Boots_LaVigne
Member Since 2014
AMPS 375 shot 2 units, +5 48, +10 191, PMPS +3 214
I'd like to get opinions on the following plan:
Increase Boots' canned food from 1/8 can 2x day supplemented with free access dry to 1/2 can low carb Friskies pate 2x day no dry food at all
Test bg 1/2 hour after feeding. No shot unless over 200. shoot 1/2 unit unless over 300, step up cautiously.
Test 3 hours after feeding regardless of shot/no shot. maintain the over 200 threshold.
Boots' body does make insulin. Is it appropriate to expect I can control his sugar by regulating his diet?
While I work on diet control, should I continue to press our vet to switch to Provalin?
Oh, and 1 more thing - testing - when should it be done? I am pretty confused on this :?:
Thank you!!
I'd like to get opinions on the following plan:
Increase Boots' canned food from 1/8 can 2x day supplemented with free access dry to 1/2 can low carb Friskies pate 2x day no dry food at all
Test bg 1/2 hour after feeding. No shot unless over 200. shoot 1/2 unit unless over 300, step up cautiously.
Test 3 hours after feeding regardless of shot/no shot. maintain the over 200 threshold.
Boots' body does make insulin. Is it appropriate to expect I can control his sugar by regulating his diet?
While I work on diet control, should I continue to press our vet to switch to Provalin?
Oh, and 1 more thing - testing - when should it be done? I am pretty confused on this :?:
Thank you!!