Trey amps 147 (911)

Status
Not open for further replies.

housecats4

Very Active Member
Trey is 147BG do I still give 3 units what should I do.I just can`t in good heart do this so I think we give him 2 units he had 3 units last evening at 7pm. I never got much sleep watching him tries to test but on my own and couldn`t get the metor to read Please help Kath & Trey
 
Please do not give the 3units or even the 2units at this moment. Hold for a bit.

Are you saying that Trey tested this morning at 7am local with a bg of 147?
How much insulin was given last nite and was it at 7pm?
What was the last bg reading you have from before this morning's 147 and at what time was it?

edit:
Your ss shows 2units for this morning. Did you give the 2units already?
Either way, can you test again at +1 since you are almost there now, and post what bg number you get?
If we know how Trey is reacting to the insulin, we can better help.
We need to see some numbers in between the shot times.
 
Good morning. From your spreadsheet it looks like you already shot 2 units.
You really need to find a dose that you are comfortable with and stick with that dose. You are dose hopping and skipping shots. I will take a look back at old threads of yours to see if a dose was recommended.

Also could you please fix the color code on your ss. Some of the blue numbers are coding yellow which gives a false impression that there are a lot more numbers in yellow when they are in fact blue which is a much nicer color to see. :-D
 
Just checked out the spreadsheet - can you clarify for me - was trey started out immediately on 3 units?

It is my understanding that you need to start low and slowly build up - sometimes if you move to quickly or start too high you may have missed your ideal dose entirely (I had to go back and start from scratch when I got on this MB and educated myself more instead of relying on vet too).

Remember the little body needs some time to adjust and react to a dose before changing it . I would think it would be a good idea to go back and start over from scratch (1 unit ? am I right gang? - don't want to give bad advice - this is an opinion) and see what happens and build from the data from there, increasing SLOWLY based on the data.
 
I just read yesterday's thread and glad to see that you are going to get a second opinion. I do not want to bash your current vet either because he/she may be very good with other issues but not up on Feline diabetes.
It is very scary to me that the vet would tell you to basically look the other way and shoot without testing and hope to get a good result. It is not fair to you or Trey to shoot blind. I am happy to see that you are still testing.

I know this can be very tough when you want to trust what your vet says to do and you get conflicting advice from a group of people on a website.
Good luck today in your vet search and please ask as many questions here as you need. We are all here to help you get through this. We were all in your shoes in the beginning too.
 
Kath,
It's important to link your last post to this one.
Here's the link to your condo for yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16633

all you do is to go to the top of your browser and copy then paste the entire line into your condo here.
If you look through the posts, find yours called Trey Monday
go into that post and see ((http ://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16633)) at the top of the browser? That's what you need to copy and then paste into your next day's post.

People need to know what happened yesterday and be able to look backwards through the days to know who said what and what you had done so far.
 
Kath - please update us when you get a chance on how Trey is doing. I hope you have gotten some spot check, as I don't see any on your ss.
 
Hi Kath

please update when you can.
if you're near a +3, try to get a +3 test, thats 3 hours after the shot this morning



let us know how we can help ok?
 
Kath

I read back thru your older posts and you mentioned you were at home during the day - would you be able to stay online next time you're back?
lots of people here can walk you thru low numbers ok? there's always someone here.

hang in there Kath!
 
Hi Kath,

I posted to you before, but wanted to reach out again and say "Look over here! I'm in the same boat as you!" :-D

My cat, Johnny, was diagnosed in early May. He was prescribed two units of Lantus twice a day. I posted here and many people recommended that I start low and go slow to find the right dose for Johnny. We resisted at first, but soon found that two units was much too high a dose to give him twice a day. We ended up skipping shots, which was like taking a step backward in the process, and it was so stressful at each shot time deciding what to do.

We decided to reduce to one unit, chart as many BG levels as possible, and go from there. We are so grateful that we did that. Looking back, there were a couple times when, if we hadn't been hometesting and getting AMPS and PMPS numbers and in-betweens, it would have been a really bad idea to give Johnny the two units.

This is overwhelming, I know, but for me it was actually LESS overwhelming once we hit the brakes and reduced to one unit and started charting more. There were no more worries about Johnny getting too much insulin. We were able to build confidence in ourselves and in Johnny's numbers because we could see how his body was responding from a set dose (versus skipping shots, like we had done when we weren't comfortable shooting a number).

Everything you are feeling is normal. I hope you'll consider reducing the dose. We'll be here to guide you. But, you need to be comfortable in whatever direction you take.

Janice
 
OK I did the shot this morning and maybe the needle didn`t go in because his reading at 120 was 252/14 BG I was not sure if I had poked the skin or not, Hubby is upset that I keep going on We go to see another vet at 4:30 will let you know what he/she says Please forgive me for being so dumb Can`t believe we are all over the place. I just want to do Trey right poor baby he is so good ...Kath& Trey
 
((((Kath))) You are not dumb!!! This is all very overwhelming at the beginning. Especially when you have your vet saying one thing and hearing other things somewhere else. Hang in there. :YMHUG:
 
((Kath)),

You are sooo not dumb!!
I know you are freaking out a little... But it's going to be okay. Just take this a step at a time.
You CAN take charge of this - you really can.
Once you get over this initial overwhelmed feeling, things will start to settle down.

First, you need to decide to take control - say it out loud - say it in the mirror...
get your test strips and claim your power!
Knowing what you are dealing with is your greatest strength. I can not stress this enough!

Second - pick a dose you feel like you can consistently stick with for at least 3 days.
You shot 2 units this morning - if you feel comfortable with that dose, then stay with it and test test test.
The more you test, the more knowledge and power you will have -- you will know how low that dose will take him... you will know if he is safe. You will know if you should decrease or increase.

Seroiusly... right now all you have to do is take a deep breath and take those 2 steps - Decide you are taking control and pick a dose. easy, right? :-D

As for the higher number you just got (the 252) don't worry about that right now -- maybe the needle didn't go in (we call that a fur shot) but more likely that is just some rebound or a result of the reduced dose -- all this is normal...
Please don't beat yourself up. Once you get the hang of this it will all make sense
 
Kath - we have all been in your shoes so please be kind to yourself. You are not dumb. This is not easy stuff and it takes a bit of time to figure out - so do not beat yourself up. :)
 
I see a 252 at +6 on your spreadsheet...great!

I hope you can stick around - for your PMPS, post the number ok?
if you can get a +11, thats one hour before shot time, others will be by to help you with that.

lots of people worried here, and we care ok Kath?
 
((Kath))
Remember that we are here for you. I know sometimes DH's (dear husbands) don't always understand what us mommies want to do for our babies.
I rememeber when we started both my DH and daughters thought I was crazy, listening to a bunch of cat crazy strangers.
Then not too long afterwards, they would ask, "so what does the board say...."
DH keeps thanking me for all of the hard work I did in getting Max off insulin.
((hugs)) and please let us know what happens later.
Spend some time in cleaning up your SS colours too. :-D

Be kind to yourself okay??? We have all been down that road before. That is why there are so any people now who can help.
 
Hi Trey is doing ok.Just had his 1/4 can for his lunch .We tested befor ehe ate he seems find out in the screen deck sunning himself and grooming I told him he is going to see another vet. He don`t like driving and it is about 15 minutes away I on the other hand am a basket case just want to do what is right for him and hubby is saying we will never get him regulated grrrr he makes my blood run cold or hot now sure anyway will let you know I did fix Treys ss hope I got it this time will try to hook both days together lol Kath & Trey
 
Randi is right-----our DH just don't understand. WE all understand!!! Hang out with us....and you'll feel better. It's like a family here I swear :mrgreen:


ETA - brain fart - misspelled Randi's name. Sorry Randi :?
 
Glad to hear Trey is doing ok!

Take a deep breath - it will be ok! Shake the nerves off and breath cat_pet_icon

for ur spreadsheet, the 4 green cells should be blue colour, in case u missed that.
Good job getting that +6 Kath!
 
Ah good, you are back.

if you need any help at all, just let us know.
you can tell DH that at least TWO of the people helping you have their cats not regulated either .. you want to know why? Because they are OFF INSULIN. See what he has to say about THAT!!

if you have any trouble linking the past day, into the next day, just let us know and we can give you clear help.

You were able to put the ss together and get it up and visible, so you will be just fine with the rest. You are testing now, and recording the info, and I bet after a few days on the same dose (no changing unless it's suggested to lower it), you are going to see a BIG improvement in Trey.
 
Don't despair, Kath. You're doing great. I started out with instructions to test with urine test strips and change the dose each time based on those results.

Regulation can take time, because you will find you should hold a dose for several days until it really settles in. BUT, be assured that once Trey is getting insulin regularly (even if you're not at a perfect dose) you will probably see him improving so you'll know you're doing the right thing. His coat will get shiny, he will go back to doing things he was doing before he started feeling under par (which you may not have noticed until he starts acting like himself again). These things will happen while you're working towards regulation, and it may not happen overnight, but it will happen.
 
Just wanted to say Hi, we're from Canada too.

Hang in there. I know you're getting pulled in a thousand directions at once. It will get better, really it will.

Odiesmom
 
Kath, let us know how the vet appt. went when you can! I hope you're feeling a little more comfortable. You can do this!
 
HI Kath
Wondering how the new vet appointment went.
Noticed your ss that you shot PMPS 3u and that you were going to follow what the vet said.
Is this the first vet or the new vet.
At this dose and Trey getting into the blues, it is extremely essential that you will continue to test him.
 
Good evening Kath

saw ur update on ss for tonights PMPS of 381 and that you went back up to 3u as per your vet...I just want to say and I cannot stress enough,
please get a +3 test on Trey and/or at least a before bedtime check.

Others have mentioned sticking to one dose and letting it settle, this is something a lot of vets dont understand and how lantus works best and the safest.

And like others mentioned, you have the power and control to see what is going on with Trey's numbers by spot checking him with BG tests and when to intervene with yummy gravy foods if needed.
I'm hoping your vet is not discouraging you from home testing a bit more, cuz honestly - its a safe route and approach to managing his treatment.

You have the support of the board if you see a low number holler for help.
 
I'm just checking in as well. I hope the second vet was more helpful than the first. And if not, there is a HUGE amount of expertise with feline diabetes here. We do have your back and Trey's back.

The front end of this learning curve is completely and utterly overwhelming. And we have all been at that front end. It gets better and easier. Really. It does.
 
Please be sure that you have the notes on how to treat a hypo situation handy.
Do you have some high carb food handy with gravy? Also have karo handy in case you need it to bring up very low numbers.
Re-read the symptoms of a hypo state so that you will recognize them.
Remember to test because some cats have NO signs but their BG numbers drop like a stone.

I hope Trey is OK. Your changing the dose so often is very hard on his body.
Be sure to test before you go to bed because he may be too low and you will need to stay up to work at bringing his numbers up to a safe level.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top