TigersMom2
Member Since 2013
New and Old Glucose meter show difference of 10-20 pts using SAME large drop of blood from ear, also i use HUMAN glucometers which seem to show lower numbers than i think they really are; any suggestions? my main problem is when it shows too low i skip Lantus, but is it truly low? AND our AC broke so the house has been at 90, I hope this doesnt mess with my glucose sticks, JUST got wall AC unit, but it doesnt work all that great.
see below for history:
3 cats, 1 cat diagnosed a few months ago. under control with 2 units lantus twice a day.
used to do all 3 cats BG (blood glucose) every few days as a good ref point. normal cats were in the 60's through 80's pretty much any time i checked.
.........................................................................................Diabetic cat in the 100'2 to 200's
ALL 3 cats have recently transitioned to ALL Wellness grain free food (no more hard food, no more cheap food) & cooked chicken is used for a "Treat"
at first, the two normals were in the 80's and Diabetic cat in the 100's.
after a few weeks of all Wellness all three cats showed BG in the 60's. NOW I REALIZE THEY MAY SEEM LOWER ON THE METER CUZ I USE A PEOPLE BG METER, SO I'M NOT PANICKING SINCE ALL THREE CATS ARE THEIR USUAL PLAYFUL SELVES.
I've been using a FreeStyle Lite, so last night I go buy a Relion Micro. HERE"S what I got
8-12-13
5:55 pm NEW METER BG diabetic 31, NormalA 47, Normal2 43 5:55 PM, , new meter, before meal
OLD METER= 42 for diabetic cat (SKIPPED LANTUS)
8:14 PM, after meal DIABETIC CAT 41, NormalA 53, NormalB 46 8:14 PM (skipped lantus)
8-13-13, 8:45 AM ,after meal Diabetic cat, NEW METER 73 , NormalA 52, I skipped his shots last night & this AM
.....................Diabetic cat Old meter 91
see below for history:
3 cats, 1 cat diagnosed a few months ago. under control with 2 units lantus twice a day.
used to do all 3 cats BG (blood glucose) every few days as a good ref point. normal cats were in the 60's through 80's pretty much any time i checked.
.........................................................................................Diabetic cat in the 100'2 to 200's
ALL 3 cats have recently transitioned to ALL Wellness grain free food (no more hard food, no more cheap food) & cooked chicken is used for a "Treat"
at first, the two normals were in the 80's and Diabetic cat in the 100's.
after a few weeks of all Wellness all three cats showed BG in the 60's. NOW I REALIZE THEY MAY SEEM LOWER ON THE METER CUZ I USE A PEOPLE BG METER, SO I'M NOT PANICKING SINCE ALL THREE CATS ARE THEIR USUAL PLAYFUL SELVES.
I've been using a FreeStyle Lite, so last night I go buy a Relion Micro. HERE"S what I got
8-12-13
5:55 pm NEW METER BG diabetic 31, NormalA 47, Normal2 43 5:55 PM, , new meter, before meal
OLD METER= 42 for diabetic cat (SKIPPED LANTUS)
8:14 PM, after meal DIABETIC CAT 41, NormalA 53, NormalB 46 8:14 PM (skipped lantus)
8-13-13, 8:45 AM ,after meal Diabetic cat, NEW METER 73 , NormalA 52, I skipped his shots last night & this AM
.....................Diabetic cat Old meter 91