Tommy Amps 57 - Do I shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tomtomsmom

Member Since 2012
Hi. Been a while since I have posted. Tommy has been going through his ups and downs and we took him to the vet yesterday for his first fructosamine test won't know results for a few days. Long story short, his numbers were in the 300s for a while. The vet upped the dose to 3 and we got a new vial of insulin and his numbers are still a bit high. A few days ago, he went down to 83 (PMPS) and we didn't shoot and he was back in the 300s in the AM. Is it safe to give him a dose (maybe half)?

Thank you,

Tommy & Mimi..
 
No I won't shoot a 57 as you just don't have enough data on how low he goes midcycle to do it safely. However if he is high on his pmps tonight I would reduce his dose by 0.5. Your vet raised his dose incorrectly, you never raise a dose by a full unit, dose increases are done 0.25u at a time otherwise you can easily shoot (pun intended) right past the ideal dose.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top