Charlie'sMom22
Active Member
Hello!
As the title says, I'd like to figure out a threshold to either not shoot or cut the dose in half for my newly diagnosed Charlie. He was just diagnosed on Friday, and I had to skip the first two PM shots because I didn't have a glucose monitor (you can see that post here). Last night I gave a partial fur shot. This morning AMPS was below 200 and I wasn't sure what to do--I read somewhere that the no-shoot number for Lantus is 200 for beginners?
His numbers have been below 200 all day so I'm trying to get an answer on this before shot time at 10PM so I don't freak out about what to do. I live very far from any emergency vet so I'd like to be extra conservative.
A bit of quick context--
- He barely had any symptoms at diagnosis, it was found during bloodwork that I requested for constipation
- Vet said if he skips a meal to drop the dose from 2u to 1u
- I don't know what the numbers were at diagnosis and I don't have a lot of data yet
Thanks
As the title says, I'd like to figure out a threshold to either not shoot or cut the dose in half for my newly diagnosed Charlie. He was just diagnosed on Friday, and I had to skip the first two PM shots because I didn't have a glucose monitor (you can see that post here). Last night I gave a partial fur shot. This morning AMPS was below 200 and I wasn't sure what to do--I read somewhere that the no-shoot number for Lantus is 200 for beginners?
His numbers have been below 200 all day so I'm trying to get an answer on this before shot time at 10PM so I don't freak out about what to do. I live very far from any emergency vet so I'd like to be extra conservative.
A bit of quick context--
- He barely had any symptoms at diagnosis, it was found during bloodwork that I requested for constipation
- Vet said if he skips a meal to drop the dose from 2u to 1u
- I don't know what the numbers were at diagnosis and I don't have a lot of data yet
Thanks