Tucker PMPS 144...same dose?

Tucker's Mama CS

Member Since 2019
Hi again,

Tucker is in his second week on Levemir, and has been receiving 2 units BID since Sunday evening. All numbers yesterday and this morning were in the low to mid 300's (roughly)...now his PMPS was 144.....should I shoot the same dose?

Tagging @Wendy&Neko because you're always such a great help. Thanks!
 
Here is the link to your last post, for continuity http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-567-3-600-4-575-5-600-help.212345/

As for tonight, what is your ability to monitor? For new kitties on this forum and following SLGS, 144 is a bit low to shoot full dose. However, Lev kitties nadir that Lantus, so you are more likely to have a lower preshot.

Have you fed yet? If not, stall, do not feed, and test again in 20 minutes to see if he is on his way up or down.
 
Here is the link to your last post, for continuity http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-567-3-600-4-575-5-600-help.212345/

As for tonight, what is your ability to monitor? For new kitties on this forum and following SLGS, 144 is a bit low to shoot full dose. However, Lev kitties nadir that Lantus, so you are more likely to have a lower preshot.

Have you fed yet? If not, stall, do not feed, and test again in 20 minutes to see if he is on his way up or down.
Thank you @Wendy&Neko. Yes, he has eaten. I can re-check as often as needed tonight. I have a big school project I am working on so I am sure I will be up until midnight. So maybe retest shortly and see where he's at?
 
Good for you for shooting. Looks like he is bouncing, might have been a bit lower during the day than he is used to.
Okay, I will continue to check on him every hour until I go to bed. I informed the vet (via message through his staff) of his numbers and that I increased to 2 units BID, and have not heard back from him yet, so I suppose I will continue with the 2 units BID....what do you think? I so appreciate all of your help @Wendy&Neko !
 
Tagging isn't working for me, but Wendy, could you please look at Tucker's numbers and see if you think I should continue with the 2 units BID or possibly decrease a smidge? Thank you!!

I am going to try to hold out until 1 am to get another reading, which will be rough since I wake up at 5 for work lol.
 
Sorry Indidn’t respond earlier. Life intervened with a coach boat motor failure. Yes, continue the dose for now. With SLGS, you want to see nadirs between 90 and 149, which you are seeing now.
 
Sorry Indidn’t respond earlier. Life intervened with a coach boat motor failure. Yes, continue the dose for now. With SLGS, you want to see nadirs between 90 and 149, which you are seeing now.
No need to ever apologize for life intervening! I just appreciate your help. I am going to try to get one more reading before bed. It scares me since I am gone all day for work and cannot do any spot checks.
 
Back
Top