Tom went into hypoglycemia

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tommy2016

Member Since 2019
Woke up a few hours ago, came downstairs and Tom, our diabetic cat was staring at the wall. I thought, oh this isn't good. I picked him up, he was having little seizures and could barely stand up. I tested him, 30mg/ml. Yikes! I woke up my wife, told her to immediately blend some honey and wet food. I tested him again while she was mixing it up, again 30. I syringed him the mix and then rubbed some more honey all over his mouth. Tested 15 minutes later and every 15 minutes. 50, then 60 now he's close to 90mg/dl. So out of the woods. I'll test him every hour for the rest of the day. He's eating and walking around normal now.

Tom is our diabetic cat, has had diabetes for about 8 years. He's been on Prozinc. I think what happened was wife fed Tom last night and then before I went to bed I gave him his Prozinc. Our protocol is only I give Tom his Prozinc, that way he doesn't get double dosed. But it was probably a good hour after his meal last night that I gave him his Prozinc. We have decided to switch things and I will only feed and give Tom his Prozinc, she will feed the other cats separately. He'll also get tested more often. Overall Tom has been doing well for years, we want to continue that.

Latest test: 95mg/dl. Going in the right direction. I rubbed some more honey all over his tongue and mouth. I'm not going to give him any Prozinc this morning. I'll test him every hour from here on. He's sleeping.
 
Last edited:
You did a great job!

Tom may be a bit sensitive to insulin for the next day or two. Keep an eye on his numbers as best you can. Also, don't be surprised if his numbers bounce to the moon!

In case you should need it, this is instructions on handling low numbers. It's written for Lantus but the principles are the same for most insulin.
 
Thank you. We got Tom from the pound almost 10 years ago. Total total ragdoll lapcat. I'm positive he was diabetic then, but weren't told that. At first he had a few near deaths, the vet didn't help by telling us dry food was fine. This board helped the most.

Just came up from cutting firewood and took his reading, 120mg/ml. Gave him a little honey though as a little insurance, he's fighting me now so he's feeling better. I expect to see him go upstairs flop on the bed and sleep the rest of the day like he does everyday. Our other three cats are so different from Tom, their all out and about.
 
P_20240519_151148.jpg
Tom is doing well. His readings shot to 400, so that's good. He'll go back on Prozinc tonight. Here's Tom, sleeping as usual.
 

Attachments

  • P_20240519_151148.jpg
    P_20240519_151148.jpg
    61 KB · Views: 164
Last edited:
Hi, thanks for the link, generally I just pick up a couple boxes at the local WallyWorld for about ten bucks each. The only issue is the pharmacy has to be open and I just like to shop early in the morning, so your Amazon suggestion might do the trick.

Before I head off to bed, I checked Tom once more and his BG is a doozy at 600. I fed and gave him his Prozinc, but a little less. I'll check him first thing in the morning. He's sleeping inside tonight but he'll probably be too lazy to go up the stairs and sleep on our bed.

Amazing the difference in our cats. Tom sleeps 18 hours a day and hangs around close to the house. One of our other cats, I had to go get with the ATV today because he was so far away. The tracker showed him a couple thousand feet away and this time he didn't come home when I rang his tracker.
 
This morning at 6AM I gave Tom 2.5 units at BG 250, it is now almost 11 hours later and his BG is 72, this seems low. Tom seems to becoming insulin sensitive. I'd rather have Tom above 100. I would really like him to be over 150 at this point because we're going on vacation for a week and the person who will take care of Tom has no clue about BG testing. I just give him prefilled syringes and he feeds Tom and gives him a shot. Everything else he has no clue what to do. At this point my thought is I will prefill syringes to 2 units. I'd rather have Tom have a higher BG than a lower one while we're gone. Anyone around in Placerville, CA?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top