u40---u100 syringes, need help

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

i've been giving tom approximatly 1/3u in a u40 syringe
tonight he got his first dose in a u100. i think i got it right but want to be sure.
the first line to the left with the needle pointing upwards is half, next line to the right is whole and so on. with 2 and 1/2 equaling 1 u in the u40?
so if i gave him 1u in u100's it's about 1/3 in u40?
oye vey my head is spinning!
anyway his #'s running high (for him) becuase poor guy had a very stressful day at the vet and we have a loud storm going on.
actually my next question was gonna be do you shoot into a stress high the same way you'd shoot into a regular high?
this is his 2nd shot of the day and he's only been needing one shot a day so far.
 
One unit-marking of a U40 insulin in a U100 syringe equals 0.4 units of the U40 insulin. That is close to the 1/3 (0.33) units your were previously giving.
 
thanks larry, now for that 2nd question. shooting a stress high the same as a non stress high. sounds dumb maybe but i've forgotten. his #'s are usually 90-110 at night with mid 200's in the am. but today not such a good day and he gave me a pmps 175. shoot, right?
 
ok larry. i have not put my spread sheet on my profile. i understand your position completely. i've been around awhile. tom's been in remission for2+ years after only 29 days on pzi. you may remember us. i can tell you i believe this is not diabetes but a reaction to hyperT, he was at the vet today getting tested.
i have about 5 days worth of data. i would put it here but you may not want to look at it that way. i'm just not computor savvy and completed his spreadsheet but could'nt figure out how to move it.
shall i put it here.
 
If he has been OTJ for nearly two years, then I would say just let him relax and see if he's back to normal in the morning.

Did you just need to restart insulin recently? And which insulin -- PZI?

If you are more comfortable, you could reduce his shot tonight or skip it and see where he is in the morning. PZI is much less fussy than Lantus or Levemir.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top