TR vs. SLGS - how to decide which to follow?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SnowKat

Member Since 2020
I've been testing pretty frequently since starting Edward on Lantus on 1/17/20. I wasn't really sure which protocol I should follow... TR or SLGS... I just kind of jumped in. I'm starting to think, for my own sanity, for the sake of consistency, and to avoid the temptation to micro-manage, that I ought to back off the testing. Just stick with AMPS, PMPS, and mid-cycle during the day when I can get away from work, plus the occasional curve on the weekend. Can anyone else speak to how they decided which protocol to follow?
 
First of all, Tight Regulation is the only researched and published protocol for use with Lantus and Levemir. SLGS is a dosing method, not a protocol, developed over time on this board, so still has good data behind it. TR requires feeding all low carb wet or raw, which limits some people.

As for me, when I started out, my goal was remission. Little did I know my girl had a couple secondary conditions that made that extra challenging. TR has a better track record for remission, though it also happens with SLGS. I also wanted to change/increase doses faster to get her out of ugly numbers. I was too impatient for SLGS. :p TR also allowed me to keep her in better numbers overall. Her nadir needed to be in the 70-80 range, or she’d spend too much time above renal threshold. ECID, that was what worked for my girl.

And truthfully, most of the people in the LBL forum were using TR at the time I started. And once I got an idea of Neko’s onset, nadir, and duration and how she was reacting to the insulin and food, I backed off testing, unless she was going lower. A typical day was 5 tests, one of which was my indulgence to gather more data. She didn’t mind it, loved the treats.

The decision on which dosing method to use has to fit both your lifestyle, and your goals for Edward. It’s a personal decision. You can always try one, then switch back if it’s not working for you.
 
I'm just so confused. I've had to "no shoot" 2 out of the last 4 days due to low evening pre-shot BGs. I haven't been able to be consistent, and I *know* how important that is. I'm wondering if reducing dose and going full-on SLGS would be better. I'm just so confused :(
 
You will get more specific answers if you post your question in the Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir forum, where most people following SLGS or TR also post. These same prople can guide you when you get low (for you) preshot values.
 
I started Simba on Super Tight Regulation but he ended up in a severe hypo from that. It was the connection Lantus insulin and Simba's inner body, so every 2 half day doing the Super Tight Regulation the Lantus that should have been out of Simba's body system wasn't and he got a very bad hypo. I was at home and could get Simba quick out of the hypo.
After that I decided not to risk my Simba, no matter protocol there were to follow and we did our thing, since our kitties are not any static robots neither that never change in theie bodies day after day and year after year. I had Simba's bother Gustav to take care of too and even more so when Gustav got cancer, so it was just me alone with my two own boys doing our own protocol thing changing with my boy Simba as we went. We Really Did Have A Groovy Kind Of Love :cat: :cat: :cat:
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top