Understanding Glucose Readings

Hi friends. I just started to get some readings on Cleo before and after his insulin. I know I need to get more, but should I worry about how high he is before and after? Thank you for any insight and education!
 
I will tag a couple of members that can address your concerns with Lantus protocols, but having a very high or high BG before or after shooting should not be a concern, but if it's too low then you should ask for assistance at least 1 hour before shooting just to be on the safe side 🤗
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@squeem3
 
The pre-shot numbers don't really tell you much other than the level is high at the end of the cycle. You need to get some spot checks in during the cycle to see how the insulin and dose is working.
 
At this point, i don’t think it’s possible as it’s so difficult to get him to stay still
for it. Additionally, my vet doesn’t seem to think I absolutely need to do pre shot numbers every time. Is this preference ?
 
Well, I'd think about it this way. It's one thing if Cleo's pre-shot number is 400. It's an entirely different story if that number is 40. Without the test you don't know. Do you know of any human who doesn't test their blood glucose before taking insulin? I work in a medical setting and an MD telling a pt to not test before taking insulin could be accused of malpractice if the numbers crashed.
 
Last edited:
Sounds a lot easier than it is though!
Testing gets easier, be sure to offer a treat after testing. I give my boy boiled chicken, I boil a boneless breast & tear it up & put it in several Tupperware containers & freeze them & pull a bowel out as needed. I never thought my boy would ever be testable but he's a champ at it & he loves his chicky. I warm my boys ear with a half sheet of paper towel folded up & run it under warm/hot water & rub his ear with it then I put a dab of Vaseline on his ear & poke with my lancet free hand put the strip in the meter & hold it up to blood then I use a cotton pad to stop the bleeding/ or get excess blood after testing. Sometimes he bleeds a lot sometimes barely at all. Then he gets his chicky treat. Also try not to stress they know when we are stressed & they get stressed. I hope this helps you & your baby.
 
Back
Top