Toeby - Newly diagnosed senior on Lantus.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laurasboyz

Member Since 2020
Hi Everyone,

Well, I find myself back on the FDMB after 15 years - our first cat brought me here and I found this board helpful back then. Now, one of the cats we adopted after his passing just got diagnosed as diabetic. I'm in a small town in rural Canada. I relate to measurements in mmol/L but will try to post both systems.

Toeby was diagnosed on June 25th, not exhibiting any of the classic symptoms of diabetes but the vet felt his bloodwork and urinalysis showed he was either pre-diabetic or we'd just caught him as he was becoming diabetic. He was put on a half unit of Lantus b.i.d., and I was assured a half unit would not cause him to go hypoglycemic.

He had a curve done at the vets last Thursday the 9th and his BG's in the clinic went from 7.0 to 14.0 to 7.0. I was told to maintain the dose and bring him back in 3-4 weeks.
Two days ago he threw up and was obviously poorly 4.5 hours after his morning insulin - I found some old strips and a battery for an old meter and testing showed a BG of 1.4 mmol/L! I gave him high carb dry food and he came around, and I went out and bought new strips with a new One Touch Ultra 2 for accuracy and started testing 2 days ago at suppertime. I have seen a reading as high as 14.7 but I've been testing only 3 days.

I have attached his spreadsheet (I hope) for reference. This morning he was 7.0 (126mg/dl) and I decided not to give him insulin for the first time in 3 weeks. Tonight he was 11 (198) at shot time so I gave him his 0.5 unit. 4 hours later he was 2.1 (38) so I gave him some dry kibble. 5 hours later, still 2.1, so I gave him some corn syrup. I have yet to test him again but I will.

I don't understand these numbers at all. The vet we use is large, busy, and complicated by Covid-19 restrictions. I'm hoping someone here can give me some words of encouragement until I can talk to this vet. Thanks in advance... I think my profile gives more information if you would like to read it. Laura
 
Hi. Welcome back but sorry you have to be here. Cats often test higher when at the vet’s office. I’m glad you caught the low bg. You need to get a +1 and +2 for at least the next several cycles. I also think the dose needs to be lowered to .25 Immediately. Please post tomorrow on the Lantus board as more experienced folks will see the condo. What are you feeding him?
I also suggest that you read the yellow sticky on dosing methods. Since you are feeding some dry you would follow SLGS. Any bouncer 90 calls for a reduction. Even on TR AMBG under 50 calls for a reduction.
 
Last edited:
Hey Laura! Glad to see you over here from the Facebook group! Sorry to hear it's your 2nd time around though!

Since .5 seems to be too much right now, I'd suggest dropping back to .25. Do you have syringes with half unit marks? I know they're harder to find in Canada. If not, try your best to decide where you think .25 is on your current syringes and make a "sample" syringe from a used one (use some kind of colored fluid) and you'll have something to compare to when it's the real thing.

We don't suggest using dry to bring them up when they're too low because it can take longer to break down and get into the bloodstream. It's better to have a few high carb canned foods like the Gravy Lovers Fancy Feasts. The gravy part is where most of the carbs are so usually a teaspoon or two of just the gravy is enough to nudge them back into safer numbers without sending them to the moon.

Welcome back to the best place you never wanted to be... again!
 
Hi Chris and Tiff - thanks for the replies.... it's actually 2:45 am here in Nova Scotia we're an hour ahead of the US Eastern Standard Time) so I am up to make sure he responded to the corn syrup and kibble.... I tested him at 2:15 am and his BG was 7.1 (about 127 mg/dL) so it looks like his sugar is on the rise. He didn't act sickly or lethargic at 2.1, he actually still purred and walked around, but I am glad I tested and found it.... In answer to your questions... I had he and his brother on mostly freeze dried Stella and Chewy's, and Ultra canned, with some no grain dry kibble for convenience when we went away and for 15 years we had no problems. Then this spring they got switched to an intestinal I/d food because of barfing issues and I am wondering if that didn't mess them up. After previously having a diabetic cat I didn't want to feed dry, but of course, they love it, and the vet recommended it, so.. Toeby was sent home from the vets with a bag of dry DM diabetic food, but when I researched it and realized it was 18% carbs, I said no way.... we are now trying to feed all canned... Fancy Feast, President's Choice, Ultra, whatever they will eat, all on the recommended lists on this site. Yes, we can get the half unit syringes here in Canada, I am using them now. I guess what I am wondering is, should I still be giving even a 0.25 dose of insulin when his preshot BG is 7 like it was this morning? I will try reposting on the Lantus board...
 
I guess what I am wondering is, should I still be giving even a 0.25 dose of insulin when his preshot BG is 7 like it was this morning?

If you're able to test as much as necessary and have plenty of supplies like strips, high carb food, syrup, etc. then if he's above 150 (8.3) I'd go ahead and shoot. Get a +2 for sure because that can give you an idea of what might happen later in the cycle. It should be about the same. If it's lower, that's your "early warning" to stick close to home and plan on testing more.

If he's below that, you can try stalling, DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if it comes up without the influence of food. You can use that time to post for help too! I usually suggest a nice clear subject line like "STALLING!! NEED HELP!!"....LOL (hey, it works!) When you get help, you can edit it and just keep your numbers updated on your subject line so people scanning the board can see how things are going.

If he still doesn't come up, there's nothing wrong with skipping.....Go ahead and feed and test again about +3....if the number comes down, his pancreas has to be doing at least some of the work!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top