? Tooters 5/7 AMPS=367, +3=368, +6=364, +8=293

Julee

Member Since 2018
Help! I don't understand why Tooters is Bouncing so much and staying so high. Last night he was in the 400's then dropped to 99. This is the lowest I have seen him in a long time. Any ideas on what's going on? I read a posting on the board that fish can make them high? I have been feeding a variety of Friskies Pate that included 2 different seafood options. Sunday, Tooters got two feeding of that food. Does this make a difference?

I appreciate all insight. Thanks!!!
 
Hi there,

Looks like Tooters had a big drop last night from high 400’s to 99. That 99 started him bouncing back up, which is normal, just his body adjusting to a low number. When there is a big drop like that it can take a few days before they even out again.

Have not heard that about fish.

I am copying @Wendy&Neko, she may have some advice. With that really big drop may want to watch over the next few days and test at certain times to get a better idea.
 
That post you were reading was from someone following Tight Regulation for dosing, you are following SLGS. Which says to hold the dose if you see nadirs between 90 and 149, which you are seeing on this dose. Tooters isn’t used to green, as you said, so he is bouncing. Only more time in good blood sugar numbers will help him get used to those kinds of numbers.

Fish doesn’t impact blood sugar numbers, unless it is high carbs. There is some possible ties to hyperthyroidism and a high fish diet, nothing to do with bouncing.

Last night you also saw a really steep drop. Fast drops can also cause bounces. You say he free feeds, do you have any idea when he eats? Food can slow down fast drops.
 
Back
Top