too soon to celebrate???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Knotty dee and Jaxon

Member Since 2012
Hello everyone,

Jaxon has not had an injection of insulin since Monday morning. His BGL have been staying between 3-6 since monday am. See spread sheet for US values. I am getting ready to celebrate too soon or could Jaxon be actually going into remission. I know that 14 days with out insulin is considered remission. any ideas or experiences you can share would be great!


thank you! :-D
 
I would continue to monitor. Typically, we do not reduce from 1.0u to no insulin. Rather, reductions are done systematically and gradually in 0.25u amounts. It very may be the case that Jaxon's pancreas is working. We try to give a newly healed pancreas as much support as possible by gradually reducing the dose. Clearly, 1.0u was too much insulin -- Jaxon dropped to 40 on 10/15. FWIW, if you had posted here, we would have urged you to give Jaxon high carb food to bring his numbers up and to keep monitoring. You have no way of knowing just how low his BG dropped on 10/15.

If you are planning on continuing with an OTJ trial, this is what we recommend:
  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
  • If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!
  • Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
 
Sienne and Gabby,

I know that i should have continued to reduce in .25 u increments unfortunately i was not able to be home on the day he dipped so low, and my husband was out of town. other wise i would have continued with the reductions. After the first night with out insulin and his numbers had stayed in the "normal" range I still continued to complete blood glucose testing in am and pm before normal dose times as well as 4 hours after eating if i was able to. he does receive 3 to 4 meals a day the am and pm being a little larger then the "snacks".

i am not sure what you mean by OTJ trial but i will follow your recommendations and let you know how this goes.

thank you again for your help!
 
OTJ trial = "off the juice" trial. It's the 2 week period that you are monitoring to determine if the normal numbers are holding despite not giving insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top