Tommy AMPS 253

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy&Tommy

Active Member
It has been awhile since I posted last. I've been helping out at another group home and now I'm twice as busy. :YMSIGH: My DH has a medical procedure coming up on Tues at a VA hospital 3.5 hours away (Minneapolis) and we will be gone overnight. A friend of mine from work agreed to take care of Tommy so I had her come out and learn what she needs to do. Tommy was amazing!! :o After I went through the routine slowly, we waited an hour and then I had her do it without my presence in the room. Tommy let her pick him up, she got him on the bed in "The Position" and proceeded to do a dry run without the actual poke. I came into the room and Tommy was still calmly letting her work on his ear. I told her to go ahead and do a real poke, and Tommy let her without any fuss. Keep in mind that this was the FIRST time they have ever seen each other! :mrgreen: So I was thrilled that she was so successful. Fast forward to today. I just got a phone call from her daughter and she was admitted to the hospital with kidney stones and they were going to surgically remove the stones. Here's the situation. She is in Wisconsin and won't be home until tomorrow evening. We have no choice but to leave Tommy home. We need to leave in the morning and we plan on leaving a lot of food out so they can graze. I will water it down so that it doesn't get dried out. DH doesn't want anyone to come to the house because he is afraid they will get stuck in our driveway. We live in the country and way in the woods and have one of the snowiest winters for a long time. :YMSIGH:

I know ultimately Tommy will be okay, but I know I will worry about him. His BG is all over the place (a very colorful spreadsheet for the last 12 days!) As far as the numbers go I'm inclined to think to lower the dose by another .2 across the board? I think that by his drop to unshootable numbers.

Some good news through all this is that DH tried one day recently to test Tommy :razz: He wasn't successful although he stated that he needs to watch me more carefully! So there is hope that he will start testing so we could keep him on a better schedule. Sorry this was so long, but I needed you all to know the details.
Thanks for any advise.
 
I think leaving food out is the best plan and yes, I'd give a little less insulin. (Better high than low.) He should be fine. And how wonderful you have someone to count on for future getaways!
 
I know that she feels really bad that she won't be able to help me this time, but yes I will have her to help in the future! I've worried that we won't be able to get away for a vacation, so she alleviates that problem. :-D
 
Once you get back and can get some midcycle numbers, let's talk. It looks to me like he is bouncing a lot - I am wondering how low his nadirs are……….
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top