Tucker dosing thread 6

AMPS 308 1.5
@Deb & Wink I'm thinking I could/should increase again to 1.75 for tomorrow 9/12 AM shot. I'll be home so I can test and monitor him throughout the day. Whatcha think?
Question. So, if I increase to 1.75u 9/12 for AM shot, check him mid cycle and he drops to that 91 bg again, but bounces PMPS into the 300s again. If I reduce dose 0.25 to 1.5 for the PM shot. Test PM cycle, and stays high. Could I try to 1.75u shot 7/13 again for AM cycle is his AMPS BGs are ok? It just seems like a struggle to get him out of the yellow and pinks.
 
Last edited:
Two choices for you Jami.

1. If Tucker drops to that 90-91 range again, hold the dose and do not reduce UNLESS he drops even lower than the 90's. Into the 80's or the 70's. So yes, increase again to the 1.75U dose for 9/12/20. And hold that 1.75U dose for subsequent cycles if you can. Set the reduction point a bit lower than it has been. Instead of 90, try 80.

2. If Tucker drops to that 90-91 range again, decrease the dose by the 0.25U amount.

You want Tucker to not only get out of those pinks and yellows, but spending more time in the blues and greens during the mid-cycles. Every time you decrease when you drop to that low 90 range, Tucker bounces up again and stays in the pinks and yellows for several days at the reduced dose. I think you need to "bite the bullet" and wait until he drops into the 80's before you do another reduction. My recommendation is a bit more aggressive than my previous suggestions have been. Less conservative.

Trying to tailor the guidelines a bit more to how Tucker is doing. It's why I'm suggesting you lower the reduction point from the standard protocol guidelines of <90 for a reduction.

But the choice is yours Jami.
 
1. If Tucker drops to that 90-91 range again, hold the dose and do not reduce UNLESS he drops even lower than the 90's. Into the 80's or the 70's. So yes, increase again to the 1.75U dose for 9/12/20. And hold that 1.75U dose for subsequent cycles if you can. Set the reduction point a bit lower than it has been. Instead of 90, try 80.
Excellent advice!! Thank you!
My recommendation is a bit more aggressive than my previous suggestions have been. Less conservative.

Trying to tailor the guidelines a bit more to how Tucker is doing. It's why I'm suggesting you lower the reduction point from the standard protocol guidelines of <90 for a reduction.
I agree. I feel as though the general guidelines weren't doing Tucker any justice. I'd LOVE to see more blues and green on his sheet.

AMPS BG 315 1.75u
 
So.. even with the 1.75u dose today, Tuck still ran pretty high. I'm really worried that he'll have kidney failure like my other 2 sugar kitties. They weren't treated btw. Smh.. I was young and lived with my parents!
 
@Shelley & Jess whats up with your digital calipers? Does it help with smaller doses of insulin? As a person who weighs their food in grams.. I'm interested in this! Do tell!
Looking for some peace of mind cuz of the seriously wonky lines I've been getting lately. I can usually judge by where the plunger bottoms out on the zero line but with this last batch of syringes some of the lines aren't quite straight and/or plunger not even close to the zero line. With such a small dose it's really frustrating and stressful.
ETA - The calipers have been a tremendous help!

Awesome info here:
Info Dosing with calipers updated w/videos
 
Last edited:
Tucker hit 83 BG today @ +6 I gave him a tsp of FF naturals which has 0 carbs and a 0 carb treat, he bounced to 121 BG 20 min later. My dose reduction breaking point is now 80. I'll take more tests tonight to see how he does.
 
Looking for some peace of mind cuz of the seriously wonky lines I've been getting lately. I can usually judge by where the plunger bottoms out on the zero line but with this last batch of syringes some of the lines aren't quite straight and/or plunger not even close to the zero line. With such a small dose it's really frustrating and stressful.
ETA - The calipers have been a tremendous help!

Awesome info here:
Info Dosing with calipers updated w/videos
DANG! I saw on your ss you were only giving 1u. I was thinking, how is she doing this dose!
Thank you for the link!!
 
Hey Jami!!!! We're all entitled to "meltdowns".

I probably have one or two a week, simply from reading the news. Then I get myself back on track and keep telling myself "It's going to be ok Deb. Your fine, really you are. You can handle this. Calm down and do those deep breathing exercises you're always telling people about."

Down to 83 and a couple of lower blues which is what you want to see. Keep telling yourself that those greens and blues are good numbers to see, giving Tucker's pancreas time to rest and heal. Then the bounce up to the reds. Come back down Tucker!

DANG! I saw on your ss you were only giving 1u. I was thinking, how is she doing this dose!
Shelley isn't giving Jess 1U of insulin. She is giving 0.1U, a truly tiny amount and definitely a wise move to use calipers to measure those tiny doses.
 
I probably have one or two a week, simply from reading the news. Then I get myself back on track and keep telling myself "It's going to be ok Deb. Your fine, really you are. You can handle this. Calm down and do those deep breathing exercises you're always telling people about."
I was telling my husband how unsettled I felt about all the things that are going on. I just wonder whats going to happen in the next few months. The birth/earth pains keep getting stronger!
Shelley isn't giving Jess 1U of insulin. She is giving 0.1U, a truly tiny amount and definitely a wise move to use calipers to measure those tiny doses.
Oh!! I miss typed in my comment. I meant 0.1u, :facepalm:
Down to 83 and a couple of lower blues which is what you want to see. Keep telling yourself that those greens and blues are good numbers to see, giving Tucker's pancreas time to rest and heal. Then the bounce up to the reds. Come back down Tucker!
IKR! I need to get used to seeing those number! I was excited to see them today. I have to work today, I wish I could be home to get more tests.
 
Teach hubbie to test. Everyone needs a backup person, and he could be it.
I thought about that. I have a feeling he wont want to. I'll ask. :) He doesn't want to do much with the cats, but he does make one heck of a stay at home husband! (works from home now) House is spotless when I get home! He even makes the bed in the morning!! :joyful:

OK. PMPS was 188 BG. :) @Deb & Wink do you think I should have just given he normal 1.75u?? I've seen other prozinc SS on here where ppl have lower BG PS, but dont give a dose reduction. I know.. ECID, LOL I haven't dealt too much with the lower PS numbers before. Hopefully this will be a new thing for us!! I had my cheat sheet of the "lower than normal preshot numbers' posted on the cabinet. With the options I had I went with the token dose and gave 0.5u. Fed, retested 2 hours later 365 bg. This morning AMPS 274 1.75u.
 
The spreadsheet on my phone and computer are really lagging. Not saving the data that I enter. Theres an asteroid that is really close right now to earth.. The dust from that asteroid is entering the atmosphere and causing internet disruption AND wildfires. (brimstone dust) I'm going to blame it on that, LOL
 
It's ok to lower the decision threshold (aka shoot/no shoot, skip, stall) BG level as you gain data on YOUR cat.

I think you could lower that threshold to 180 and be fine.
BUT, Tucker earned a dose reduction with that 83 BG level on 9/13.
 
Set the reduction point a bit lower than it has been. Instead of 90, try 80.
BUT, Tucker earned a dose reduction with that 83 BG level on 9/13.

I thought 83 was close, but.... :confused: It was funny.. we JUST decided to go with the lower set reduction point! LOL!

I worried if I reduced him back down to 1.5u, then he would continue on with this forever holding yellows and pinks.

So, reduce back to 1.5u for his PMPS shot?
 
I was unable to get the tests I wanted to get for Tucker today. I had a DR appointment for my hip. I have an order to get an MRI on Monday which I already scheduled. I got home, tested Tuck 246 +3 then my hubby and I went to the park for a couple of hours to enjoy the 73 sunny day. Tucker tested 177+9, I'm guessing he was lower earlier but I wasn't able to get that test. Tomorrow will be a better test day! @Deb & Wink You are only one hour ahead of me!! I'm in Missouri. ;):):bighug:
 
You have to take care of yourself too Jami. If you're not looking out for you, who else will?
I have this quote posted on my fridge:
"did u take care of urself today? eat something? drink water? do something that makes u happy? allowed urself to feel whatever ur feeling? huh?? DO IT!"

Not so many warmer sunny days left, so take advantage of them. Fall is starting Monday!

Might only be 1 hour ahead of you, but I have an early bedtime. Old age you know!;)
 
AMPS 284 1.75u
You have to take care of yourself too Jami. If you're not looking out for you, who else will?
I have this quote posted on my fridge:
"did u take care of urself today? eat something? drink water? do something that makes u happy? allowed urself to feel whatever ur feeling? huh?? DO IT!"
True! I just feel like on my days off I should stay home and test him more. I'm really hopeful to get Tucker into remission.
I might have to post that on my fridge as well!! Thank you for that!
Not so many warmer sunny days left, so take advantage of them. Fall is starting Monday!
FALL!!! My favorite time of the year! Yesterday was gorgeous! I don't do very well in the heat 80 or above. So I try to cherish these cooler days.
Might only be 1 hour ahead of you, but I have an early bedtime. Old age you know!;)
HAHA!! Good for you! Early to bed, early to rise! I"m in bed by 730, lights out by 8. I love my bed time!!
 
You can tell that old age is setting in, because I got the wrong day for fall starting. It's not Monday, but Tuesday. I think. Yup, I double checked and the Autumnal Equinox is the 22nd this year.
HAHAA!! How funny!! I thought it was on the 21st as well! Thanks for telling me otherwise!
This was the original that someone else re-posted. I printed it out, little duckie and all.
Did You Take Care of Yourself Today?
Thank you!! I'm going to print this out! Little duckie is adorable!

AMPS 261 1.75. Again not much testing yesterday 9/19. The WEATHER!! We have a lot of farmer stores and orchards around here. We journeyed out early afternoon and was gone until about 4pm. I'm assuming Tucker dipped lower than his 118 as he bounced to 385 for his pmps.
Today the Chiefs play at 315pm. I'm sure we'll be home most of the day to watch football pregame things. :joyful:
 
Good morning! :coffee::)
AMPS 269 1.75u. @Deb & Wink I"m thinking about increasing to 2.0u tomorrow 9/24 morning. What do you think?
Oh! I had my MRI of my left hip on Monday. Labrum tear and acetabular impingement, strain of the gluteus medius and minimus ligament. I have a piece of extra bone extending off my femoral head that is constantly rubbing my joint.. Ugh.. I really do NOT want to have surgery! At least they can probably do it arthroscopic.. just shave that extra bone fragment off and call it a day! I'm glad that it showed this so I know I'm not crazy! LOL
 
Last edited:
Yes, I can agree with a dose increase to 2U.Thursday am,9/24/20 is fine.
Tucker still isn't seeing enough green range BG numbers to keep the dose as is.

Sorry to hear about the hip issue, but at least you know what is going on now. You even thought the labrum was torn, so you made that call right.

Icing my knee tonight, since I did too much gardening today, and it's swollen. Not enough level surfaces in my yard, and the cobblestone walkway is very painful to walk on when the knee is like this. Doesn't want to fully bend, and that always hurts with each step. Should be better tomorrow or in a few days. Just wish it would "unlock" so I could get full extension, and not be "hobbling" around.
 
Icing my knee tonight, since I did too much gardening today, and it's swollen. Not enough level surfaces in my yard, and the cobblestone walkway is very painful to walk on when the knee is like this. Doesn't want to fully bend, and that always hurts with each step. Should be better tomorrow or in a few days. Just wish it would "unlock" so I could get full extension, and not be "hobbling" around.
Oh no!! EEk. It kind of sounds like a meniscus issue! Probably posterior meniscus since you cant bend your knee. Have you ever used arnica gel/cream or Biofreeze? That stuff really helps with pain relief.
Sorry to hear about the hip issue, but at least you know what is going on now. You even thought the labrum was torn, so you made that call right.
Thank you.. I've seen a lot of injuries over the years in MRI. Matching symptoms to the diagnosis.. :)
Yes, I can agree with a dose increase to 2U.Thursday am,9/24/20 is fine.
Tucker still isn't seeing enough green range BG numbers to keep the dose as is.
:facepalm: I FORGOT to give the increase this morning!! DOH! I'll increase him tonight 9/24 for his pm shot.
How many days should I continue a cycle before we warrant a dose change?
 
FORGOT to give the increase this morning!! DOH! I'll increase him tonight 9/24 for his pm shot.
How many days should I continue a cycle before we warrant a dose change?
You are doing SLGS protocol, so technically increases should be done after 7 days, 14 cycles.
But if you aren't seeing good numbers, and can test, you can increase the dose faster than that.
Tucker isn't seeing enough blues, let along greens at nadir. So a bit faster with the dose increases may help him.

Forgetful? You? Unbelievable!!!! Hope you remember the 2U dose in the AM too. Perhaps put a sticky note on the insulin vial/pen to remind yourself?

I have Biofreeze. I have a TENS unit for my sciatica. I have a heating wrap that goes right around my knee. I have Colpaks that stay pliable in the fridge for icing the knee. This knee issue has been around for a long time. Keep being told there is nothing wrong with the miniscus. Did PT and that gave me other issues (the sciatica). Didn't really gain much pain relief. But if I keep up with my strengthening exercises, the knee doesn't "lock up" on me so often. Problem is, when it hurts, I tend to limp and that throws off the hip, and everything else. So I keep telling myself, reminding myself "don't limp, walk normally, don't limp, walk normally."
 
Forgetful? You? Unbelievable!!!! Hope you remember the 2U dose in the AM too. Perhaps put a sticky note on the insulin vial/pen to remind yourself?
HAHAAA!!!! This IS getting pretty ridiculous, my memory that is! He was given 2.0u this am. :)
I have Biofreeze. I have a TENS unit for my sciatica. I have a heating wrap that goes right around my knee. I have Colpaks that stay pliable in the fridge for icing the knee. This knee issue has been around for a long time. Keep being told there is nothing wrong with the miniscus. Did PT and that gave me other issues (the sciatica). Didn't really gain much pain relief. But if I keep up with my strengthening exercises, the knee doesn't "lock up" on me so often. Problem is, when it hurts, I tend to limp and that throws off the hip, and everything else. So I keep telling myself, reminding myself "don't limp, walk normally, don't limp, walk normally."
YOU are prepared!! You remind me SO much of my birth mother! I just met her 3 years ago. Anyways.. Did they give you any other diagnosis? Yeah, limping around isnt good.. now my knee hurts from my gait being off. :rolleyes:
 
Yes, Tucker is bouncing this AM looks like. Hope the BG levels settle down in a couple more cycles, after this dose increase.
Some days, I can't remember the day of the week. Although, I put that down to being retired, and not needing to remember most days. Kept thinking yesterday was Friday, but it was only Thursday. ;) So little reminders like a note on the bottle of insulin or with your meter seemed like a good suggestion to pass along.

Did they give you any other diagnosis? Yeah, limping around isnt good.. now my knee hurts from my gait being off.
I've had arthritis in my knees for decades. But when it gets "stuck" it hurts like you wouldn't believe, and I have to tell myself "don't limp" with every step. Makes the sciatica flare up, and the hip bursitis gets painful if I limp too much. So I totally understand where you are coming from on your Hip issue throwing off your gait. Sometimes I can move the joint just right, and get it to "snap back" into place. Sometimes, it happens overnight when I'm sleeping, like the knee resolved itself last night, feeling SO MUCH better this AM.

The "knee bone is connected to the thigh bone, the thigh bone is connected to the hip bone, the hip bone is connected to the backbone."
 
Yes, Tucker is bouncing this AM looks like. Hope the BG levels settle down in a couple more cycles, after this dose increase.
I really hope we can start seeing more greens and blues! I wonder if a change in insulin is needed? I had a patient yesterday who is a Vet. I was able to pick her brain a little bit. She thought after three months with not that much of a response in BG levels, then I should consider a change of insulin. I was considering Lantus. I just checked the price on Chewy and its $289!!
Although, I put that down to being retired
That would be hard! You're not having to bother writing down dates consistently. I would be a disaster LOL!
Sometimes, it happens overnight when I'm sleeping, like the knee resolved itself last night, feeling SO MUCH better this AM.
OH GOOD!! I"m glad you're getting relief! Yesterday I kept reminding myself of the phrase you tell yourself. "Don't limp, walk normal, dont limp, walk normal" Luckily I wasn't too busy. Normally on Fridays we run our butts off. Anyways. With the dont limp walk normal, my knee didn't hurt as much.
 
Last edited:
Get a prescription from your vet for Lantus. Then order the 5 pens from Marks Marine Pharmacy in Canada. Might take a while, but it's totally worth it. One of our members found this real human pharmacy several years ago, and it's highly recommended here. Get the pens, not the vial. The pens can be used to the last drop, while the vial can lose effectiveness before you've used it all up. 5 lantus insulin pens will last you more than a year.

They even have a temperature sensor in the package, and options for quicker shipping. Worth the extra cost too.

Cost is MUCH less than buying in the US. Here is the link for you to the thread that talks about Marks.
Ordering Lantus, Basaglar, or Levemir from Canadian pharmacies

You use the pen like a miniature vial, using an insulin syringe to withdraw the tiny doses that our cats need. Not the dial a dose feature, since that usually only adjusts in whole unit increments. Good for humans, not so good for our tiny kitties.

Glad my tip on not limping helped your knee feel a bit better. It's a trick I learned, but I have to have this mantra running through my head sometimes to remember to not limp. If I limp too much, it often causes the sciatica to flare up.
 
Oh my gosh!!! Thank you Deb! Excellent information!
Glad my tip on not limping helped your knee feel a bit better
And my hip! I did a lot of stretching yesterday. That really seemed to help. I sat a lot though.. I'm working my Project Warmth. I'm going to try to crochet 50 warm hats, or as many as possible by November, for children in our Kansas City area that otherwise cannot afford warm items for the winter months. I made 5 yesterday. Today is supposed to be rainy so a nice day to sit around again and whip up some more.
 
535 pmps. Smh.. I dont have a lot of testing strips left. I cant buy anymore until payday Friday . I'm sure he dropped today but I didn't catch it. He seemed very playful and energetic today.
 
20201004_183918.jpg
My buddy!
 

Attachments

  • 20201004_183918.jpg
    20201004_183918.jpg
    51.3 KB · Views: 190
Rationing test strips are you Jami? Sorry to hear that.
Then the most important tests to get are the pre-shot tests of course, to make sure that Tucker's BG levels are high enough to give him the insulin in the first place.

How is your hip feeling?
 
Rationing test strips are you Jami? Sorry to hear that.
:( Yep. Thank you. Its a bummer for sure.
Then the most important tests to get are the pre-shot tests of course, to make sure that Tucker's BG levels are high enough to give him the insulin in the first place.
Right.. I really didn't get a lot of data for mid cycles this week. We had some financial burdens pop up which enabled me to buy more strips. At least I have enough, plus a few, to last me to friday.
 
Back
Top