Unexplained low blood sugar

Status
Not open for further replies.

car523

Member Since 2011
So. My cat T is a complex guy at this point -- he was dxed with CRF a few months ago in addition to the diabetes. He is about 12 or 13 yrs. old. His current regime is as follows:
-2 units insulin 2x a day (contingent on BG test results)
-100 units Sub Q fluids per day
-1/8 teaspoon or so of aluminum hydroxide per day (with meals, to reduce phophurus)
-1/4 tab of oral Pepcid OR 2 units liquid injected with SubQ fluids
-2 units Lactulose (he developed severe constipation about 3 weeks ago --THIS IS THE NEWEST ADDITION FOR US)
- 2.5 units Aranesp injected every 2-3 weeks (for anemia)

Whew.

So... we did a big move from our old home to a new one this weekend... I've been striving to keep him stable for the move, and all has gone swimmingly in that regard... until today! (our first day in new apartment)

His BG was 170 last night (I gave him insulin) and 70 this morning (I held the injection). It's only 68 tonight! I don't understand how this can be...

Any advice/comments from you who have experience with this particular mix of stuff??

Here is his spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... 3bkE#gid=0

(I have put an email in to my vet and am sticking close to him... he seems fine overall -- good spirits, eating well, etc. -- but seems very, very tired and is dozing a lot. I think the move has been very stressful for him, depsite my attempts to lessen the blow...)

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!

Cindy & T
 
Has he eaten normally? Stress may put a cat off its food. (Tip: measuring the food and water consumed can be helpful if he's the only cat)

Any vomiting? Diarrhea? Furrballs?


You seem to have a program in place for managing his conditions. Just in case, the following are good info sources.

With the constipation issue you might find the Feline Constipation web site useful.

And with the renal issues, you may find Tanya's Feline CRF web site helpful, too.
 
Thank you, BJM! His eating was a bit off yesterday, yes. Today he has been eating well, though. Baffling. I tested his BG an hour later after this evening 's result of 68---it was 304! In disbelief, I tested again.. 325. I am waiting another hour to test again.

He has been having serious highs and lows lately despite all things remaining consistent... Vet has been baffled, too...
 
It'd be helpful if you would edit your signature to include the insulin you are using so folks don't have to search through past posts to find it.
Just pop up to the User Control Panel and click on it.
Then select Profile.
Then select Signature.

Add in your name, your cat's name, date of diagnosis, insulin, and any other short tid bits to help give context to evaluating your posts.
 
Sorry, didn't realize I was posting under old user name... up to date sig should be on here.

(but have to edit that he is now at 9.1 lbs when I have a chance to go in and do so)

Cindy & T
 
Are you familir with the Tight Regulation and the Start Low Go Slow protocols for Lantus and Levemir? Both are ways to work with depot insulins.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top