ummm problem with glucose meter!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

RockStar033

Member Since 2012
so i've been usinig the Bayer Contour(no coding) and when i took it to the vet to compare it, it was 0.6 off(mmol) - so theirs read 10.1 mmol and ours was 9.6 mmol.
so away we went on our merry way.

Tonight i tested Annie here's how it went

+0 - 11.6 and insulin right after(209mg)
+1 - 8.7(157mg)
+2 - 9.8(176mg)
+3 - 16.8(302) ...... ????? what?

so i was like, that seems high in an hour, lemme test her again... tested her again and it was 12.3(221mg)????, tested her again on the other ear, and it was 13.2(238mg), tested her again on the other ear and it was 12.3 again(221mg)

What the heck! this REALLY frusterates me.... have i been getting unnecessary numbers all this time? what could be going on here? this makes me wonder if all her numbers have actually been way higher, or way lower then they are? now i don't even know what number she is at.... but it compared so close at the vet! I'm glad i decided to retest.

i want to get a new meter tomorrow, but i just spent 80 bucks on a new pack of 100 strips... can i return them unopened with a receipt?

Anyone else have this problem randomly??

ugh! i'm frusterated to no end right now.... especially now that i've just increased her dose... and now i don't even know what her actual number is.

*EDIT* - i just tested again, and it was 12.7(229mg) so am i safe to assume right now that she was actually at 12.3??? because i got 12 3 out of 5 times testing her?

oh and also - i changed the lancet each time to make sure!
 
Every little once in a while I get a false high or low reading with my Contour. I got a "LO" in the middle of a road trip once!!! If a number doesn't make sense, just retest. It happens sometimes with any meter ;-)
 
Well you also have to keep in mind that meters are allowed to have a 20% variance, either way. So a reading of 302 could be anything from 242 to 364, in reality. And a 221 could be 177 to 263. So the numbers do line up, very slightly.
 
and sometimes just a little too much blood or not quite enough will alter the reading without giving an error report. just retest once when a number just does not make sense
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top