Re: Trey & Kath amps 262BG Thurs 10
Hi there Kath
hope you're doing well today!
if you haven't already read thru the
NEW TO THE GROUP stickie, up above, here is a chart that will help you determine
when is a good time to spot check Trey:
Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - when the insulin is strongest or works the hardest
Example of a typical curve: this doesn't mean you have to test every hour, have a look at some spreadsheets in other threads, you'll see definite patterns on when kitty moms and dads do their testing, ECID (every cat is different) and each cycle is different, but thru spot checking, these guys and gals have learned how insulin is working on their kitties and most have been able to come down the dosing ladder and eventually into remission! But you need these blanks filled in your spreadsheet.
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started. testing at this point will help you see when onset begins for Trey
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle). this can fluctuate, some kitties peak their lowest earlier, some later, you do need to find out when Trey's is
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise. this is an ideal time to spot check as well
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11). depending on where kitty is heading, this is a good one to test too, it also gives others a heads up for the next pre shot
+12 - PreShot number.
Carryover - insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlap - the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect
Insulin Depot - (aka "storage shed" in Lantus Land) "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body
From what I'm seeing, it sounds to me like your vet is only interested in pre-shot numbers,..unfortunately, Lantus does not work that way, and some vets are getting it (like mine!) and some are still a little behind.
Joining this board has been a life saver to many kitties and an eye opener as to how insulin really works.
Believe me, I went thru the same thing, had to research myself, found this site and off we went to the falls (OTJ - off the juice)6 months later!
We are one of the 7 or so Canadian kitties who have gone into remission with the excellent guidance and support of this board and Lantus Land forum!
Print out all the info you've been given, and most especially the hypo list.
Hope to see you posting tonight!