Tonka 3/3 AMPS 77, no shot, +11.75 72, +1 95, +3 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmalasiuk

Member Since 2014
Tonka's back into the greens this morning. Given that he's responding to such a small amount of insuin and I can't monitor him today, I'm going to skip this shot as well. If he still winds up higher than normal range this evening like he did last night, I'll try a tiny dose tonight and tomorrow morning and just leave him with higher carb food for the day, but I'd like to see what happens to him starting out with a good number on his regular food first.

Very much his vocal self this morning :) Here's hoping that he keeps this level and I haven't screwed him up again - he looked so tired last night. He's gotten used to the lower numbers quickly.
 
i think it was a good choice too - he's teetering on the fence and it's a-ok to skip when you can't monitor him at this point! You might need to keep doing it this way until the weekend when you're not running out to work.
 
And he even came down a touch! 72 at +11.75 :joyful: Since that was the case with no insulin this morning and minimal on board from last night, I'm skipping his evening shot too, unless someone with more experience lets me know that I ought to keep up the 2 drops per night... but I'm starting to think that maybe he was just rebounding on that tiny dose. Should I just keep him off until he start to rise again? (if he does - here's hoping that he doesn't)
 
Go Tonka! :D:D Let's just see how he handles this "non" dose. Fingers and paws crossed here. He was showing a little bit of an inverted curve on the 2 drops - that can meas too much insulin. (or too little :rolleyes:)
 
Well, he's up to 95 at +1, so I guess I'll see whether he keeps rising or starts to come down when I check him in a couple hours before heading to bed. If he rises out of the normal range in the middle of the cycle after eating, but drops again by morning, does that warrant going back to the microdose?
 
It's expected that he might see a bit of a spike from food, which is what that 95 probably is. When kitties are on an OTJ trial, we suggest testing 3 hours after PS, if the PS is blue, to see if the pancreas is kicking in to bring down the numbers. If he's back in normal numbers in the morning, I wouldn't dose him.
 
Okay - thanks Wendy. I'm rather out of my element here (remission is not something us human diabetics get to worry about much, so this is all new ground for me), so all the advice from everyone is so very appreciated.
 
Last edited:
He doesn't seem to be quite there yet in terms of pancreas function. Out of the normal range again by +3 (139). So I'll see where he is in the morning. If he's still blue or higher, I'm probably safe to dose him with a little insulin, as long as I keep it below 0.1 units, and if he's green, I'll wait until evening when I can monitor him. Does that seem like a good plan? Maybe just evening/weekend shots for a while, to give his pancreas a touch of support? I think that was what Julie was suggesting
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top