Two Questions About Regulated Numbers and Handling Remission

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daddy Jack's Mommy (GA)

Member Since 2019
Hello. I have a couple of questions here. First, what do regulated numbers look like? If a sugar baby feline remains in blues and greens, is that regulated?
Also, when a cat is moving towards remission, should he continue to receive small doses until he's reached that 14 days at 120? Or, should shots stop before that?
Thanks in advance!
~ Carolyn
 
I think remission is 14 days of skipped doses. Cats numbers must remain below 120 without the help of insulin. Mine recently had a good streak of 7 days, but had a few stressors that brought his numbers up enough to need another drop and restart the clock. Mine is on Vetsulin so you might have a different protocol to reach remission on Prozinc.

Not treated - BG typically above 300 mg/dL [16.7 mmol/L]. Poor clinical signs.
Treated but not regulated - BG often above 300 mg/dL [16.7 mmol/L] and rarely near 100 mg/dL [5.6 mmol/L]. Poor clinical signs.
Regulated - BG generally below 300 mg/dL [16.7 mmol/L] with glucose nadir near 100 mg/dL [5.6 mmol/L]. Good clinical signs. No hypoglycemia.
Well regulated - BG generally below 200-250 mg/dL [11.1-13.9 mmol/L] and often near 100 mg/dL [5.6 mmol/L]. No hypoglycemia.
 
Not treated - BG typically above 300 mg/dL [16.7 mmol/L]. Poor clinical signs.
Treated but not regulated - BG often above 300 mg/dL [16.7 mmol/L] and rarely near 100 mg/dL [5.6 mmol/L]. Poor clinical signs.
Regulated - BG generally below 300 mg/dL [16.7 mmol/L] with glucose nadir near 100 mg/dL [5.6 mmol/L]. Good clinical signs. No hypoglycemia.
Well regulated - BG generally below 200-250 mg/dL [11.1-13.9 mmol/L] and often near 100 mg/dL [5.6 mmol/L]. No hypoglycemia.
Thank you!
 
I think remission is 14 days of skipped doses. Cats numbers must remain below 120 without the help of insulin. Mine recently had a good streak of 7 days, but had a few stressors that brought his numbers up enough to need another drop and restart the clock. Mine is on Vetsulin so you might have a different protocol to reach remission on Prozinc.
I see that you don't shoot Beast if his preshot number is under 120. Hmm... I still dose Jack when it's that low (smaller dose) because then he bounces up higher at the next dose if I don't. Beast is looking good, for sure!
 
Vetsulin is a hard hitting insulin. I shot him once just above 120 and the next morning he had a sprained paw. I wasn't sure if he went a little hypo so now I avoid it. If prozinc is a depot shot or if it is slower acting, I could see giving him a bit. I also have many failed test and that's why my spreadsheet looks like swiss cheese. His ears often won't bleed enough despite poking many times on both sides. Most likely cold ears, but he refuses to let me warm them with any method. Since his numbers are pretty good and don't raise fast, if I don't get a number I often won't shoot. He is usually pretty good a cycle or two after getting a shot so I don't stress too much about skipped doses. I am lucky he is responding so well. I'd be a ball of stress if he had high numbers and I couldn't reliably test.
 
Vetsulin is a hard hitting insulin. I shot him once just above 120 and the next morning he had a sprained paw. I wasn't sure if he went a little hypo so now I avoid it. If prozinc is a depot shot or if it is slower acting, I could see giving him a bit. I also have many failed test and that's why my spreadsheet looks like swiss cheese. His ears often won't bleed enough despite poking many times on both sides. Most likely cold ears, but he refuses to let me warm them with any method. Since his numbers are pretty good and don't raise fast, if I don't get a number I often won't shoot. He is usually pretty good a cycle or two after getting a shot so I don't stress too much about skipped doses. I am lucky he is responding so well. I'd be a ball of stress if he had high numbers and I couldn't reliably test.
What you're doing is obviously working for him. His numbers look great! And I understand being afraid to shoot if his number is too low. I skipped doses for the same reason. I'm just now becoming brave enough to shoot him when the number's low because I see that it doesn't take him too low mid cycle. But I watch him when I do it. And if I can't watch him, I skip it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top