Tommy AMPS 169

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hope I am not too late, Sandy. The general advice is to always wait 20 minutes without eating and retest to make sure he is rising and in a range where you are comfortable shooting. Then, reduce the dose a smidge.

BTw nice amps!
 
Yes, hopefully the food would be gone by then. It will throw off your schedule though, as the next shot should be 12 hours from that one.

Can you get some more data this weekend? (It'd be nice to know what the pmps was last night as the dose was probably a smidge high.) more numbers will help us figure him out.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Yes, hopefully the food would be gone by then. It will throw off your schedule though, as the next shot should be 12 hours from that one.

Can you get some more data this weekend? (It'd be nice to know what the pmps was last night as the dose was probably a smidge high.) more numbers will help us figure him out.

I was wondering about last night's PMPS number also. I agree with Sue about trying to get more data over the weekend....sure would help us help you. :smile:
 
And you gave one unit? Well, let's see what more numbers look like. That's a long cycle for one unit. Or he went low and was headed back up this am. Both are interesting (and hopeful) scenerios.

See if you can get DH to recognize that low numbers can mean a tiny treat but not a whole meal till you can retest.
 
I will get as many numbers as I can this weekend. Since I'm home today testing won't be a problem. I work 8:30-3:30 tomorrow with a 30 min drive both ways. I will test when I get home. Same hours Sun and Mon.
We talked last night about snacking. I think he has the understanding now. At least he is remembering to put up the dog food now.
 
How would you feel about giving a skinny one unit? Pull up one unit and squirt out a "smudge". I am thinking it will okay since you can get a midcycle number.
 
Yes, give him a little regular food. And test again in 30 minutes. This is a pretty fast drop. He will either continue to drop or he will flatten out.
 
I'd give him another snack and get another test in 30 minutes. He most likely will be fine and have a very nice cycle, but if he'd dip into the 40s, you'd want to bring him back up.
 
Sounds like he's headed back up. Very nice cycle. So now, your choice. As long as he is in the 200+range, give the skinny one, if you can monitor and aren't too nervous about bringing up the numbers with food. If you can't monitor or want to be less agressive, drop the dose further. Do you have U100s so you could give .8? If not, eyeball .75?

No right or wrong. Just your comfort level and how hard you want to push. Either way will work.
 
I have both u40 and u100 w/half units. When I need only 1 unit I use the u40. When I need other amounts then I use the u100. I always look at the conversion chart when using the u100. That way I double check to make the right amount. I'm thinking that I may choose according to whether I can get extra readings. I'm glad I had today off to see if he was getting too much or too little insulin. I'm thinking that Tommy tends to drop more than 50% most of the time. Will let you know how the evening goes and the weekend. Thank you for your help. I'm on my phone so I will input these numbers with my computer.
 
SHOOT!!!! Tommy bounced big time, "452" :shock: Went to supper with friends and just got back. Would you suggest that I go ahead and shoot? This would be +10, but would have to shoot in morning at 8am. This would make the cycle a 12 hour one anyway.
 
I will get another reading at +3, before I go to bed. If I wake during the night I'll try to get another reading.
This kind of suggests that his previous PS's were probably bounces when I was giving the higher doses?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top