Trey & Kath amps 192BG Thurs 10

Status
Not open for further replies.

housecats4

Very Active Member
Well it is Thursday morning and Trey has had his Breakfast we tested him got a 262/14.6 so down from 381/21.2 BG at 7pm last night. I feel like we are back on track scared of those numbers in 300BG I am so glad you are here. My hubby wants to try this and we will but we will be testing before bed for sure and the good news is we are having company from England so we will be up late every night and I will be watching Trey very close for the next 7 days That my friends is a promise. I am bending a bit but if I see anything I don`t like and makes me scared I will stand my grounds Hubby`s sister is a nurse so she is saying that this is not unreasonible amount of units for his numbers so will try Thanks feeling better cause you are here LOL Kath & Trey don`t know how to hook to yesterdays conments please send me the know how
 
Re: Trey & Kath by housecats4 »

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16762 Yesterday's condo

Good morning Kath
The way you link the thread is to click on it, open it up, then go to the address bar at the top of the page. highlight it, right click copy, then start a new topic and in the subject box, right click paste.

I am not sure I understand what you mean about you and hubby wanting to try this. Try following the board or treating Trey's diabetes. I see that you tested him beofre his shot.
Will you be testing im during the day/night and especially before each shot.

I should point out to you that it is not always obvious to us when our kitty's BG has dropped or is low. I remember one time with Max (okay several times) that he hit a 28 and I had no idea, other than because I was testing him. I he was acting fine, even took a litter box break but those numbers were dangerously low.
BTW 1 minute of hypo can cause irreperable damage. IMHO I would be more stressed watching for signs of hypo then actually testing.
 
Re: Trey & Kath by housecats4 »

Hope I'm in the right thread for today-- I see several in the list for Trey.

First thing I want to say is do not be afraid of 300s.
What you SHOULD be concerned about is Trey is being dosed.
Am I reading SS correctly that Trey's starting dose was 3u? Is Trey ketone prone? If not, that is a high starting dose.
I bet you have heard ;-) that changing dose based on PS numbers AND not letting the dose settle, is a bad idea.
Lantus is a beautiful insulin that NEEDS to be used properly.

Please don't think I am giving you a hard time. My motivation is to keep Trey safe and put him on good road.

Back to being afraid of the 300s. They are normal and part of the course.
Be concerned about missed mid-cycle BG tests on a newly diagnosed cat getting 3u to start with.

Can I talk you into some help? :mrgreen:
 
Re: Trey & Kath by housecats4 »

I see the notes that your vet is helping you with dose. I don't think I have time to do this gently.
Bad vet advice -- that does not mean I think your vet is bad -- it means I can tell he/she does not understand how Lantus works.
 
Re: Trey & Kath by housecats4 »

Oh dear, I fear I may have sounded too harsh -- did I? My apologies Kath if I sounded gruff.
LL on FDMB is the best place in the world for getting your cat help. Keep posting and testing -- no matter which route you take we are here for you (24/7)!
Hugs,
D

I want Trey to have a chance at being in this list of kitties who were helped into remission here.

126 OTJ kitties since February 2008
:-D Pelusa :-D Raja :-D Bruce :-D Scruffy :-D Noisy :-D Cyrano :-D Chuck :-D Cosmo :-D Tobias :-D Flamie :-D Thomas :-D Brutus :-D Abby :-D Alex :-D Lexie :-D Tom :-D Smokie :-D Friday :-D Chloe :-D Calliope :-D Natasha :-D Gracie :-D Alex :-D Shadow :-D Grover :-D Fluffy :-D Mary :-D Rocket :-D Petie :-D Harley :-D Karre :-D Venice :-D Butcher :-D BigMac :-D Ti-Mi :-D Zoe :-D Devo :-D Tuxedo :-D Pumpkin :-D Oscar :-D Morrie :-D Olivia :-D Fuzzy :-D Riggs :-D Cobra :-D Chip :-D Rosco :-D Emo :-D Jake :-D Peepee :-D Nosey :-D Lucy :-D Kato :-D Tom :-D Rascal :-D Cream :-D Chico :-D Casper :-D Maui :-D Crash :-D Blackjack :-D Joey :-D Arlene :-D Tom :-D Kahuna :-D Big Boy :-D Mika :-D Buster :-D Grey :-D Boy :-D Smokie :-D Spooky :-D Cruiser :-D Sparky :-D Miss Kitty :-D Raistlin :-D Boo :-D Seamus :-D Marco :-D Tizon :-D Scar :-D Alex* :-D Black Kitty :-D Guinness :-D Beethoven :-D Jesse :-D Moon :-D Barry :-D Beeker :-D Raja :-D Nefeli :-D Rocky :-D Tummy :-D Callie :-D Milo :-D Grace :-D Matty :-D Porky :-D Scruffy :-D Luna :-D MEL :-D Tommy :-D Indy :-D Jasper :-D Velcro :-D Max :-D Maximus :-D Mally :-D Dillan :-D Webber :-D Sami :-D Basil :-D Quincy :-D Tasha :-D Spot :-D Donovan :-D Smokey :-D Max :-D Hank :-D Jasmine :-D Boomer :-D Kitty :-D Max :-D Baby :-D Scrabble :-D Tugger :-D Jake :-D PEDRO :-D
 
Re: Trey & Kath by housecats4 »

:-D Raja That is ME on the list of kitties that went OTJ...Off the Juice! My vet also said to give me 3 units twice a day to start.
When my Mommy found this forum, she began giving me much less than the Vet suggested because she knew that the people here deal with FD kitties ALL the time and that they know best how to deal with my diabetes....

Hi Kath! :mrgreen:
Last August, I was where you are right this minute. I had two kitties that wer diagnosed at the same time! Two ears to prick and two different doses to administer to the two of them, brother and sister! My eyes were bugging out with all the stuff I had to read to get up-to-speed. There is so much to learn at first. BUT, you are in the right place ~ there are so many helpful people here who will guide you through this. It took me awhile to go against what my vet prescribed for my two kitties....4 units for Shadow and 3 units for Raja twice each day! I started all over with my two at lower doses and worked my way up the dosing ladder slowly......and I am thankful that I listened to the people here and began with a lower dose of insulin!!!

I just want to say that while you are giving so much insulin right of the bat as the vet prescribed, you absolutely must prepare yourself for seeing low numbers. It might be a drastic drop in BG numbers and the first thing you should do is post the low number immediately.
Have high crab canned food on hand ....something with gravy. you might have to give Trey gravy to raise his numbers.
It is good that you are testing...it is good that you linked your SS to your posts....remember to update the SS all the time with new numbers, okay?

Please read this sticky at the top of the page and ask questions....it is imperative that you understand about low numbers and hypos, okay?
LANTUS AND LEVEMIR `NEW TO THE GROUP: PLEAS READ: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=157

We have all been new here....it is a lot to absorb. But, we have Trey's well being in mind. We urge you to familiarize yourself with all the stickies at the top of the page so you will understand the process. And it IS a process. It take time and a lot of patience to get our kitties back to good health. It does not happen overnight! Welcome to our group....we are happy that you are here! :YMHUG:
 
Re: Trey & Kath amps 262BG Thurs 10

I want to thank you all and yes I will keep posting I am going to give these two vet and one nurse a chance but first sign of low BG that are out of here ok so please hang with me and yes I do know the drill for low BG got my can Fancy with gravy and corn syrup on hand will test him every night before bed extra Thank you all Outlook Express e-mail died today I will get it back just too busy now ok LOL Kath & Trey
 
Re: Trey & Kath by housecats4 »

I think we have to leave out our personal contacts since we never know who is lurking on here...so can you edit to remove your email address for now, k? You can use Private messages to anyone if you want...
 
Re: Trey & Kath by housecats4 »

Hi Kath,
Please edit the subject line in your first message of this thread and put the date
6/09 Trey amps ###

If you do not put the date in your subject line, people will be posting all over the place and you may miss some help if Trey goes too low and you need help.

Please advise if you have printed out a copy of the hypo symptoms link I gave you the other day; you want to have them handy to consult.
 
Re: Trey & Kath by housecats4 »

D and Noisy said:
Oh dear, I fear I may have sounded too harsh -- did I? My apologies Kath if I sounded gruff.
LL on FDMB is the best place in the world for getting your cat help. Keep posting and testing -- no matter which route you take we are here for you (24/7)!
Hugs,
D


Don't worry D I was harsh the other day too when I first heard the vets advice. I also felt bad ;-)
 
Re: Trey & Kath by housecats4 »

I think its easy to sound harsh with vet advice look at me who works for a vet and had to step away from my vet advice, Hi Kath just want to let you know that D and all the others have done so much good for Do Lou they know their stuff when it comes to FD and lantus and I am not saying your vet is not a good vet but my vet started Do Lou out higher then what we should have I think looking back and I wish I had listened more to the board then I did it took me about 6 weeks I think it was to realize my vet knew nothing about lantus, and I had even printed out all the protocols for him to read and I have worked for him for 16 yrs he is a great vet in many ways but really backwards in FD treatment so I am hoping your vet is more advanced then mine was but do not hesitate to listen to what all these good people are saying their goal is to help cats. :mrgreen: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Trey & Kath by housecats4 »

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Have high crab canned food on hand ....something with gravy

Vesta would like you to know that high crab canned food sounds delicious!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: Trey & Kath amps 262BG Thurs 10

Thank you all and I am taking all the infor that you are giving me and storing it right here just one chance of a low and my vet is a not my vet. Trey comes first for sure LOL Kath
 
Re: Trey & Kath amps 262BG Thurs 10

Kath,
Can you please update Trey's ss because I see no test results since the amps. if you have no test results between the shots, you can't see what is happening or how low Trey is going.
With Lantus, the ps numbers are not the important numbers. The numbers you want to see are in the middle of the shots.You need to know the lowest point, Trey's nadir, so you need to be doing some spot checks, in and around the mid point. Testing at +3, +6, and +9 will tell you more.
 
Re: Trey & Kath amps 262BG Thurs 10

Hi there Kath

hope you're doing well today!

if you haven't already read thru the NEW TO THE GROUP stickie, up above, here is a chart that will help you determine
when is a good time to spot check Trey:

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - when the insulin is strongest or works the hardest

Example of a typical curve: this doesn't mean you have to test every hour, have a look at some spreadsheets in other threads, you'll see definite patterns on when kitty moms and dads do their testing, ECID (every cat is different) and each cycle is different, but thru spot checking, these guys and gals have learned how insulin is working on their kitties and most have been able to come down the dosing ladder and eventually into remission! But you need these blanks filled in your spreadsheet.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started. testing at this point will help you see when onset begins for Trey
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle). this can fluctuate, some kitties peak their lowest earlier, some later, you do need to find out when Trey's is
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise. this is an ideal time to spot check as well
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11). depending on where kitty is heading, this is a good one to test too, it also gives others a heads up for the next pre shot
+12 - PreShot number.

Carryover - insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlap - the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect
Insulin Depot - (aka "storage shed" in Lantus Land) "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body

From what I'm seeing, it sounds to me like your vet is only interested in pre-shot numbers,..unfortunately, Lantus does not work that way, and some vets are getting it (like mine!) and some are still a little behind.

Joining this board has been a life saver to many kitties and an eye opener as to how insulin really works.
Believe me, I went thru the same thing, had to research myself, found this site and off we went to the falls (OTJ - off the juice)6 months later!
We are one of the 7 or so Canadian kitties who have gone into remission with the excellent guidance and support of this board and Lantus Land forum!

Print out all the info you've been given, and most especially the hypo list.
Hope to see you posting tonight!
 
Re: Trey & Kath amps 262BG Thurs 10

OK I am listening tell me staring tomorrow I am going to be checking Trey every 3 hours.will do that 7am till 12 am I will use 3 units and test ,test,test. Will you be able to tell me what amount I should be using for his dose or will I do this for a few days....How do we get started I want this to happen before I talk to the vet on Wed so I have some info to back me up. OK Tell me how we get started Kath & Trey Thanks sorry about all the mistakes in my post but I am learning
 
Re: Trey & Kath amps 262BG Thurs 10

Great!
That would be basically a "curve"., which is testing thru a cycle every two to three hours.

every once in a while we do those during a cycle, especially if you are home for the day or during a weekend day.

Filling in those missing numbers will help the experienced dosing members help you with the next steps.
Update your spreadsheet as you go along and post here in your daily thread those numbers, yell for help if you need to.

check back for replies ok?

Dont be sorry - you have nothing to be sorry about. :YMHUG:

EDIT TO ADD: Ive been meaning to ask you - what is Trey's feeding schedule like? Does he free feed? Do you offer food thru the day?

Remember one thing, with lantus you dont want to feed after +9, thats 3 hours before shot time, or you may see a higher than normal BG preshot number.
A lot of people here offer a snack around +9 in both cycles, so keep it in mind. No food after +9.
 
Re: Trey & Kath amps 262BG Thurs 10

Oh one more thing, can you add tonights PMPS 192 to your subject line?

just hit "edit" on your first post in this thread and update your title line.

Let's try for a +1 and or a +3 test tonight, good luck! (or +2! :lol: What Sienne said!)
 
Re: Trey & Kath amps 262BG Thurs 10

Beautiful PMPS for Trey. Because many kitties have lower numbers during the evening cycle, can you get a +2 so you will know where the cycle is heading?
 
Re: Trey & Kath amps 262BG Thurs 10

We did not know that you don`t feed 3 hours before shot. Trey gets to eat before shot in 7 AM then 11:30 then 4:00 -5:00 then snack when he gets his shot at 7 :00pm and then night snack he get a little over 1/4 can each time he likes the left overs from other dishes.(If any) +1 +2 is this hours after his shot
LOLKath& Trey
 
Re: Trey & Kath Thurs 10( na)pmps

Oh I couldn`t get blood after 4 times I did and strip didn`t take it and had lots can`t do it now too shaky Will try when hubby get home in 2 hours sorry but I can do it alone he weights 17 lbs and I have bad shoulders can only hold him so long poor baby Its like he was saying What the hell are you doing mom are you crazy I am not your pin cushion He is so sweet and forgiven my big beautiful boy Kath
 
Hey Kath
So glad to see you testing.
Food should be kept away 2 hours before feeding. You dont have to do 3 okay?
This is to make sure that the BG you get before shooting insulin is not affected by a possible food spike.

Creating a profile

We are here for you!!!!

Okay, I just read your post. Do you have treats (pure bites freeze dried chicken are great) that you can give Treay while you test him? I did tha with Max. he ate his treats while I poked him. Also, put some uncooked rice in a little sock, microwave for about 15-20 seconds (not too hot) and put on the underside of is ear. this will warm it up and get he blood to flow easier. Are you using a lancet of free poking?
 
I know how hard it is to absorb all this info..I too listened to my vet when I first came here & he would have hurt my cat if I had continued to listen to him--I had to go to a vet specialist to have Moonie get well & on Lantus..
These folks here know the very latest scientific info on feline diabetes because we have the time & the reasons to research the ways to help our kitties--The things you learn here are more valuable than anything your vet knows about treating an FD cat..

My previously ill cat who could barely walk, is well, regulated, and can get around & jump & enjoys her life again..I thank everyone here for that!!
Just open your mind to the info that you will receive here
And the SUPPORT--That is unbelieveable--24/7 someone is here to help you--We laugh together, cry, and go thru the gamet of emotions together,in dealing with our cats--There is nothing better than this Board--You re lucky you have found us----
Now we will help you make your cat better....HUGS are always needed...here's one :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Kath:

How are you holding Trey when you test?

I don't "hold" Gabby. if you have a bad shoulder, can you sit on the floor or a bed and test Trey? Some people will brace their cat between themselves and the arm of a sofa. I test Gabby on the kitchen counter so I have good maneuverability. She's very patient now. In the beginning, I would reach around her with one arm and use my elbow to keep her close to my body.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top