Trying to find how much to dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashley arnold

Member Since 2019
Ok so here it goes I hope I got all the info going on here last night I tested aragon bg (just was able to borrow a meter from my aunt) and he tested at 31 so I RE tested him and it was 29 so I gave him some cat food gravy and crunchy kibble to help bring it back up this morning I RE tested him and he was only at 59 so I did not give insulin (hope that was the right choice) and decided to test him every 2 hours through the day so to see what he was doing
11 AM bg 59
1 pm bg 52
3 pm bg 63
5:30 bg. 124
8 pm. Bg 139
So his bg levels are getting higher his normal time for shot is 11 AM and then 11PM should I be looking at giving him a shot tonight and if so how much do I give he was on 3 units and I think that is way to much sorry I am new to this still trying to learn I think I am failing but I am still trying
 
3 units is a lot of insulin for a newly diagnosed cat. What type of insulin are you using? Sounds like Lantus as you mention a
Sola star pen.
It is hard to give dosing advice without a Spreadsheet so as soon as you can, could you get it up and running please.
Also buy yourself s human glucose meter and start testing the blood sugars routinely. It is the only way to keep kitty safe.
Did your kitty ever have any ketones or was diagnosed with DKA ?
Have you tested again since +8?
 
I have to leave in a few minutes but if kitty does not go up to 200 at PMPS and there is no history of ketones or DKA i would skip the dose. If kitty is over 200 I would reduce to 1 unit and start again. Get a +2 and a +2 to see what is happening.
 
I am working on trying to figure out how to make a spreadsheet and no he doesn't have either of those he is on baselgar insulin or how ever you spell it I have not checked him since 8 pm (it is 9:30 now)
 
I am working on trying to figure out how to make a spreadsheet and no he doesn't have either of those he is on baselgar insulin or how ever you spell it I have not checked him since 8 pm (it is 9:30 now)
Ok. Same insulin as Lantus. I am out for probably 2 hours now but will be back.
If you have trouble with SS someone can help @Chris & China (GA) May be able to help you with SS. She’s a whiz with it.
 
Ok I think did it right lol but got a spreadsheet going now
Well done. Yes I can see the SS.
I see you skipped the PMPS. Good.
I would get a few tests in if you can just to see how long kitty stays low. Might bounce up high from the low numbers so don’t be surprised if you see high numbers.
 
At what number should I think about giving insulin?
Don’t give any insulin now until the due dose in the morning. If it is under 200, post and ask for help. Stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes. If it is over 200 you can go ahead and shoot.
We say 200 when you are new and we don’t have data. Then we gradually reduce the number that we think it is safe for you to shoot.
 
How do I put a not on the ss sorry I am new to this all and have no clue what I am doing
That’s fine. Keep asking questions. No one expects you to know everything. The first few weeks are full on then it gets much calmer.
Do you mean a note? On the right side of the SS is a remarks column. You can write what you like in there. Things such as food. Ketones negative, how they are feeling. Skipped shots etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top