First of all, Tight Regulation is the only researched and published protocol for use with Lantus and Levemir. SLGS is a dosing method, not a protocol, developed over time on this board, so still has good data behind it. TR requires feeding all low carb wet or raw, which limits some people.
As for me, when I started out, my goal was remission. Little did I know my girl had a couple secondary conditions that made that extra challenging. TR has a better track record for remission, though it also happens with SLGS. I also wanted to change/increase doses faster to get her out of ugly numbers. I was too impatient for SLGS.

TR also allowed me to keep her in better numbers overall. Her nadir needed to be in the 70-80 range, or she’d spend too much time above renal threshold. ECID, that was what worked for my girl.
And truthfully, most of the people in the LBL forum were using TR at the time I started. And once I got an idea of Neko’s onset, nadir, and duration and how she was reacting to the insulin and food, I backed off testing, unless she was going lower. A typical day was 5 tests, one of which was my indulgence to gather more data. She didn’t mind it, loved the treats.
The decision on which dosing method to use has to fit both your lifestyle, and your goals for Edward. It’s a personal decision. You can always try one, then switch back if it’s not working for you.