Tommy and bouncing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy&Tommy

Member Since 2013
Hi! Thanks for all the help I've received!! Would someone look at Tommy's numbers and let me know if I did the right things? I think he has stopped bouncing for now. I withheld Tommy's insulin this morning as he was at 108. +3 was 120. I need to go to work and won't be able to test and give his shot until late. Thank you!
 
Good job not shooting this morning since he was under 200 and you would not be home to monitor.

Test before food when you get home and post so we can see how Tommy is doing.

Good thing about ProZinc.....easier to adjust timing + dose based on pre-shot numbers. :smile:
 
The too low to shoot pre-shot suggests the previous shot might need decreasing. Ideally, you'd like to be able to give insulin twice a day, with doses that do not drop the glucose below 50 mg/dL. ProZinc is flexible in that you can develop a sliding scale for administration, where higher glucose levels get a higher dose and lower levels get a lower dose.
 
Tommy's BG was 341. That was with his last insulin 12 hours ago. I had my DH wait until I got home so that I could test. I'm thinking that depending on his morning readings that I should slightly reduce the insulin. I will check here before I do this to see your input. I will be home most of the day tomorrow. Thanks.
 
What would you think about going down to one unit and raising slowly, instead of trying to figure how much to reduce from two units? I am worried that he has been pretty low and with your schedule, it is hard to keep on top of the numbers. If you go to one unit and hold it three cycles and he is in higher numbers, then increase by .25 until you start seeing good numbers. It is safer than trying to react to low numbers with a larger dose. What do you think?

He is reacting well to the insulin and food. It is very encouraging to see the lower numbers.

You could start posting in the PZI forum. Everyone there uses or has used your insulin. It is also good to check out their dosing and spreadsheets and see how they are doing. It is much smaller than this forum, so if you ever have an emergency, post here.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=24
 
First, do you want me to repost in the PZI forum? Tommy was 157 for AMPS. I gave him 1 unit and will test in 2 hours. He sure has his spunk back!! DH was saying that he was playing and teasing his brothers last night. He hasn't really done that for some time now. It makes me sad that I didn't bring him to the vet earlier.
 
I'm glad you'll be testing. 157 is below our 200 cutoff for waiting before shooting. Lots of PZI users shoot at those preshot numbers, but only after they have the data to predict what might happen. He will probably be fine, but I would trst at +3 to see if he is dropping too fast.

Maybe wait till this cycle is over (in case you need help) and then post your dosing questions on the other forum.
 
Since I knew I'd have time to test today I thought I would try the 1u to see how low that would take him. If I had to go to work then I would not have given his insulin.

Thanks, I will stay here until this cycle is over. I will post his BG as soon as I get it.
 
Yea! Tommy was 110. I will test again at +6. I gave him a tsp of LC for a treat. He is doing so much better with the pokes. I'm very proud of him. I will post his +6 reading.
 
Glad to see that you could do more testing today to see how Tommy reacts to the lower dose.

And.... cat_pet_icon Tommy .... good sugardude ..... getting better with the "pokey-poke". YAY !!
 
+6 BG was 77. I won't be home 3 hours from now so I gave him 1 Tblsp LC food. I believe that he probably won't go lower but I thought a small snack would be appropriate. Please advise on what my PM protocol would be if he remains under 200 tonight when I get home. That would be about 11pm central time. Thanks so very much!
 
It turned out to be a nice cycle (assuming he won't continue to go down after nadir...). Tonight depends on how agressive you want to be. He did fine on one unit with a 150 preshot, but I'd be nervous if you can't monitor. If closer to 200, one unit seems okay?
 
Tommy probably bounced as his amps BG was 300. Gave 1 unit insulin. Have to work all day so I will not be able to test today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top