Took Calley to the vet......

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris10mo

Member Since 2014
The new vet did a full blood test and the results showed......NOTHING. Everything is normal except the BG which was 377 at noon.

He said that Calley is slightly dehydrated but otherwise does not look that bad. She has lost two lbs since being at the vet last and is now 9lbs.

He wants me to do a curve tomorrow and call him with the numbers on Monday. He thinks that Calley should be in the 3 unit/2x daily range instead of just at .5.

He also told me to stop feeding her so much as it makes the bg numbers fluctuate so much during the day. He said to feed her at each shot time only.

I asked about the vomiting and he believes it is just due to the diabetes being unregulated. And since it is only in the mornings after her first meal.....it has to be related to food. She does not vomit the rest of the day.
 
Your spreadsheet is not public and thus not viewable so I can't comment on the dose.
I do not agree with feeding less because of the weight loss.
 
Hi. Sorry about the spreadsheet. I didn't make it...Mel did and I can't get into it myself. I don't know much about computer stuff like this and haven't had time to play with it.

Calley is on .5 units 2x/daily. Her numbers since she started Lantus have been much higher than they were on the N. She was in the 100s mostly on the N and now she is in the 200-350 range. She did have one 500+ number on Thursday at +6. :o

I am going to try to feed her at just the shot times. I do think that maybe I've been feeding her too much. Can that be possible? I have been giving her maybe 6-7 meals a day......watered down. And of course she eats every drop and then begs for more and then chews her way into chocolate chip cookies. :(
 
It sounds like your vet is more used to some of the older fast acting insulins when feeding at shot time made sense. Neko was originally on Caninsulin and because of it's fast action we had to feed most of the food at shot time. With Lantus, you have much slower, gentler action. To help a healing pancreas, it helps to spread the meals out, although you'll want to feed just in the first half of the cycle. Try one meal at shot time and one or two additional meals before +6. Feeding after that when the insulin is waning will impact the numbers.

Your vet is wrong about feeding too much. Your cat has lost weight. The scale tells the true story.

I'd also be vary wary about upping your cat's dose to 3 units. A large number of the cats here never get to that high a dose. We increase by .25 unit amounts. But without seeing your spreadsheets, I can't comment if it's time for an increase. Maybe you can PM Mel and see if she's responding this weekend. You just need her to set the permissions so that the SS is viewable to all.

My non diabetic cat often vomits in the morning, more often when he's working on a hairball. It could be nothing. If Calley is vomiting after food, I'd give small amounts of food spaced out. She could be doing a scarf and barf. Also make sure you add water to the food to thin it out. It'll also help with the dehydration.
 
Which protocol are you following? And, you can switch between them doing some Tight Regulation on the weekends or when you can monitor carefully, and some Start Low Go Slow during the week or other periods when you are less able to monitor.

If you're home to monitor this weekend, you can increase following the Tight Regulation rules as follows:
If the nadirs are over 300 mg/dL, you might increase by 0.5 to a dose of 1.0 units.
If your nadirs are less than 300, but over 150 mg/dL, you might up the dose 0.25 units (you'll have to eyeball it as syringes don't mark 0.75 unit marks.)

You can make increases more aggressively if you can monitor through the nadir period, even if it means setting an alarm clock for overnight. You need to let the dose settle/stabilize a minimum of 2 days when you're being aggressive; 3 full days if you're following Tight Regulation, and a week if you're doing Start Low, Go Slow.
 
I guess I'm doing the low and slow method? I really don't know that much really what the heck I'm doing. I just want to get Calley controlled so the vomiting stops and she isn't always nauseated. Besides the curve tomorrow, I'm not inclined to test more often than twice/day at meal times. I just don't have the time for more as I am not home most of the day.

I am not upping her dose to 3 units or even 1 unit until I see what her numbers are with the curve. Even then, I would never increase a dose that much at one time. I think the vet meant that in time she MIGHT need to be at a higher dose for regulation. I don't know...she might need it and she might not. I certainly hope she doesn't. I want her off the juice altogether....but I'm not optimistic of that at all. Not since it has taken so long and she is still in such dire straits. :(

I do think she needs more food than just at shot times...but I will be reducing it so I can get a clearer picture of her levels with the curve.

I have been watering down the food for several days now. and I just went and bought non fish pate flavors to see if that helps with the vomiting.

I'm just so glad that there is nothing else wrong with her.
 
Pre-shot tests clue you in as to whether or not it is safe to shoot when combined with nadir period tests.
Mid-cycle tests tell you how low the glucose is going; on a human glucometer in the US, you want it no lower than 50 mg/dL.

If you test during the mid-cycle, there is no reason to have the vet do a curve because you have the necessary data for review. You could save yourself quite a bit over time.
 
The vet is not doing the curve. I am. I can't afford to keep taking her to the vet. I just can't. I am so frustrated with it all. She just vomited all over the DR and LR. Massive amounts of brown liquid. So much for the theory that it was just a morning vomit.

Nothing I'm doing is working. Less food, more food, watered down food, change of insulin, less insulin, more testing. I just don't see any positive changes. All I know is Calley is in pain/suffering from all the vomiting...now happening twice a day and not improving.

I tested three times today. AMPS was 202. + 6 was 377 and PMPS was 368. Tomorrow i'll do a curve.

I'm obviously doing something wrong for her to be vomiting so much.
 
Maybe I'm giving too much at each meal? If it is a scarf and barf thing...how much should I give her? A teaspoon full? Is that too much or not enough?
 
Maybe try adding some water, then spreading it across a wide plate so it is harder to eat quickly.
 
If she is eating it like she is starved then it could be scarf and barf or it could be a food allergy. I have seen cats be allergic to beef and some be allergic to seafood. Mine are all poultry eaters.
 
RobinCot said:
...or it could be a food allergy. I have seen cats be allergic to beef and some be allergic to seafood. Mine are all poultry eaters.
Some cats are allergic to chicken too (although not necessarily to other poultry such as turkey and duck)). Wheat, soy and eggs are other common allergens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top