Typical curve?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer and Katie

Member Since 2011
Katie's BG has been throwing me a lot of different lower numbers recently. I'm guessing her body is trying to fix itself, so I decreased her dose this morning, but she still seems to be dropping rather fast. Is this typical? Should I decrease her dosage more?
 
Do you have any additional tests after the 97? If so please post----the curve looks good to me, but truly it depends on where she went after the 97. Also it will be interesting to see her pmps.
 
I would say right now looking at theSS that the 1.5 is sstarting to give some unshootable numbers
maybe reducing by .25 and holding there for a couple of days to see what happens
If she gives you a low number, say 150 or 180, can you wait 20 minutes and recheck
her numbers to see where she is...sometimes just that 20 minutes will bring her up so you can shoot or reduce a little
and shoot....lets see what night brings..

Denise and Shakes
 
I think things are looking pretty good. If the 97 proves to be the nadir (lowest point) it looks like a very nice curve. Hopefully you will get a number you can shoot tonight.

Wonder what the vomiting is about? That can lower the blood glucose numbers in some cats. She vomits after drinking, not eating?
 
@ KSE- 00Posted AMPS +7, as well as PMPS.
@dmartini4- Dropped her dose to 1.25 U. I will see what happens over the next couple days with this dose. Getting unshootable numbers for a dose that has been working is normal, right?
@Sue and Oliver- Yes, the vomiting was about 1-2 minutes after drinking water. I'm going to watch her and see if it happens again tomorrow morning.
 
Getting unshootable numbers for a dose that has been working is normal, right
?

"Normal" isn't the right word..... "progress" is what that is. :smile:
Today was a nice curve. Noticed you "opened a 3.3oz can" of food when you saw the 92 at +4.5. Katie would have gotten a little boost from that, and at +7 she was at 120. Still a terrific curve. You and she are getting to the point where you should start seeing double digit nadirs, and that is super! Try not to let them scare you. Of course, if you see a really steep drop and see a 60 at +4, then be watchful, and don't hesitiate to post here. Make sure an note some sort of crisis in your subject line so people will know to look quick! Ideally, you will want her nadirs in the 60-75 range. And you'll come to accept them and get comfortable with them. So will Kaite. When you see the nadir in the 75 area, and the PSs the yellows, you'll be able to reduce because her pancreas will be helping supply the insulin. If/When you choose to reduce, do so in small increments.

Katie is looking great, and you are doing a terrific job!

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top