Turtle Update - always blue these days!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Avery

Member
I want to check in with Turtle's progress. I've updated her spreadsheet.

Two weeks ago I took her to the Vet to get my meters compared with hers. I was using FreeStyle Light and Relion and getting much lower numbers on the Freestyle, so I wanted to compare.

Of course she was high because she always goes up when she goes to the Vet. The Freestyle said 231, the Relion 377. The Vet's AlphaTrak said 370. Their blood machine said 426, so the Vet concluded that if I used the Relion I should add about 50 points to my readings.

I have had no problems doing so except when she started going pretty low. I wasn't sure that the 50-points added necessarily applied to lower numbers. So I have been watching her carefully. One day she had pretty bad diarrhea and her numbers dropped pretty low, into the 40's on the Relion. When I added 50 points I got 90 but I still was nervous. Fortunately it was her lunchtime and I gave her her regular meal plus some extra (regular lo-carb). She seemed extra hungry, which was her only hypo symptom, if that's what it was. She came up pretty good after that. I reduced her dose to .8u. The next day was a similar scenario but since then her mid-cycle numbers have come up somewhat, into 60s and 70s before adding the 50 points. Some of that was the diarrhea I'm sure but I have kept her on that reduced dose since then.

She seems to be feeling great. I feel like I"m finally seeing a slight improvement in her neuropathy - sometimes she jumps down from furniture without going to the step-stool first and her back legs seem a little stronger.

You'll notice that I'm regularly injecting Turtle into pre-shots under 200. My Vet and I have discussed this and she is of the opinion that any number over 100 is OK to shoot, since based on past numbers Turtle does not drop drastically mid-day and she always has a meal around her lowest point. So far this is always the case, but I can't say I don't feel some trepidation about this since it goes against all advice on this board.

My Vet understands my concern and has given me her blessing to reduce Turtle to .5u should I feel very nervous about it on a day when I'm going to be at work all day and cannot monitor her. However, she is very positive about her low numbers and considers that we are on the road to getting her regulated.

Any thoughts?
-Avery
 
She looks regulated to me. Good job.

It would make me nervous shooting into a non diabetic number and you are getting pretty close in the 120's. But that's just me I guess.
 
WOW!! Turtle is looking awesome!
I would be nervous but you have been doing it and she doesnt have a large drop so
I would say keep it up! with caution!
 
Actually it's okay to shoot under 200 IF you know how your.cat will react. Experienced sugar dancers have a lower no shoot, usuallu around 150 or so. Turtle looks great-just keep an eye out especially on lower ps's.
 
Thanks, everyone! That's pretty much what I'm thinking - hopeful but cautious. Last night and this morning I gave her .6u instead of .8u.
Thanks!
 
Hi Avery!

You're sort of doing things the way I did towards the end of Bob's dance. I regularly shot blues (even shot a couple of greens), but like you, I had a good feel for what to expect. Dropping to .6 was a good call. Don't be afraid to keep dropping as long as you don't see the numbers come up. You can also try the test, feed, test again method.
Pick a preshot where you can skip the shot. Like if you get around 100 or so. Then feed, test again in 60-90 minutes at which time you should see a climb. Then wait another hour to see if it drops any. If so, then his pancreas is working. Maybe not 100%, but trying. Then if his numbers continue to climb, go back to shooting at the next normally scheduled time. I reduced Bob to .25 bid and then just stopped shooting one day, and it "took". Keep us posted!

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top