To shoot or not to shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.

lmcfrld

Member Since 2012
Boy, it seems like I've been posting a lot on here lately, but I just have so many questions and everyone has been so incredibly kind, understanding, and helpful.

Wondering this morning if I should give any insulin to Misha. His last dose was .5u yesterday morning. Last night he was below 200, and this morning, for the first time ever for a AMPS, he is below 200...156. Is this cause for concern or celebration?? After testing, I fed him, then remembered reading that when he's below 200 that I should wait 20 minutes and retest. Now that he's eaten, should I retest? Wait a while and retest?
Thanks in advance for all the great advice!
Lora
 
If I were you I would give no insulin. Myself, I would give 1/4 unit and monitor at +4 and about +6 (maybe more depending upon BG)
 
I would skip. He is coming down on his own which is wonderful. If you can feed several small meals daily, that may help.

It's possible that you would get a higher reading tonight. Don't react with more insulin. At that point he would have been several cycles without insulin so you want to be careful with the dose. Come on with your number and get advice.

I am pretty sure you use ProZinc? It would be helpful to put that in your signature. The dosing advice you get can vary depending on the insulin you use.
 
Thanks. I know most about Lantus and Levemir, so can't help you much. But that 156 is pretty good after a skipped shot. I would do like Sue says and get some tests during the day and see if he brings himself down with food. That would mean his pancreas has some function. Like test at feeding (which you did) and then test again about 2 to 3 hours after, and repeat as you feed.

Good luck.
 
I started a new topic with this, but wanted to copy and paste on this thread as well.


Brief update: Yesterday morning was Misha's last insulin shot. His PMPS was below 200, as was this morning's. Upon advice from the board, I waited 3 hours and just now retested. He's at 550, so I gave him half a unit. He's acting very quiet and like he doesn't feel well. Tried to give him a treat after testing just now and he wasn't interested, which is very unusual for him. Is that kind of a spike usual?
As always, any advice is appreciated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top