Trying to understand Bouncing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bruce Wayne

Member Since 2021
So I have read a lot about bouncing from various threads , I’m not sure I totally understand.

(I have only a few strips left so I haven’t been able to do a whole curve in a while but I’ll be getting some more soon.)

Bruce had his first number in the 60s since all of this started. I think that’s a good sign? But also seems like something that could be scary.

Tomorrow I am going to get AMPS, +5, PMPS, +5 but I’m thinking I might need a lower does for morning and night. Maybe 3.25 or 3.0 instead of 3.5? It just seems like he has very high preshots for AM and PM but his lowest numbers are brief if at all. I’m assuming this pattern is a bounce but I don’t know what that means -practically- for us.

Any advice on his morning shot dose ? Any simplified advice for bouncing ? Is this something that curves properly with time or is he cursed w a bounce and may require 3 shots every 8 hours instead of 2 every 12?

Last note- not sure it’s important or not , he seems to thrive with 2 unit shot - behavioral wise. However - his BG is still out of control at that dose. Anyone run into that ?

Thank you in advance cat family !
 
You need to reduce, since he got below 68 on a pet meter.
And you really really need to do the tests before insulin, every single time.
And more testing during both cycles.

Bouncing is when a cat is in a lower number than usual, one he isn't used to, then the liver panics and release glucose because his liver THINKS he's too low.
You don't want to shoot every 8 hours, you need to test a lot more, specially around nadir +4/+5/+6 is where it usually is on prozinc.

But you absolutely need to take the reduction since he got below 68. But question is, if he needs a .50 reduction since you're low on strips.

@JanetNJ could you advise here?
 
Bouncing can happen when a cat drops too low, too fast or lower than he is used to. His body thinks it has to save itself and dumps stored glucose and regulatory hormones into his system and the BGs go up. Bouncing can last from 1 to 6 cycles. There is nothing you can do but wait it out.

Any BG under 68 on the alphatrak meter earns a reduction. Please don’t be complacent about that.
if you want to keep Bruce safe you need to be testing before every shot. And unless you are testing between the cycles you will have no idea if the insulin is working, if it is the correct dose, or if you need to reduce or increase the dose.

Please do not give the insulin every eight hours.
Prozinc is a 12 hour insulin. If you want to get better control, you need to be testing before every shot and between the cycles.
At the moment you have no idea what is happening. I’m very glad you caught that 62. He could be doing that regularly and you would not know.
 
Last edited:
So I have read a lot about bouncing from various threads , I’m not sure I totally understand.

(I have only a few strips left so I haven’t been able to do a whole curve in a while but I’ll be getting some more soon.)

Bruce had his first number in the 60s since all of this started. I think that’s a good sign? But also seems like something that could be scary.

Tomorrow I am going to get AMPS, +5, PMPS, +5 but I’m thinking I might need a lower does for morning and night. Maybe 3.25 or 3.0 instead of 3.5? It just seems like he has very high preshots for AM and PM but his lowest numbers are brief if at all. I’m assuming this pattern is a bounce but I don’t know what that means -practically- for us.

Any advice on his morning shot dose ? Any simplified advice for bouncing ? Is this something that curves properly with time or is he cursed w a bounce and may require 3 shots every 8 hours instead of 2 every 12?

Last note- not sure it’s important or not , he seems to thrive with 2 unit shot - behavioral wise. However - his BG is still out of control at that dose. Anyone run into that ?

Thank you in advance cat family !
No don't give three shots of ProZinc. I would reduce. To 3.25 for now, but this is important...

Get a preshot each time morning and evening. Try to get a reading or two each day mid cycle. Get a before you go to bed test. His numbers are starting to fluctuate and you wanna keep him safe.

I'm concerned about what might have been happening the other day. You shoot 3.5 then saw at +1 he was 152, then didn't test again so he may have gone really low, then blindly shot 3.5 in the evening. Those preshots are really important.
 
Thanks everyone. I reduced this morning. It was a skinny 3.25 and he had a amps of 349. So he seems to be back to his normal higher levels. I will check again mid day , pmps, and before bed.
Awesome. You're doing a great job. Your cat is lucky to have you.
 
"Last note- not sure it’s important or not , he seems to thrive with 2 unit shot - behavioral wise. However - his BG is still out of control at that dose. Anyone run into that ?"

Yes all of the time. Pabay is far more active and interested in life on lower doses. He is almost comatose for most of the day on higher doses. The right dose is important though to safeguard kitties lives. It's a balance and a difficult one.

As my vet says she is treating the cat not the numbers. The quality of life and clinical signs are v. important.

If you read my posts about 3x day for Prozinc it was a test which has now been stopped because Pabay was not doing well overall even though it stopped his excessive drinking. If I were you I would stick to BID unless your vet advises you to change and he or she controls what is happening.
 
So I did the amps and the +5 and he is pretty low. Which is good I think. @JanetNJ thank you for being supportive. I do certainly feel like I’m overwhelmed so it’s nice to be reassured.

@Pabs&Ro - what does BID mean? Do you think I should ease back to like 2.0 or 2.5 ? Even though it seems like his numbers might be going down on the 3+ units?

I feel bad for my little guy bc his fate is pretty much in my hands /head and that might not be the most reliable place. I’m super open to the more experienced dietetic cat moms and dads at this point.
 
The acronyms take a lot of getting used to especially the odd ones! BID is a dose every 12 hours. Sorry but I can't give you any advice on dosing as I am in the same turmoil as you desperately trying to find the right illusive dose. Its awful and I know what you are going through. Hope you turn the corner soon.
 
So I did the amps and the +5 and he is pretty low. Which is good I think. @JanetNJ thank you for being supportive. I do certainly feel like I’m overwhelmed so it’s nice to be reassured.

@Pabs&Ro - what does BID mean? Do you think I should ease back to like 2.0 or 2.5 ? Even though it seems like his numbers might be going down on the 3+ units?

I feel bad for my little guy bc his fate is pretty much in my hands /head and that might not be the most reliable place. I’m super open to the more experienced dietetic cat moms and dads at this point.
Oooooh 109 is a perfect number. Exactly where you want him to be!!
 
Do you think I should ease back to like 2.0 or 2.5 ? Even though it seems like his numbers might be going down on the 3+ units?
I don’t give dosing advice and I haven’t studied your history, but I will say that until you get more data, I strongly encourage you to go with a “safe” dose, which is likely lower that what you’re shootings now. Last night you had a “lo” on an AlphaTrak at 3.5u. That’s not good. And today’s 109 might not be as low as he went or will go in that cycle.

If lack of test strips is an issue, then that fact combined with not having a lot of recent data would give me pause — if it were my cat, and if he doesn’t have a history of ketones, then I certainly wouldn’t try to be too aggressive with dosing right now.

A guideline drilled into me when I joined was “first do no harm.” Another was “better too high for a day than too low for a minute.”

Just my two cents.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top