Ty Glucose curve done today...questions. AMPS 384/353 PMPS 308/299 2.5units 2x day Lantus

Gatoluna

Member Since 2026
Hello everyone,
I performed a glucose curve on my cat today, his level are logged into the spreadsheet but I will post it here. I have questions how to read his results and what changes need to be made. He eats fancy feast classic poultry & beef 3 cans total spread out. His schedule is:
6:30 am 1 can & 7am he gets additional 0.25 to occupy him and he gets his insulin at that time. 12:45pm he gets 1/2 a can. 6:30pm 1 can & 7am 0.25 and his shot.
Yesterday he had a lower than usual PM number so checked his glucose a hr later and 6hrs later. Below are all the level and times from last night and through the glucose curve today. (he does get a tiny bit of churu during his glucose test as he is fidgety but food motivated)
Sat 6/20 - 6:30pm BG 175 and immediately after 158. I gave him his insulin @7pm and monitored.
8PM BG 217. 1AM 295
Sun 6/21- 6:30am AMPS 384 immediately after 353 Insulin @7am
8:30am 310, 10:30am 338, 12:30pm 280, 2:30pm 277, 4:30pm 284, PMPS 308 immediately after 299
What would these results mean? does the insulin need to be changed or his food intake? he is 14lbs and the vet said he should lose weight, he is a tall and long cat.

Thank you in advance for your help!
 
Hello everyone,
I performed a glucose curve on my cat today, his level are logged into the spreadsheet but I will post it here. I have questions how to read his results and what changes need to be made. He eats fancy feast classic poultry & beef 3 cans total spread out. His schedule is:
6:30 am 1 can & 7am he gets additional 0.25 to occupy him and he gets his insulin at that time. 12:45pm he gets 1/2 a can. 6:30pm 1 can & 7am 0.25 and his shot.
Yesterday he had a lower than usual PM number so checked his glucose a hr later and 6hrs later. Below are all the level and times from last night and through the glucose curve today. (he does get a tiny bit of churu during his glucose test as he is fidgety but food motivated)
Sat 6/20 - 6:30pm BG 175 and immediately after 158. I gave him his insulin @7pm and monitored.
8PM BG 217. 1AM 295
Sun 6/21- 6:30am AMPS 384 immediately after 353 Insulin @7am
8:30am 310, 10:30am 338, 12:30pm 280, 2:30pm 277, 4:30pm 284, PMPS 308 immediately after 299
What would these results mean? does the insulin need to be changed or his food intake? he is 14lbs and the vet said he should lose weight, he is a tall and long cat.

Thank you in advance for your help!
First, you want to avoid feeding him feeding him after about +6 or you are shortening his duration of the insulin working. So if you take the total amount of food he gets in one 12-hour cycle, you can split it into 3 or 4 minimeals say at preshot, +1, +2, +3. If he’s hungry later in the cycle, you can give him some very low carb freeze dried treats or some boiled chicken breast but you shouldn’t be feeding him within the two hours before you shoot.

By feeding him within two hours before you shoot, that means the Preshot number you get is food-influenced. It’s not so important when he’s so high but as he comes down, you don’t want to shoot a food-influenced number so best to get him used to a new schedule now.

I see you shot several days without a test. Please be sure you always get the preshot test. Some people think if the cat is high at night, they will be high in the morning but I’ve seen members wake up to their cat with a BG of 27 mg/dL and if they hadn’t checked that preshot before giving insulin, it would have sent them into a serious hypo. Always test before shooting.

Because you don’t have much data but you did see a blue number in there, you’ll want to hold this dose a total of ten cycles (so another two cycles after today) and reasses. We do not like to raise the dose without knowing how low the current one is taking him.

It would be helpful if you could always get the following tests:
AMPS
+2 or if you leave for work before then, get a test right before you leave
Midcycle if you are home; if you work during the day, please get a test as soon as possible you get home from work
+10

PMPS
+2
+4 or before bed

If the +2 is similar to (within 20%) or lower than the preshot, it’s likely to be an active cycle.

Please let me know if you have questions.
 
First, you want to avoid feeding him feeding him after about +6 or you are shortening his duration of the insulin working. So if you take the total amount of food he gets in one 12-hour cycle, you can split it into 3 or 4 minimeals say at preshot, +1, +2, +3. If he’s hungry later in the cycle, you can give him some very low carb freeze dried treats or some boiled chicken breast but you shouldn’t be feeding him within the two hours before you shoot.

By feeding him within two hours before you shoot, that means the Preshot number you get is food-influenced. It’s not so important when he’s so high but as he comes down, you don’t want to shoot a food-influenced number so best to get him used to a new schedule now.

I see you shot several days without a test. Please be sure you always get the preshot test. Some people think if the cat is high at night, they will be high in the morning but I’ve seen members wake up to their cat with a BG of 27 mg/dL and if they hadn’t checked that preshot before giving insulin, it would have sent them into a serious hypo. Always test before shooting.

Because you don’t have much data but you did see a blue number in there, you’ll want to hold this dose a total of ten cycles (so another two cycles after today) and reasses. We do not like to raise the dose without knowing how low the current one is taking him.

It would be helpful if you could always get the following tests:
AMPS
+2 or if you leave for work before then, get a test right before you leave
Midcycle if you are home; if you work during the day, please get a test as soon as possible you get home from work
+10

PMPS
+2
+4 or before bed

If the +2 is similar to (within 20%) or lower than the preshot, it’s likely to be an active cycle.

Please let me know if you have questions.
Thank you so much for the information. I am trying to be consistent with his numbers. I am having difficulty testing him on my own he moves a lot and when my sisters are available they help keep him occupied in a blanket. I will make sure to get his AM readings.
Do you have any tips on solo testing?

I am a bit confused on the feeding instructions he gets his small snack at 12:45pm .. is that not within an adequate window? Should I reduce the mid-day feeding and move it to 2x a day like the vet said? His schedule pre diabetes was 3x a day spread out so I have kept it that way. he meows if hungry especially 30-1hr before his am feeding. They also said he should lose some weight.

I am going to sit down and train my family members to do the BG when I am not home because I work long hours, they are uncomfortable currently doing it.
As per my work schedule I shoot him at 7 and leave for work at 7:20 my sister is home to monitor any reactions. I get home around 5 pm so that really the only time I can test him right away and then again at 6:30.
 
Hi Idania!

Welcome to the LLB forum!

We like for everyone to post their previous post each day so that it makes it easy to look back at Ty's history and see what's been going on with him. I'll go ahead and post the previous two posts here, so that in the future, all you need to do is copy the URL for the current post and paste it into your daily message.

Questions on feeding/schedule/insulin
New to being a diabetic cat mom... Need questions answered please
Thank you I will be sure to do that!
 
Do you have any tips on solo testing?
Here are several resources on testing.

This is a great video on testing an uncooperative cat alone.

Because members all shoot at different times and in different time zones, we discuss times in terms of hours since the last shot. When you tell me you feed him at 12:45 pm, it doesn’t mean anything to me. But if 12:45 pm is at +5 so you tell me you feed at +5, that gives me a ton of info. So it would help if you tell me when you feed during the cycle in terms of hours since the last shot.

But, you absolutely should not feed him in the window of two hours before his shot. As an example, if his BG at +11 is 62 and you feed him and then his PMPS is 110 (example), that seems like a safe number to shoot but it’s actually higher than it might have been if you hadn’t fed at +11 so you falsely elevated his BG. At +1 when the food wears off, he could be at 45. Does that make sense?
 
Here are several resources on testing.

This is a great video on testing an uncooperative cat alone.

Because members all shoot at different times and in different time zones, we discuss times in terms of hours since the last shot. When you tell me you feed him at 12:45 pm, it doesn’t mean anything to me. But if 12:45 pm is at +5 so you tell me you feed at +5, that gives me a ton of info. So it would help if you tell me when you feed during the cycle in terms of hours since the last shot.

But, you absolutely should not feed him in the window of two hours before his shot. As an example, if his BG at +11 is 62 and you feed him and then his PMPS is 110 (example), that seems like a safe number to shoot but it’s actually higher than it might have been if you hadn’t fed at +11 so you falsely elevated his BG. At +1 when the food wears off, he could be at 45. Does that make sense?
okay yes that makes sense, so I feed him his mid-day meal at +6. Should I make it a bit earlier?
 
I updated his BG today and performed it +10 it is high. Im wondering if maybe the insulin is wearing off fast.
 
I updated his BG today and performed it +10 it is high. Im wondering if maybe the insulin is wearing off fast.
I’m sorry I didn’t get back to you yesterday. I do think you want to feed him before +6 if you can. Of course, if he’s running lower after that, you might need to give him a small amount of low carb food.

While I feel he needs a dose increase, without seeing where he’s going at night, it is difficult to safely recommend that. I was hoping you’d start getting a few PM cycle numbers because if he is not going lower in the PM cycle, he needs an increase in dose.

Could you please read this post and then post daily with those guidelines in mind? Thank you, Idania.
 
Back
Top