Traveling with Monkey - IBS & diabetic kitty

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monkey Maine Coon

Member Since 2014
Hi friends. We started our motor home trip this afternoon. Monkey is with us and seems calm, but really he is a bit uneasy. He is not eating like he should; his 4pm lunch should have been 1/3 cup kibble - he wasn't interested. He did eat a few slivers of his reconstituted freeze-dried chicken. We are stopping and parking to give him a break and pet him. We checked his BG at 6:45PM and it was 329. We normally have him eat a bit of his canned food after his test, to be sure he doesn't vomit before his shot - but he again was not interested, and only ate about a teaspoon of the Halo low-carb canned chicken, and a few more slivers of reconstituted freeze-dried chicken. Now we have to give him his insulin in about 15 minutes, which is normally 4 units of Humulin N. We just slightyly reduced it to 3.75 units due to his poor appetite - I hope that was the right choice. We will be retesting him when we stop for the night in about an hour. nailbite_smile
 
Is Monkey used to traveling in your motor home? It just may be nervousness or even a little bit of motion sickness. You may want to try giving him a little bit of Pepcid AC (1/4 tablet) to calm his stomach down.
 
Lisa and Witn (GA) said:
Is Monkey used to traveling in your motor home? It just may be nervousness or even a little bit of motion sickness. You may want to try giving him a little bit of Pepcid AC (1/4 tablet) to calm his stomach down.

This is his first trip except for a very short drive a few weeks ago. I think you're right about him being nervous. We're parked at the moment in Redding CA, a big town - we'll go pick up some Pepcid AC before we depart this morning.

His BG this morning was low (for him) at 169, and he still only ate about a tsp of Halo canned food - so we are going to skip his insulin this morning. We should have a smoother ride today (it was a rough road yesterday for the first couple of hours), so I hope he will feel better today.

Thanks for the tip about Pepcid AC - I wasn't aware of being able to do that. nailbite_smile
 
When Monkey gets his 'sea legs', he'll most likely calm down, find his 'places' and be much more comfortable. We traveled in motorhomes with both cats and dogs for many years. Each time there was a 'new' fuzzy feetz on board, it took a while for them to get used to the feeling of the vibration and movement...the ground is supposed to be solid and steady! We only had 1 cat that just never got comfortable but we also quit traveling shortly thereafter due to hubby's health. Even he'd just find 'his place' and stay there giving the rest of the world dirty looks until we parked.

Pepcid - 1/4th of 10mg 'regular strength' rather than the 20mg 'maximum strength'.

HAVE FUN!
 
Thanks for the great tips about Pepcid AC. We just got back from the local drugstore and just gave him the 1/4 tablet of the Regular Pepcid AC. If I didn't have this board for help, I would have been afraid to take this trip with Monkey. We have traveled for years with cats (geriatric over 20 years old) and dogs, but never with one with IBS and diabetes. So far there is no sign of the IBS - he just had a normal BM, and no vomit either. The vet said our biggest worry would be to trigger a relapse of the IBS.
We have another 5 hour travel day today, and then we'll be parked for a week. So that will be good for Monkey to learn to be happy in his "home on wheels". :dizcat
 
Day 2 - rocky start but thanks to my friends on this board, Pepcid AC 1/4 tab regular, and his attitude steadily improved as we drove today. By this evening his appetite is back, and his BG is lower than ever for his evening test. He has been eating Halo low carb wet food off and on as he was willing all day - just small amounts at first. So maybe we are on the road "figuratively as well as literally" to getting him "off the juice".
I know, I know, it's way to early to say that - just wishful thinking! But it is a much better day today! :RAHCAT
 
Is this remission ??Traveling with Monkey.

Could this possibly be remission? We're too new at this to judge - but if any of you could check his SS and let us know what you think, we would appreciate it. He is on his 2nd day with normal 7:00am BG of 135 and no shot. We just tested him again at 1pm and his BG is 100.

We reduced his pm shot last night to 3.5 units (from his original 4) because his BG was 272. We have been offering him Halo low carb ground chicken pate instead of his usual high carb dry Hill's I/D kibble. It seems like if we do give him the kibble, that is when he gobbles it too fast and it comes right back up. So we are trying to stay off of it if we can.

This is Monday, our third day of RV travel with Monkey. He has adapted well and was zooming around this morning like he always does at home. All signs seem normal so far. :smile:

His 6:45pm BG this evening was 88 - so again no shot. We fed him a 1/6 cup of his Hills I/D kibble - but he vomited it back up. So we fed him a tsp. of his Halo canned, which he ate right away and kept it down. We're unsure what is going on - hoping for someone to weigh in with some thoughts. nailbite_smile

I'm wondering if I should have made this a new post?

7:30pm = fed him another tsp Halo canned; no problem keeping that down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top