Truffles' first BG number is 3.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Catnut

Member Since 2022
I just got the Alphatrak meter today and will set it up when i'm off here, at the vets they used one there and Truf was 3.5 at noon. She had her 2 units of Lantus at 9:40am and ate one meal. Is 3.5 an okay number or one i need to cut down her shot tonight? It is just below the good numbers but will check her tonight before her shot. What time should i check, she eats after 7pm and do her shot at 9:40pm, i go to bed at 10pm but have family that stay up later but can't do shots or testing yet. The vet tech wasn't too helpful so am searching online and told me to come here for help. Will food be enough to help her or cut her insulin tonight if is below 3.5? help!
 
Hi Tammy! Glad to see you over here from the Facebook group. With your inability to test, I'd strongly suggest that you skip tonight so you don't have to worry about her going too low when you're still "iffy" about your ability to get tests in. Most cats go lower at night too so if you're going to shoot at 9:40 and go to sleep 20 minutes later, it's just not safe.

To drop to 3.5 (63) on a pet meter in less than 3 hours means the dose is too high!

For tonight, I'd spend your time getting some things done so that people here can help you quicker in the future. Get your "Signature" done by clicking on your sign on name on the top right. There's a drop down menu. Choose "Signature".

A new box will pop up for you to enter information like:

Your name/cat's name, age, sex, date of diagnosis, type of insulin, type of meter, type of food, any other health problems or meds? and then (when you get a chance to make one), you'd put the link to our spreadsheet at the end. Then just hit "save" and you're done.

To set up our spreadsheet, the instructions are HERE but if spreadsheet's aren't your thing, I'd be happy to set one up for you. Just contact me on Facebook by private message
 
Welcome to the FDMB. I look forward to seeing you on the lantus forum after you are all set up.
 
ok, sure. she was at 5.8 at 7:12pm last night and i wasn't sure what to do so i gave her 1.5 units last night and this morning. she seems fine and ate today and will get her to eat more and wait 2 hours before testing her today later. The vet wants me to give her 2 units and only skip if she seems off, which isn't really helpful.:( I will set up the signature soon.
 
We need a spreadsheet too. Do you need help with that? Most of us here use US numbers. I think if I remember correctly that was 92. If so too low to shoot 2.0 and being new too low to shoot period. She’s telling us 2.0 is too much insulin. Most of us started on 1.0 and I think that is probably what you should do. It depends on her diet and if you follow one of our methods. Any dry food means our more conservative SLGS.
 
i am getting help with a spreadsheet. the vet put her on 2 units twice a day due to her monthly fructosomine levels, it was 408 in june, 253 in July. I don't know how to change to US numbers,sorry. She gets 1/4 cup dry food overnight.
 
i am getting help with a spreadsheet. the vet put her on 2 units twice a day due to her monthly fructosomine levels, it was 408 in june, 253 in July. I don't know how to change to US numbers,sorry. She gets 1/4 cup dry food overnight.
You would multiply by 18
Example 5.6x18= 104
We don't use times when telling us what thevBG is because we are all in different
When you have your spreadsheet ( our SS) this is how you want to enter everything
You can look at anyone else's SS to get an idea

AMPS means the first test in the morning , withhold feeding 2 hours prior to testing so it's not food influenced You would put that number in the AMPS cell that means AM pre shot
If you test him 2 hours later after giving insulin that BG number goes in the +2 cell
and so on

Same thing with PMPS first test 12 hours later, withold feeding 2 hours before that test then test and put that BG # in the PMPS cell if you test 3 hours after giving insulin that goes in the +3 cell and so on

The U column means how many units of insulin you are giving

To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information


  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
Last edited:
Truffles got really good news from her first curve! she is down to .75 units twice a day and will do another curve next Friday to see how it is working for her! Feels good to know i was right about lowering her dose but have to watch her to see if she needs more or less. She wasn't well at all on May 28th and today she is more herself and doing well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top