Youre welcome!! I need you here hon! Sorry I didn't do this earlier!Found you. Thanks for the link to the new thread.
Excellent advice!! Thank you!1. If Tucker drops to that 90-91 range again, hold the dose and do not reduce UNLESS he drops even lower than the 90's. Into the 80's or the 70's. So yes, increase again to the 1.75U dose for 9/12/20. And hold that 1.75U dose for subsequent cycles if you can. Set the reduction point a bit lower than it has been. Instead of 90, try 80.
I agree. I feel as though the general guidelines weren't doing Tucker any justice. I'd LOVE to see more blues and green on his sheet.My recommendation is a bit more aggressive than my previous suggestions have been. Less conservative.
Trying to tailor the guidelines a bit more to how Tucker is doing. It's why I'm suggesting you lower the reduction point from the standard protocol guidelines of <90 for a reduction.
OK. I was having one of my moments last night, LOL I know that it will take some time to get Tucker regulated. At least he is being treated and we are on the right path.So.. even with the 1.75u dose today, Tuck still ran pretty high. I'm really worried that he'll have kidney failure like my other 2 sugar kitties.
Looking for some peace of mind cuz of the seriously wonky lines I've been getting lately. I can usually judge by where the plunger bottoms out on the zero line but with this last batch of syringes some of the lines aren't quite straight and/or plunger not even close to the zero line. With such a small dose it's really frustrating and stressful.@Shelley & Jess whats up with your digital calipers? Does it help with smaller doses of insulin? As a person who weighs their food in grams.. I'm interested in this! Do tell!
DANG! I saw on your ss you were only giving 1u. I was thinking, how is she doing this dose!Looking for some peace of mind cuz of the seriously wonky lines I've been getting lately. I can usually judge by where the plunger bottoms out on the zero line but with this last batch of syringes some of the lines aren't quite straight and/or plunger not even close to the zero line. With such a small dose it's really frustrating and stressful.
ETA - The calipers have been a tremendous help!
Awesome info here:
Info Dosing with calipers updated w/videos
Shelley isn't giving Jess 1U of insulin. She is giving 0.1U, a truly tiny amount and definitely a wise move to use calipers to measure those tiny doses.DANG! I saw on your ss you were only giving 1u. I was thinking, how is she doing this dose!
I was telling my husband how unsettled I felt about all the things that are going on. I just wonder whats going to happen in the next few months. The birth/earth pains keep getting stronger!I probably have one or two a week, simply from reading the news. Then I get myself back on track and keep telling myself "It's going to be ok Deb. Your fine, really you are. You can handle this. Calm down and do those deep breathing exercises you're always telling people about."
Oh!! I miss typed in my comment. I meant 0.1u,Shelley isn't giving Jess 1U of insulin. She is giving 0.1U, a truly tiny amount and definitely a wise move to use calipers to measure those tiny doses.
IKR! I need to get used to seeing those number! I was excited to see them today. I have to work today, I wish I could be home to get more tests.Down to 83 and a couple of lower blues which is what you want to see. Keep telling yourself that those greens and blues are good numbers to see, giving Tucker's pancreas time to rest and heal. Then the bounce up to the reds. Come back down Tucker!
Teach hubbie to test. Everyone needs a backup person, and he could be it.I have to work today, I wish I could be home to get more tests.
I thought about that. I have a feeling he wont want to. I'll ask.Teach hubbie to test. Everyone needs a backup person, and he could be it.
Set the reduction point a bit lower than it has been. Instead of 90, try 80.
BUT, Tucker earned a dose reduction with that 83 BG level on 9/13.
No, I'd say keep the dose at 1.75U. Tucker hasn't dropped below 80 yet. "Close but no cigar" as the saying goes.So, reduce back to 1.5u for his PMPS shot?
Thank you! I'll keep him there!No, I'd say keep the dose at 1.75U. Tucker hasn't dropped below 80 yet. "Close but no cigar" as the saying goes.
Never thought you'd be saying that huh?? LOLLooking forward to testing Tucker.
LOL!! IKR!Never thought you'd be saying that huh?? LOL
Thanks for the smile![]()
True! I just feel like on my days off I should stay home and test him more. I'm really hopeful to get Tucker into remission.You have to take care of yourself too Jami. If you're not looking out for you, who else will?
I have this quote posted on my fridge:
"did u take care of urself today? eat something? drink water? do something that makes u happy? allowed urself to feel whatever ur feeling? huh?? DO IT!"
FALL!!! My favorite time of the year! Yesterday was gorgeous! I don't do very well in the heat 80 or above. So I try to cherish these cooler days.Not so many warmer sunny days left, so take advantage of them. Fall is starting Monday!
HAHA!! Good for you! Early to bed, early to rise! I"m in bed by 730, lights out by 8. I love my bed time!!Might only be 1 hour ahead of you, but I have an early bedtime. Old age you know!![]()
HAHAA!! How funny!! I thought it was on the 21st as well! Thanks for telling me otherwise!You can tell that old age is setting in, because I got the wrong day for fall starting. It's not Monday, but Tuesday. I think. Yup, I double checked and the Autumnal Equinox is the 22nd this year.
Thank you!! I'm going to print this out! Little duckie is adorable!This was the original that someone else re-posted. I printed it out, little duckie and all.
Did You Take Care of Yourself Today?
Oh no!! EEk. It kind of sounds like a meniscus issue! Probably posterior meniscus since you cant bend your knee. Have you ever used arnica gel/cream or Biofreeze? That stuff really helps with pain relief.Icing my knee tonight, since I did too much gardening today, and it's swollen. Not enough level surfaces in my yard, and the cobblestone walkway is very painful to walk on when the knee is like this. Doesn't want to fully bend, and that always hurts with each step. Should be better tomorrow or in a few days. Just wish it would "unlock" so I could get full extension, and not be "hobbling" around.
Thank you.. I've seen a lot of injuries over the years in MRI. Matching symptoms to the diagnosis..Sorry to hear about the hip issue, but at least you know what is going on now. You even thought the labrum was torn, so you made that call right.
Yes, I can agree with a dose increase to 2U.Thursday am,9/24/20 is fine.
Tucker still isn't seeing enough green range BG numbers to keep the dose as is.
You are doing SLGS protocol, so technically increases should be done after 7 days, 14 cycles.FORGOT to give the increase this morning!! DOH! I'll increase him tonight 9/24 for his pm shot.
How many days should I continue a cycle before we warrant a dose change?
HAHAAA!!!! This IS getting pretty ridiculous, my memory that is! He was given 2.0u this am.Forgetful? You? Unbelievable!!!! Hope you remember the 2U dose in the AM too. Perhaps put a sticky note on the insulin vial/pen to remind yourself?
YOU are prepared!! You remind me SO much of my birth mother! I just met her 3 years ago. Anyways.. Did they give you any other diagnosis? Yeah, limping around isnt good.. now my knee hurts from my gait being off.I have Biofreeze. I have a TENS unit for my sciatica. I have a heating wrap that goes right around my knee. I have Colpaks that stay pliable in the fridge for icing the knee. This knee issue has been around for a long time. Keep being told there is nothing wrong with the miniscus. Did PT and that gave me other issues (the sciatica). Didn't really gain much pain relief. But if I keep up with my strengthening exercises, the knee doesn't "lock up" on me so often. Problem is, when it hurts, I tend to limp and that throws off the hip, and everything else. So I keep telling myself, reminding myself "don't limp, walk normally, don't limp, walk normally."
I've had arthritis in my knees for decades. But when it gets "stuck" it hurts like you wouldn't believe, and I have to tell myself "don't limp" with every step. Makes the sciatica flare up, and the hip bursitis gets painful if I limp too much. So I totally understand where you are coming from on your Hip issue throwing off your gait. Sometimes I can move the joint just right, and get it to "snap back" into place. Sometimes, it happens overnight when I'm sleeping, like the knee resolved itself last night, feeling SO MUCH better this AM.Did they give you any other diagnosis? Yeah, limping around isnt good.. now my knee hurts from my gait being off.
I really hope we can start seeing more greens and blues! I wonder if a change in insulin is needed? I had a patient yesterday who is a Vet. I was able to pick her brain a little bit. She thought after three months with not that much of a response in BG levels, then I should consider a change of insulin. I was considering Lantus. I just checked the price on Chewy and its $289!!Yes, Tucker is bouncing this AM looks like. Hope the BG levels settle down in a couple more cycles, after this dose increase.
That would be hard! You're not having to bother writing down dates consistently. I would be a disaster LOL!Although, I put that down to being retired
OH GOOD!! I"m glad you're getting relief! Yesterday I kept reminding myself of the phrase you tell yourself. "Don't limp, walk normal, dont limp, walk normal" Luckily I wasn't too busy. Normally on Fridays we run our butts off. Anyways. With the dont limp walk normal, my knee didn't hurt as much.Sometimes, it happens overnight when I'm sleeping, like the knee resolved itself last night, feeling SO MUCH better this AM.
And my hip! I did a lot of stretching yesterday. That really seemed to help. I sat a lot though.. I'm working my Project Warmth. I'm going to try to crochet 50 warm hats, or as many as possible by November, for children in our Kansas City area that otherwise cannot afford warm items for the winter months. I made 5 yesterday. Today is supposed to be rainy so a nice day to sit around again and whip up some more.Glad my tip on not limping helped your knee feel a bit better
Why do you think he dropped lower than 97 today?PMPS 484, Tucker must have dropped lower than 97 BG today after we left today. I got home 2 hours later and he tested 355.
After I posted that, I revisited his SS. Looks like last time he dipped into the 80's and 90s he had that bounce. I should have edited my earlier postWhy do you think he dropped lower than 97 today
Rationing test strips are you Jami? Sorry to hear that.
Right.. I really didn't get a lot of data for mid cycles this week. We had some financial burdens pop up which enabled me to buy more strips. At least I have enough, plus a few, to last me to friday.Then the most important tests to get are the pre-shot tests of course, to make sure that Tucker's BG levels are high enough to give him the insulin in the first place.
Its feeling really good.. right now at least LOL Not being at work and resting helps. Thanks for asking.How is your hip feeling?
Take care of yourself Jami, so you can take care of everyone else in your life that makes a difference and matters to you.Its feeling really good.. right now at least LOL Not being at work and resting helps. Thanks for asking.
Thank you hon!Take care of yourself Jami, so you can take care of everyone else in your life that makes a difference and matters to you.