Tommy Numbers advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy&Tommy

Member Since 2013
It's been a few days since I could get time online. I took your advice about the U100 half-unit syringes. Wow, so much easier. I feel like insulin is really getting in now. Sometimes when I was trying to do the .25 it didn't seem like anything was going in. The new syringes came yesterday before I came home from work, so I used one using the conversion chart. I'm home today so I will take a few extra readings. Poor Tommy, it gets really old for him when i test a lot during the day. Otherwise he does really well.

Tommy's numbers are all over the place. See SS. DH feeds snacks while cooking (meat) and forgets to put dog food up when he isn't in the room. Tommy LOVES the dog food and zero's in when he knows its on the floor. DH also left out hot dog buns, and the cats found them. :roll: I've tried to adjust when he is really high to bring him down. Last nights reading was the first time using the U100 syringes. Please help me with a new starting point so that we can get his numbers back down. No ketones have been detected. Thank you!
 
Yes, contraband will make a huge difference. A week or so ago, Misty's Rumpel got into dry food and her numbers shot up 200 points in a few hours. Any chance the dogs can wait to eat till you are home, and then remove the dishes when they are done? (I think I remember DH has memory challenges?)

I am a little unsure about your numbers. You need to put the U40 equivalent numbers on your spreadsheet, not what you are shooting with the U100s. (so we don't have to go look at the conversions each time). So today did you shoot 1.5 units? If so, that looks like a good dose. Hope you see a downward trend.
 
How do I put the conversions in the spreadsheet? Do I put in what I would have given if it was the U40 syringe? Yes i gave .6 units U40 insulin.

Yes, he has memory problems. We talk about ways to remember to put the food up. We use to free feed all the animals, so it had been hard on the dog especially. She is way, way too spoiled and he feeds her all sorts of things. He refuses to see that she too is overweight and susceptible to diabetes herself.
 
Yes, you put in what is would have been with the U40 syringes. If you get some numbers today, it will tell you whether a little increase would be good or whether the insulin is taking him low enough.
 
Ok, I will do that and will post the numbers. I will change his insulin amounts to the U40 amounts. Thank you!
 
Going Down. :smile:

Hope you can get more tests today & post the numbers. Would really help us see how the lower dose is doing. :smile:

Like Sue said...watch out for the "contraband".....it was my Rumpelteazer she referred to in her post (we agreed to use it as an example). It is a perfect example of how our sugarcats' numbers go WAY UP so FAST...pretty amazing how true dry food affects them.

Lots easier using U-100's for low doses isn't it? I use them for RumpelT. :-D

Keep up the good work.
 
+6 = 212
I was happy to see how much easier the U-100's were to dose. Thank you for the encouragement.

We had made plans to go out of town for Thanksgiving this year before Tommy was dx'ed. We live in the country in northern Minnesota which is beautiful. To be honest there isn't anyone I would trust taking care of Tommy, as a typical mom would think. So we decided that we would just have to come home after a brief visit. These are dear friends of ours and they live about an hour and a half away. Amazingly my friend suggested we take Tommy with us! Tommy is very social and gets along well with people and other animals so we said we would give it a try. We would keep him in the room we would be occupying. If it doesn't work out we would just come home. I truly appreciate my friends kindness. Keep your fingers crossed next week that all goes well. :razz: I will let you know his next numbers.
 
Would your spouse mind if you posted some reminder cards around the house?
 
We took Oliver with us when we traveled. Luckily, he liked riding in the car and adjusted easily. We always looked for a VRBO/motels that accepted pets.

Wondered what kinds of numbers you got yesterday?
 
BJM said:
Would your spouse mind if you posted some reminder cards around the house?
DH didn't take it very well, though he does realize that when Tommy eats the contraband food his numbers go really high. He said he would try to keep dog food and other food up and away from Tommy.
Wondered what kinds of numbers you got yesterday?
Friday's numbers ended up at 424 at his PMPS. Had a +8 of 307. Yesterday I worked and he had an AMPS of 398 and a PMPS of 370. This mornings AMPS was 545. I was shaking my head wondering why it went up so high. confused_cat I gave him 1 unit and fed the lowest carb of food I had. About a half hour later DH said that he figured out why he was high as he found a bag of bread on the floor when he got up today. He said it must have fallen off the counter or they jumped onto the counter and pushed it off. I'm going to have to check the house before retiring for the night to make double sure all food is put away. :YMSIGH:
 
I think you would be fine to increase the dose by .25 or .5 - whatever you are comfortable with. He isn't dropping much and continues to have higher preshots. The contraband certainly could contribute, but I still would up the dose. You don't want him sitting in those higher ranges. BTW, do you sure test for ketones?
 
I do as often as I can. So far there hasn't been any ketones. We have a closed litter box and he tends to pee very high.When I know he has come out I find the small puddle on the inside rim of the top. Since my other two go in there as well I wait and make sure that I'm testing Tommy.

I will go to 1 unit for a few days and see how that goes. I won't adjust higher until we get back as he may be higher if he's stressed by being at someone else's place. Or should I use a sliding scale and treat what he is at his shooting times? Thanks!
 
Either way will work. You might do the one unit when he is above 350(barring any contraband) and .8 for 250-300 and .5 200-250. See how that works. Try to get some midcycle numbers to see if he is dropping.

I agree all bets are off when you visit your friends. Stress could raise his numbers, or not. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top