it will help him feel better.

Does this sound like a good plan?
 
Sorry no one got back to you this morning :(.

How is he feeling? I'm concerned about the vomiting and the poor appetite. Did you shoot? Have you spoken to the vet clinic or been able to take him in?

I would definitely test for ketones if you are not already doing so, especially if you skipped this morning's shot. A diabetic cat who isn't eating well and appearing lethargic is at a risk for ketones, which can be very serious.

Hope he's feeling better soon!
 
Sorry no one got back to you this morning :(.

How is he feeling? I'm concerned about the vomiting and the poor appetite. Did you shoot? Have you spoken to the vet clinic or been able to take him in?

I would definitely test for ketones if you are not already doing so, especially if you skipped this morning's shot. A diabetic cat who isn't eating well and appearing lethargic is at a risk for ketones, which can be very serious.

Hope he's feeling better soon!

Thank you, Nan. It is a terrible rollercoaster.

I did not shoot yesterday morning as he was so low. I checked his ketones throughout the day and they stayed negative. He kept eating little bits. I got him to take the cerenia mid-day and he ate very well after that. Shot a reduced dose last night when he was in the high 300s and he had a fine night. Scanned in the 230s this morning, took the cerenia right away, had a good breakfast, took the budesonide. Shot the reduced dose again. He ate some more. Checked him at around +2.5 and he was LO. He is acting normally, but I am feeding medium-higher carb food and watching him. I remember earlier on in his treatment, I could see that X unit would drop him Y number of points, but there is nothing like that these days. It is terrifying and I despair of ever getting it right. I know we are supposed to shoot for the nadir, but I never know what a given dose is going to do for him on a particular day; his nadirs are not consistent or consistently achievable with the same dose. It is really upsetting. I am trying so hard to do everything right for him and and am just scared that I am going to hurt him.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top