To shoot ot not to shoot, that is the question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boots_LaVigne

Member Since 2014
AMPS 375 shot 2 units, +5 48, +10 191, PMPS +3 214
I'd like to get opinions on the following plan:
Increase Boots' canned food from 1/8 can 2x day supplemented with free access dry to 1/2 can low carb Friskies pate 2x day no dry food at all
Test bg 1/2 hour after feeding. No shot unless over 200. shoot 1/2 unit unless over 300, step up cautiously.
Test 3 hours after feeding regardless of shot/no shot. maintain the over 200 threshold.
Boots' body does make insulin. Is it appropriate to expect I can control his sugar by regulating his diet?
While I work on diet control, should I continue to press our vet to switch to Provalin?
Oh, and 1 more thing - testing - when should it be done? I am pretty confused on this :?:
Thank you!!
 
1) test
2) feed
3) wait 30 min since you're using Novalin
4) shoot if over 200 mg/dL on a human glucometer
5) test around +3 to +4, the expected nadir period when the glucose is likely to be lowest
6) optionally test sometime from +6 to next pre-shot, so you can see when the insulin is wearing off (if given)
7) if you change the food to lower carb, you can expect to reduce the insulin. Make the change gradually so you can adjust the dose as you go
 
okay BJM, Thank you :-D
so its
test
feed
if pre-feed test was over 200, I think we'll try 1/2 to 1 unit
test again 3 hours later
test again about 6 hours later (9 hours from shot time)
Test at above intervals to see where bg is throughout the day, even if no shot given at AM
Did I miss anything? I feel guilty for being so needy, but once I have this I can be of greater help to others!
 
Hon, never apologize to us for needing us. We all started out right where you are now, scared to death for our furry baby, confused about all the new changes in our lives and on information overload. That is exactly why we are here, because we are the ones that have made it through that dark tunnel and are standing on the other side holding a light to guide your way safely through.

There is only one kind of stupid question around here and that is the one that goes unasked. :-D We will hold your hand and your kitty's paw every step of the way, until you decide its okay to let go and grab the hand of the next scared newbie. That's just how we roll. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
No worries. Novalin can be tricky and a mistake could be harmful. We'd rather you ask then get a bad surprise.

As you get the hang of this, the procedures will become routine and old hat to you. You'll look back at your posts and wonder at all the changes. (Just click on your name at the right, then search user posts to see a list of all your posts so far.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top