Tweety 2/11 AMPS 360 +2 313 +4 298 +6 305 +11 330 PMPS 367 +1 229 +2 291 +3 321

Teya and Tweety

Member Since 2024
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-386-5-242-8-288-pmps-326-2-333-3-290.286522/


Had a long talk with the vet tech yesterday and am no longer "reeling" from Fridays drop. Still wish this journey had more predictability in it. I would like to know the "why" behind Friday morning. What to watch for.

If anyone has time to look at her SS and insight I would appreciate it. Based on what others AND the tech said? I still do not see why it happened.

Libre 3 goes on today but I have to buy a newer phone. My old Android is too old. Dang. Found cheap refurbished one for $68 though!

Have a great day all. ~
 
Last edited:
Had a long talk with the vet tech yesterday and am no longer "reeling" from Fridays drop. Still wish this journey had more predictability in it. I would like to know the "why" behind Friday morning. What to watch for.

If anyone has time to look at her SS and insight I would appreciate it. Based on what others AND the tech said? I still do not see why it happened.

Libre 3 goes on today but I have to buy a newer phone. My old Android is too old. Dang. Found cheap refurbished one for $68 though!

Have a great day all. ~
@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-386-5-242-8-288-pmps-326-2-333-3-290.286522/

Overall I understand all of this is pretty unpredictable. But we can just do our best. They think 1u will be her number moving forward and big picture/ long term though.

They don't think she's a remission kitty. But "you never know."
Don't agree except for the unpredictable part and that's not specific to Tweety. Newly diagnosed, unregulated cats can be all over the place in terms of their numbers and not be totally predictable. Some cats take longer to get regulated. Now that you are home-testing and following a dosing method, it might make all the difference to getting Tweety regulated.

Like Wendy explained yesterday, a cat's insulin needs can and do go up and down. As for remission, Diane's Tyler and Rainbow Conti's Little man went into remission over 2 years after diagnosis. So anything is possible.

The vet said I really overdid the carbs. :( Said next time just half a can of higher carb wet food would've sufficed since Tweety was awake, hungry and alert. I panicked as I thought if I didn't act fast she go unconscious or worse.
It was understandable. We have all panicked when he have first encountered green and thrown carbs at them. And you had to leave the house, so better safe.



If anyone has time to look at her SS and insight I would appreciate it. Based on what others AND the tech said? I still do not see why it happened.
Tweety is still bouncing from the lows she saw on 2/9. Hopefully she will clear it today and give you better numbers. Next time you get a low on the Libre, try and get a reading with a meter. Sorry to keep harping on this, but you want to ensure that you are taking dosing decisions based on accurate results.
 
Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-386-5-242-8-288-pmps-326-2-333-3-290.286522/


Don't agree except for the unpredictable part and that's not specific to Tweety. Newly diagnosed, unregulated cats can be all over the place in terms of their numbers and not be totally predictable. Some cats take longer to get regulated. Now that you are home-testing and following a dosing method, it might make all the difference to getting Tweety regulated.

Like Wendy explained yesterday, a cat's insulin needs can and do go up and down. As for remission, Diane's Tyler and Rainbow Conti's Little man went into remission over 2 years after diagnosis. So anything is possible.


It was understandable. We have all panicked when he have first encountered green and thrown carbs at them. And you had to leave the house, so better safe.




Tweety is still bouncing from the lows she saw on 2/9. Hopefully she will clear it today and give you better numbers. Next time you get a low on the Libre, try and get a reading with a meter. Sorry to keep harping on this, but you want to ensure that you are taking dosing decisions based on accurate results.

Thank you -- yes there is so much to learn and there will be differing opinions and choices. I am still very suprised though, that "periodic checking" was ok with both vets. Meaning, you check a couple times a week to ensure they are doing fine with the dose. I don't quite get that now that I have learned so much.

I acttually do have iPet glucometer and checked her, but not until after the food when I was thinking slightly more clearly. I will do my best to truly remain calm if we have another incident. As the tech said, she was not unconscious. She was happily eating and to simply giver her half a can of higher carb wet food. I think Tylers mom said FF Gravy/Grilled so I grabbed 4 cans to have on hand. As for the honey and kibble? I will act as if they do not exist. :)

Do you know where I can get the acronym sheets again? Wendy sent me a link ages ago and I cannot find the bookmark.
 
I am still very suprised though, that "periodic checking" was ok with both vets. Meaning, you check a couple times a week to ensure they are doing fine with the dose. I don't quite get that now that I have learned so much.
Yes, it's hard not to test them several times every day once you get the importance of it. But very few people with diabetic cats actually do that. I guess that's also the reason that most vets prefer to keep cats at a dose where they do not drop below 150 or even 200. Even if that means, they don't get a chance to get regulated or go into remission.

Do you know where I can get the acronym sheets again? Wendy sent me a link ages ago and I cannot find the bookmark.
Here you go:
 
True fact, the most common phrase used by caregivers of recently diagnosed cats is "my cat's numbers are all over the place". You are in good company.

Now that you are gathering data on how Tweety uses the insulin, it will become easier over time to see what her patterns are. Patterns tend to happen over multiple cycles. I used to spend some before bed each night, trying to see patterns of numbers. Hubby called it "reading the tea leaves". :p Mostly I was trying to figure out if I needed to set an overnight alarm or whether it was safe to sleep through the night. But this exercise and the one I started later I called "guess the BG" helped me learn patterns. It's harder with a Libre as you are getting data all the time, but when hand testing I would look at the spreadsheet and guess what the number would be before I tested.

Over the last couple days, starting the PM of the 8th, I see an all night slide down from pink PMPS to blue AMPS. As I explained earlier that all cycle slide with later nadir and blue PS an be the sign of a bounce breaking cycle. Which she did in style the following cycle. Followed by too much carbs (we all do it at first) and the bounce starting. During a bounce, numbers wobble around and don't really tell you much. You just have to wait it out. Bounces can last up to 6 cycles but over time bounces will take less time to resolve, as she gets more used to normal BG numbers again.

The other reason some vets might not stress the importance of testing is that they've probably had a number of caregivers who don't want to "bother" and decide they don't want to treat the cat.:(
 
Yes, it's hard not to test them several times every day once you get the importance of it. But very few people with diabetic cats actually do that. I guess that's also the reason that most vets prefer to keep cats at a dose where they do not drop below 150 or even 200. Even if that means, they don't get a chance to get regulated or go into remission.


Here you go:
Thank you so much. I'll bookmark the pages in Tweetys online folder today.

I appreciate all of your help so much. I'm hoping to understand/ it all to come together sooner than later. I'm feeling overwhelmed, but I know in my heart I'm doing the best I can right now.

I'll make a list of things that are not clear and see where I can find info. Likely, it's all in these threads and or in the post it's.
I'll get started later when I've got the brain space.

I'm very happy to have the Freestyle 3 on her now. No more scanning especially while I'm in job training this week still.

Have a great day and thank you again.
 
True fact, the most common phrase used by caregivers of recently diagnosed cats is "my cat's numbers are all over the place". You are in good company.

Now that you are gathering data on how Tweety uses the insulin, it will become easier over time to see what her patterns are. Patterns tend to happen over multiple cycles. I used to spend some before bed each night, trying to see patterns of numbers. Hubby called it "reading the tea leaves". :p Mostly I was trying to figure out if I needed to set an overnight alarm or whether it was safe to sleep through the night. But this exercise and the one I started later I called "guess the BG" helped me learn patterns. It's harder with a Libre as you are getting data all the time, but when hand testing I would look at the spreadsheet and guess what the number would be before I tested.

Over the last couple days, starting the PM of the 8th, I see an all night slide down from pink PMPS to blue AMPS. As I explained earlier that all cycle slide with later nadir and blue PS an be the sign of a bounce breaking cycle. Which she did in style the following cycle. Followed by too much carbs (we all do it at first) and the bounce starting. During a bounce, numbers wobble around and don't really tell you much. You just have to wait it out. Bounces can last up to 6 cycles but over time bounces will take less time to resolve, as she gets more used to normal BG numbers again.

The other reason some vets might not stress the importance of testing is that they've probably had a number of caregivers who don't want to "bother" and decide they don't want to treat the cat.:(

I'll definitely be saving this info and will create my own little at home "book" for now. It's a lot and I'm trying to get it. Thank you for being ok with constantly repeating yourself. Sometimes I just get analysis paralysis and nothing more can get stored. Believe it or not... what you just said about the bouncing, later nadir, side from pink to blue overnight had a light bulb go off. Now... I don't know what that light bulb is yet lol but I know something just clicked into place to look for. So I've gotta come back later and read. When I see that, I don't recall what I'm supposed to do. I'm guessing, catch her slide down before going hypo. Or if hypo do not carb load. Either way it seems you've gotta lower the insulin dose though. So when she's looking like the 8th/9th I see what you're meaning now but no idea what I'd do differently other than I would not last her up with carbs.

Welp I'm rambling. Thank you again so much. I'll be back on later. I'm eager to see how the Freestyle 3 goes while I'm at work.

Have a wonderful day!
 
. I think Tylers mom said FF Gravy/Grilled so I grabbed 4 cans to have on hand


The fancy feast grilled varieties are all medium carbs 12-15 carbs.
You can also get some of these for your hypo kit if you ever need them
Med and High Carb food



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

@Teya and Tweety
 
Back
Top